Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Monte Castelo

Rua Candido Mendes 201, Catete, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Catete Number of Rooms: 38

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
20 reviews

13 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (20)
Sort by:
Heather P. Couples United Kingdom, March 2, 2015
Great stay, highly recommend

Great staff, location, breakfast
The staff here are just wonderful.. So friendly and helpful. Positives were: location was in a safe neighbourhood and 5 minutes walk to metro; hotel was clean with great air con, wi-fi was usually fine, breakfast was continental, fresh and always quickly replenished by the ladies who worked in the kitchen... The hotel manager ate breakfast there each day so that's a sign of a decent breakfast!; we had a nice room which was at the end of the corridor on the first basement level - size was perfect, good storage, & cleaned everyday by housekeeping. This place is a bargain for Rio if you get a good deal.
Report this review
Daria S. Groups Poland, August 28, 2014
Friendly, professional staff and clean rooms!

Very friendly and English speaking staff always willing to go the extra mile to please the customer. Good location away from overrated Copacabana but close to Lapa with it's vibrant music scene.
Our stay was veryu pleasant and we felt that we could ask any question and the staff will deal with it as best as they could. The rooms are superu clean ( nice change after some accommodations in South America). Breakfast was tasty and fresh. Definitely recommend it whether you are solo traveler or looking for a cosy place to stay with your partner.
Report this review
Tanate M. Solo travelers Thailand, July 5, 2014
Near subway station.

1.location 2.breakfast 3.staff
It's ok.
Report this review
Vedat C. Solo travelers Turkey, March 1, 2014
Value for money.

Ok, Neat, Satisfactory
Report this review
Gavin B. Solo travelers United States of America, February 9, 2014
ok hotel

Free internet, close to subway, near restaurants
Was an average hotel. Free wifi and close walk to subway. Bathroom way too small.
Report this review
Lee Y. Groups China, December 18, 2013
Poor room arrangement

Clean,location,good breakfast
I had booked two classic double rooms, but they give me one triple room. I could not sit on the lower deck bed. My friend had booked one room for two nights. She was not given any room for her. The room arrangement is poor.
Report this review
Robert J. Solo travelers Philippines, November 20, 2013
You'll be surprised by the rooms @ basement level

Location, Functionality, Affordability
Just the way you want it, no excessive provision yet not at all shortchanged. It fits to every seasoned adventure traveler's criteria.
Report this review
Hsieh C. Business travelers Brazil, March 14, 2013
Near to beach and metro.

Near to beach, metro and very clean room.
It's a good hotel near to metro and beach. The service is good.
Report this review
Bee H. Groups Malaysia, December 17, 2011
small hotel but with friendly staff

Iclose to the metro and bus station
it a small and clean hotel, the staffs is helpful and friendly. There was smell of their towel i think is due to the smell of the dertergent that i dont like. Location is convience.
Report this review
Paul G. Couples Australia, March 19, 2011
lovely fresh compact hotel

Hotel always smelt fresh and clean
The hotel was very nice, but very small, the rooms were spotless, always clean sheets and towels. The bathroom was extremely small, it was very difficult to get in and out of the shower, also the sliding door leading to the bedroom. The stay would be fine upto, a 3 day stay, but it had really got to me by the end of 7 days. There was absolutely nowhere to put toothbrush shampoos , bathroom stuff, we ended up putting tooth brushes on top of the toilet system, which is just not good enough, no cups for cleaning teeth, or for a drink of water supplied.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 13 reviews

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.