Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main

4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda-ku, Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan 102-8578

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
718 reviews

488 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (718)
Sort by:
Tom H. Couples United Kingdom, July 26, 2012
Great location, quality hotel

Easily accessible, everything high quality, and an amazing garden
7.7
I've stayed in the New Otani many times and never had a bad experience. One of the particular things about it is the Japanese garden - well worth spending (at least) 15 minutes to walk around.
Report this review
Carsten T. Business travelers Germany, July 23, 2012
Good Hotel

All is there what you want, very close to one of the best areas in Tokyo (Akasaka)
8.3
As always a pleasure. Used this hotel couple of times over the years and it is very convenient but very big in size (hotel city) The Garden Tower doesnt offer any wifi :-(
Restaurant Tip: dont use the hotel restaurant. Akasaka entertainment is only 10 walking miniuts away and offers all from japanese, korean, thai and hooters
Report this review
Geert D. Families with older children Belgium, July 19, 2012
Nice location but old fashioned and expensive

Quiet, very good location, spacious rooms
6.3
we booked 2 rooms and stayed for 1 week. quiet location with very good access to jr railway and metro. rooms are spacious but old fashioned. rather 3.5 star than 5. as a hotelguest we had to pay for usage of the outdoor pool. breakfast is also expensive.
Report this review
Supicha K. Families with older children Thailand, July 17, 2012
Beautiful hotel, great service

Great service
7.7
The room is a good size, the service was amazing, the hotel itself is grand and beautiful. I like how close it is to the Japanese garden, and the dining room looks great.
Hotel Feature Tip: Ask for log in name and password, free internet access in the lobby area.
Report this review
Man C. Families with young children China, July 16, 2012
Great main tower , but poor garden tower

All the thing in main tower is fine , room , bed , everything
6.7
I book the otani, after arrive found that the garden tower room is terrible for me and my family , I can't accept the bed without quilt, only with blanket , and all the furniture looks so old. Then I ask the help from staff , I want to change to main tower, coz it looks much more newer then tower garden. Staff is helpful , after I paid extra 27000 yen . We move to the room located in main tower. Just for 2 nights. And no breakfast. The staff are friendly. But I won't stay there again, not valuable .
Report this review
Simon M. Couples New Zealand, July 16, 2012
Large rooms and easy location

The rooms were very big for Japanese standards, amenities in room were great, subway station was close
8
We stayed at the New Otani for 4 nights in July. The hotel is very big, as are the rooms. This was a nice surprise after staying in other Japanese hotels with very small rooms. The hotel has many restaurants to choose from, if you want to stay-in for the odd meal. However, it is very close to the Akasaka subway station. From here Shibuya and other main centres are easily accessible. Akasaka itself also has some great restaurants, which are a short walk from the hotel. The hotel has a pool, which is available for hotel guests and the public. There is an entry fee of around 3,000Yen for guests and much more for outsiders. It's a shame that you can't just pop to the pool for a swim each morning without paying. But the one afternoon we spent at the pool provided a welcome respite from the July heat. I seemed everyone else had the same idea: it was packed! The buffet breakfast was pricey, but very good. There were loads of Asian and European options to choose from. We would definitely stay here again!
Report this review
Justin L. Couples Taiwan, July 16, 2012
well priced 5 star hotel

Great location, great feelings inside hotel
9.3
Hotel New Otani Tokyo is not the best 5 stars hotel in Tokyo but one of the most well known prestige hotel. Staffs are great, and rooms are fairly big. Most popular is its summer time night pool. One of the very few out door hotel pool in Tokyo. Great place for a weekend get away. I will definitely go again for a romantic stay soon!
Report this review
John J. Couples Ireland, July 15, 2012
Good location to get MRT .but room are small

Good access to MRT.
7.3
Good price as 5 star hotel. Nice access to any down town area. But room are small and old. We did up grade ro main tower. Garden tower who want to stay higher floor ,will be good. But room are small and very old. Main tower is nice. Not big room but nice size and clean. Hotel has beautiful Japanese garden . Nice to walking . Fitness room and pool charge 60 usd per time. Which is too expensive . Restaurant is nice but quite expensive. There are a lots of restraint around hotel. Overall ok. Staff are friendly.
Report this review
Sara C. Couples United States of America, July 15, 2012
Great view and comfortable bed

Amazing pool and garden
9
This was the last hotel during a very long traveling week. The staff was extremely friendly and very prompt in delivering our luggage to our room. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The pool and garden were beautiful but there was alot of children so I would not recommend it for couples looking for a quite get away.
Report this review
Paul S. Couples United Kingdom, July 3, 2012
Old hotel, but still nice

hotel restaurants
7.3
This hotel is showing its age. Our guest room definitely could have done with a new rug!! However, the elegance of the hotel as a whole somewhat made up for it. There were a variety of lovely restaurants (very expensive!)in the hotel and also down the street. The location not as central as we would have liked it, but all-in-all, a good experience.
Report this review
Previous page 161 - 170 of 488 reviews Next page
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main TokyoHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - ExteriorHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Cherry BlossomsHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - ExteriorHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Quality DoubleHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Standard TwinHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Standard DoubleHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Standard KingHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Deluxe TwinHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main DeluxeHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Premium DeluxeHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - The Main Deluxe TwinHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - BallroomHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - GardenHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - GardenHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Fitness RoomHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - BallroomHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - BallroomHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - ExteriorHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - LobbyHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Swimming PoolHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - GardenHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Swimming PoolHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Coffee Shop/CafeHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - LobbyHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - InteriorHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Golden Spa (Additional Charge)Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - GardenHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - GardenHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - BallroomHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - LobbyHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - ExteriorHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - ExteriorHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - EntranceHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - RestaurantHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - BuffetHotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Tokyo - Garden


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01