arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (149)

Business travelers (16)

Couples (74)

Solo travelers (31)

Families with young children (5)

Families with older children (14)

Groups (9)

Very good
7.5
based on 149 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Location
8.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Staff Performance
7.5
Value for Money
7.6
Food/Dining
6.0

6.3 Andrea D.
Australia
October 07, 2014
Stay for one week at Newton
Location, proximity to subway, neighbourhood
This budget hotel is good value for the money and close to the main subway. The room is very small but has all that is needed and very clean. The Manhattan Diner two doors down is excellent for all meals, Amsterdam street is great for dining options and the location is much quieter than the Midtown area we previously stayed at. My main complaint is the very unhelpful staff - they hide behind the main desk and hope you don't bother them - nothing is proactive and everything seems an effort - we learnt not to bother them. The only polite staff member was the door man when he was there!

8.7 Cheryl L.
United States of America
September 23, 2014
Our stay at the Newton Hotel
Cleanliness, affordability, location
It was perfect for our stay. Location (subway,walking distance)affordability(very reasonable for clean, adequate comfortable room/accessories (microwave, refridgerator). An added plus: a managed baggage hold room1

8.3 Mark P.
Australia
September 14, 2014
Love New York
Location to Subway (96th st 123)

9.3 Vinicio A.
Guatemala
September 08, 2014
Great location
the location, the cleanliness, the service.
The hotel location is fantastic. Just in front of broadway avenue. The best thing I enjoyed was the stores around the hotel. There was a starbucks coffee, a Walgreens, many restaurants, and a supermarket around the block. In the supermarket you can find quality groceries which I bought for preparing my own breakfasts. (fruits, yogurt, bread and coffee). Also, the metro station is just a few steps from the hotel. Great location!!!

7.3 Shannon M.
Canada
September 11, 2014
Newton Hotel Review
close to subway, close to cafe/markets, maid service
Great!

8.3 Lemeng F.
China
August 15, 2014
comfort stay
location, MTA, restaurants

6.7 Jane S.
Sweden
July 25, 2014
Great value for money. Great location in Upper Wes
Value location big rooms
A great value for the money we paid

6.7 John T.
Canada
July 21, 2014
very average, poor Internet access.
shower pressure was good, close to subway and restaurants.
Nothing great, the biggest issue was no Internet access. It wasn't free and only limited to 2 device's and poor signal at best. I ended up going to Starbucks instead for faster access. The best part is the location, close to the stores, banks and markets. I would recommend staying at the Days Inn next door instead.

10 Ron D.
Israel
July 13, 2014
Great value for money
very clean, very helpful staff, very close to metro
The hotel is very clean. We came with a young baby so the woman at the front desk gave us a large room to accommodate the crib comfortably. In terms of value for money this hotel is an excellent deal. Will definitely stay there again next time in NYC.

7.3 Patricia T.
Australia
July 12, 2014
It was really enjoyable
The hotel was close to metro, park and restaurants
Because it is very central it made getting to the heart of the city easy