or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Nippon

123 Kumaran rathnam Road, Colombo-02, Slave Island, Colombo 02 Union place, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/C Bathroom Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Bathroom Hotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C Bathroom Hotel Nippon Colombo - Restaurant Hotel Nippon Colombo - Restaurant Hotel Nippon Colombo - Lobby Hotel Nippon Colombo - Reception
Hotel Nippon Colombo - Exterior Hotel Nippon Colombo - Lobby Hotel Nippon Colombo - Bar Hotel Nippon Colombo - Hotel Front view
Area: Colombo 02 Union place Number of Rooms: 15

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.1

based on
43 reviews

Value for Money
4.5
Location
7.3
Staff Performance
4.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
3.9
Room Comfort/Standard
5.6
Food/Dining
4.7
All reviews (43)
Sort by:
Jun L. Groups Singapore, August 4, 2013
Horrible experience for the price

Near to Fort Railway Station.
2.7
This hotel is situated in the Slave Island's district of Colombo. We had arrived late at night due to our flight and immediately noticed that the area around was pretty shady. There was a begger that kept calling out for us the moment we got off our taxi, and was following us from behind. Thankfully we found the unmarked door which led to the lobby of this hotel. The guy at the front desk seemed like he didn't want to be working there and was engaged on the phone line the whole time we were checking in. We then proceeded up the staircase and immediately a damp musty stench hit us. When we reached our floor, a group of about 5 guys who looked pretty suspicious, was unlocking and entering a nearby room. Inside our room which was on the highest floor, the same musty smell was present. There was absolutely nothing inside the room except and on the whole gave a very uncomfortable feel. There wasn't even drinking water and the tabletops were left un-cleaned. I have stayed in many guesthouses all over India and I must say this is by far the worst one i've stayed in. The windows to the room was not grilled and made for an uneasy night since closing them was not an option in this musty unventilated room.
Saleem A. Solo travelers Pakistan, March 28, 2013
The worst hotel stay ever in my life

There is nothing best / better / good about this hotel, this was my first & last time to stay there.
3
It looks like a haunted house with filthy rooms, furniture and touching anything in the room looks like you have touched a garbage bin. Unfortunately Agoda.com is also making a good money by shwoing its good pictures and online charges are 3~4 times higher than what they charge directly at the reception, in my case I paid approx. SL Rs.f 9,000/- for online booking where as the same room was available for SL RS. 3,000/- directly from them. The room given to me was the dirtiest which I refused to stay and I was given another room (almost similar)but on 1st floor by charging me 700/- Rs. extra. booking this hotel online shattered my confidence over Agoda.com's sincerety towards customers I felt cheated badly by charging me very high rent & providing me the worst possible room.
Hans C. Families with older children Denmark, January 21, 2013
An antik hotel with a friendly staff

Old fashioned ambient in antic style
9
A friendly and a special bar beside the hotel, a member of the staff acted when tok-tok driver tried to cheat our son. Very simpatico. Cheap price for the rooms.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Colombo is an exiting city in a fast development, the ducth hospital is very fascination.
Aisya I. Couples Malaysia, January 14, 2013
good location

closed to shops
6
small room and not so noisy. good location for those who like to visit shops. near to basic amenities like bank and restaurant. being an elderly couple, we found an easy access to train station. easy to find muslim restaurant too. the rate is affordable with their service. however, nightlife in htl area quite disturbing
Helena G. Couples Sweden, January 2, 2013
Great location

In the city center close to the railway station and Fort.
7.3
We choose this hotel because of it's location near the railway station and the city center. It was ok for the price.
Nightlife Tip: We spent New Years Eve at the Hilton Hotel. In the Curry Leaf restaurant eating their fantastic buffet, enjoying Sri Lankan dancers. Very nice-
Simon W. Couples Australia, December 6, 2012
Too expensive for what it is

Good location
6.3
Despite being in a good location (easy 15 minute walk to Fort and not much further to Fort Railway Station) the rooms are not is very good condition and the once beautiful big colonial building that houses the hotel has been left to rot. The door in our room didn't close properly and no hot water. No TV, AC or wifi. There just is nothing about this hotel that warrants the fairly high price tag. The staff were very friendly though and had a lot of useful advice about the city. They just need to do up the place and add a few services or lower the price tag.
Ruta Z. Couples Lithuania, November 19, 2012
Worst hotel in Sri Lanka

Location
4
Worst hotel in Sri Lanka I stayed but quite central. So if you can find anything else or afford nicer place, go there. From outside looks nice, inside not, quite dodgy. So go there with right expectations. Also, walk in rate might be much cheaper than online.
Nadia B. Couples United Kingdom, November 19, 2012
Mid-range hotel

clean, good location
7.3
Hotels in Colombo are more expensive than in the rest of the country. Hotel Nippon offers rooms for reasonable prices. The biggest downside was no Wi-fi even though they advertise to have it.
Hotel Feature Tip: If you are keen to have an internet access, choose another hotel.
Ke W. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 10, 2012
not recommended hotel

non
4.7
there's no hot water and the floor is oily. would recommend shalimer hotel instead if you are doing a backpack trip.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: good location though
Pedro M. Couples Portugal, November 6, 2012
Expensive Hotel for what it offers

Location in Colombo 2, not far from the Fort area.
3.7
Hotel based in a old colonial building, with high potencial. Hotel in general is baddly keept and shows pour quality in all aspects. Rooms are spacious, decoration is quite bad and clinning is pour. No hot water available. Staff is helpfull. Location in Colombo 2, not far from the Fort area.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Nippon Colombo - Main PhotoHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/CHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard Non A/C BathroomHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C BathroomHotel Nippon Colombo - Standard A/C BathroomHotel Nippon Colombo - RestaurantHotel Nippon Colombo - RestaurantHotel Nippon Colombo - LobbyHotel Nippon Colombo - ReceptionHotel Nippon Colombo - ExteriorHotel Nippon Colombo - LobbyHotel Nippon Colombo - BarHotel Nippon Colombo - Hotel Front view


AS-AGWEB-3A08