Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 1156 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1156 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

jianqi Y. from China
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
valueable
close to downtown,esay to found,save money
all is good,but the room is full of The smell of smoke
Reviewed October 20, 2014

Kingston H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Near subway, decent price for Tokyo
Price, location and nothing else
Rooms are tiny, but well designed rooms are functional. If you have suitcases, it's about 5 mins walk to hotel from train station. Getting there from airport by train requires a few changes.
Reviewed October 08, 2014

YANJIE Z. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ok
Reviewed October 06, 2014

Kenneth I. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in September 2014
My Favorite Hotel in Tokyo
The staff, the rooms, the quality
Reviewed October 03, 2014

Ellen K. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Just right!
Stylish, Japanese feeling, helpful staff
This is a great hotel. I'd just come from 3 nights at the ANA Intercontinental for almost 2x the price, and Hotel Niwa's room was, by far, more attractive, and better designed (and equally small). They provide nice free-size pajamas, and two free water bottles, and free wifi. (Wifi at the Intercon was 16$/24 hours), no free water, and no robe. The location is near the metro and the JR so it's convenient, and it's just a short, flat walk to the airport limousine bus. Because the hotel is smaller, the staff is easier to talk to about the best way to get places. I like baths, and the tub was great ((and clean)). The bathroom products were nice too. The breakfast buffet (23$ vs 37$ at the Intercon) was very nice--they ask and bring you eggs, any style and they have dollar sized pancakes (purple sweet potato and pumpkin) along with fresh fruit, Yummy Japanese rice and pickles, breads and the usual fare. It's in a quiet area, and they have a nice area set aside for relaxing, which has a coin laundry! My room was small (but similar to the space at the Intercon), but it had shoji and the carpet and wall covering were really nice. The headboard was a spiffy washi (japanese style paper) translucent glass affair with lighting from behind. It's a college area so there are lots of local eateries at great prices. The mattress was comfortable. Great place!
Reviewed October 02, 2014

HUI-YI C. from Taiwan
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
good
place.service
Reviewed September 27, 2014

Subh C. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 6 nights in August 2014
Satisfied customer
Location, western standard, cleanliness
Very nice, These was our second stay at this hotel and we will be back. The room/bed sizes could be little bigger to match US standard.
Reviewed September 15, 2014

Timothy B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Awesome small hotel.
Location, value, cleanliness
All the hotels in japan are clean. But this one was really nice for the money. Great location near shopping, good restaurants, subway, etc. I recommend if you want to try a budget hotel in the city center area.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Anne-Marie F. from Ireland
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Beautiful hotel in a quiet side street.
The room was beautifully presented and well supplied with toiletries etc. Location - The hotel was in a quiet area yet conveniently located for metro. Thirdly - loved the outside decked area.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend it. It was an oasis of calm after a busy day. Didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food. Plenty of amenities around hotel including convenience store beside entrance.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Yang Y. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
comfy
clean, small, quiet
it was good.
Reviewed September 10, 2014