Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 79 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 79 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Osvald T. from Estonia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Good
Good food, friendly staff
Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms, delicious meals
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Joanne B. from United States
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Great place to stay in Kathmandu
Our rooms were superclean, comfortable beds & pillows, nice hot showers, great roof garden.
Our rooms were superclean, comfortable beds and pillows, nice hot showers, great roof garden. Suite room was amazing, very large sitting area with lounge and separate bedroom and small second room. Excellent value for money. Nice roof garden. The only thing to note is no elevator so higher floors are good exercise! Very nice and helpful staff. The only negative I can say is not fault of hotel but neighbours with noisy dogs. But Kathmandu is a city of dogs so it is hard to avoid their barking. Would come again happily to this hotel.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Felipa S. from Spain
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
Great Stay & Wonderful service
Very Friendly and Helpful Staff, Quite Location, Comfortable beds
This was my 2nd visit to Hotel Norbulinka in October and once again i found this hotel one of the best hotel around Thamel area.It is located just a minute walk to center Thamel, very peace and quite. The best thing about this hotel is its staffs- very friendly, attentive and welcoming. The rooms are nice,comfortable bed, overall clean, hot water, free wifi and nearby to many shopping area. I tried some foods at the restaurant which was named as Jasmine Restaurant & Bar and it was amazing, nice bar with LED tv and easy access to internet, delicious foods as compared to other restaurant in Thamel. Overall it was a wonderful staying at Hotel Norbulinka and would be coming here again for sure.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Johanna M. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2013
More like a guesthouse than a hotel
Friendly staff
I don't know where all of these rave reviews are coming from, because we found this hotel inadequate. The lobby looks cheap and depressing, the deluxe room we got was tiny and the toilet -the toilet!- looks like it was plucked from a shanty house. This hotel looks dated and overpriced for the state it's in. The only upside is the superb service from the staff.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Jacob M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
perfect gateway in Thamel
location, staff and price
perfect gateway close to the tourist quarters of Thamel, Kathmandu nice buddhist (tibetan) hotel with very friendly staff my choice for ovber 20 years already only disadvantage is that WIFI Internet is not very well working but in Thamel there are vey much shops to use Internet for very low prices
Reviewed November 08, 2013

tomarko T. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
Everything you need is here- Had A Wonderful Stay
Great Hospitality, Very Friendly and Helpful Staff, Quite Location
This was my first time visit to this Hotel Norbu Linka but definitely not the last. I have been to more than 100 hotels in the last 2 years and this one is the absolute best by far. Rooms with fluffy white comforter, new mattress and pillows, remitted showed heads and new toilets are a welcome site to the weary traveler. Room with fully air condition and there is a powerful generator for power lapses. The restaurant is also excellent; offering a variety of well prepared meals with great buffet breakfast. Best of all is the Jasmine Bar and Garden Cafe. This will be one of the rare chances to socialize after 10 pm in Kathmandu. Relax to the sweet scent of jasmine and sip on a cocktail or a cappuccino at any hour with choice of seating inside at the bar or in the jasmine garden next to the Giant Buddha.Highly recommend Norbu Linka, the Hotel you can trust!!!
Reviewed November 01, 2013

swestika S. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
friendly staff,easy accsess,helpful
food,service
even this is the old vintage hotel ( i think from the most of the guest,our group is the youngest one) the room and staff service was execellent. Very helpful and easy any kind of plafes near thamel.We got rooftop room for city view.Sadly,they dont have lift or escalator so we have to go for the 5th floor.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rafel M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
It was pleasant stay and easily accessible to all.
Location is great, very welcoming and charming staffs, nice restaurant and bar
The hotel looks luxury and stylish from both inside and outside even though it is centrally at Thamel but surprisingly in a very peace and quite place. I've seen nothing like this in Thamel before.Compared with some other hotel which I stayed, this one is much much better: room size, bed, satellite TV, air-con, free wifi, nice breakfast. Besides, it's located in Thamel area, full of tourists.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Tim B. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Good choice, peaceful edge of Thamel
Location, suite room, easy check-in
This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. It is fine and probably as good or better than others of the same price in Thamel area (colleagues stayed in some of them). But it shared problems of others too - lousy internet connection, no lift. The location was good, on the edge of the Thamel shopping area, but away from the hustle. The restaurant was as good as the many restaurants in Thamel - a selection of Nepali, Indian, Thai, Chinese and Western dishes at moderate prices.
Reviewed October 08, 2013

Tim B. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Off the beaten track in Thamel
quiet location, comofortable room, front desk staff
The hotel is on the edge of Thamel about 200m from a main shopping street for trekking / outdoor gear etc. The suite room was exactly as shown in the photo on Agoda and is maybe 40m2 - not 25m2 as the room info on Agoda says. Colleagues staying at other hotels (Radisson and Ambassador Garden) preferred my room and the value for money is ok by KTM standards. Basically it was comfortable, the bed was a bit soft but I slept fine. The only problem was the pigeons roosting outside the windows - they wake up before 6.00 and make a lot of noise. Also the desk was rather small for working and it didn't have a proper chair.
Reviewed September 28, 2013


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: