Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 27 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 5.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Chris B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
I love this place
Location, location, location
Just a super fun place to stay. Stylish rooms, great views from upper floors, free wif (it is a little spotty but it's serviceable) free cookies in your room everyday... who else does that?
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Amanvir D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
amazing hotel
clean
lovely hotel so clean and friendly. in a great location by lots of bars and clubs. lots happening the must area to be in. i love les and i love partying there. some great restaurants too.
Reviewed February 07, 2013

Jaime P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Designer Hotel in the Lower East Side
The location is by far its best assest with its strong design character a strong second.
In total, as we had two bookings, we spent four nights at Hotel on Rivington. Reception was effective and polite. Check in and check out was efficient. The room itself was well appointed but, even for my minimalist tastes, somewhat sparce. The bathroom was the highlight of the room as it had a large walk in shower with a sauna function and some very attractive room defining circular mirrors. Overall it was a good stay, especially because the location proved ideal as it is in the heart of one of the trendiest areas in NYC with an abundance of restaurants and nightlife and barely a block away from the subway. The street is very active and lively but also very noisy well into the early morning during the weekend so it the hotel would likely not suit a family or people looking for a quiet retreat.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

teddy B. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Trendy hotel with good service level
Close to Soho area
This hotel is located in a neighborhood that is a bit quiet and outside (but at the same close to) the touristic areas. Metro stop is nearby (8 minutes walk). The hotel looks a bit "old"; a trendy design of some time ago. Rooms are clean, and spacious, all white and bathroom all black. Service level is good, nice people at reception, room cleaning excellent and every day a fresh cookies are brought. Sheets and bed are also clean and good. Shampoo and soap of Italian brand (very good).
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Jemma H. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Pretty nice, and pretty loud!
bed, staff, bar, room service, bathroom
I really enjoyed my stay at the Rivington. The staff were surprisingly friendly, from the front desk to the front door guys and room service. Everyone was real, and just nice. The atmosphere is very typical of most boutique hotels, with lots of dated ultra contemporary art on the walls and banged up modern furniture. In our room, the shower was really nice, the bar was extremely well stocked, and the bed was CRAZY comfy. Our room had a tempurpedic mattress and some unreasonable squishy pillows. My only complaints were the internet & tv were very slow / spotty, and it was CRAZY loud at night. Like, obscenely loud. 4am on a weeknight, and you can hear college kids yelling "PIIZZA" at the top of their lungs. After the first night, I downloaded a "white noise" app on my smart phone, and night two I slept like a baby. I'm sure I'll stay here again. It's a terrific hotel if not a bit over priced.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Massimiliano M. from Italy
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in November 2012
Gold hotel in peculiar location
VIEW
Tris hotel is located in lover easy side so forget the word posh here. Room are pretty new and nice beside being big enough (I stayed twice in the king room with balcony). Despite going there a week after Sandy everything was working perfectly (just the wifi had problems) the most amazing thing about this hotel is the view you can get from the room as it is one of the few high raised buildings in the area so, if you manage to stay in a high floor (I would recommend from 12th above) you can enjoy a 270 degrees view over manhattan, provided that you get a corner room.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

James S. from United States
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great location
Location and views
The hotel is in an ideal location in the Lower East Side just a block away for the subway and in the heart of the Lower East Side with cafes, restaurants, shops, and bars. The rooms were comfortable with large bathrooms and comfortable beds. The Hotel is more of a boutique with a small lobby and lounge. The hotel does not have a hotel bar or terrace like other hotels in the area.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Daniel B. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2012
great location, very hip
close to the nightlife in the les
this is a great hotel if your interested in partying and going out in the lower east side. we stayed in a corner room and the views were awesome. staff was nice and there is free wine till 6pm... can't argue with that.
Reviewed July 01, 2012

John M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2012
Great location, amazing view
Loved being in LES, great shower and amenities, tempur matress
Great night's sleep, and very comfortable stay- staff were great. Recommend a high floor king with shower on outside as it added a little something. Looking a little tired- needs a paint and some of the fixtures were a little worn- table, and fuse box was hanging off the wall a bit.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nikoline E. from Denmark
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2012
Lovely hotel. Good service.
Complimentary wine, tea and coffee in the lobby
our corner room on the 10th floor was very nice. if possible book a room higher up. the view will be amazing. the hotel had not received our reservation from agoda, but after having showed both the reservation confirmation and the payment confirmation and having had a couple of glasses of wine while the staff figured things out, we got our room.
Reviewed March 22, 2012