Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 194 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.5

Maxwell H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2012
Good but only used before flight
Comfy beds
We only stayed for a matter of hours before an early morning train journey, but the stay was comfortable. Not able to make much further comment really.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Kendall M. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
Nice place to stay
Large comfortable bed, flatscreen tv, modern facilities, fridge, kettle
After staying in budget accommodation throughout the rest of India, staying at the Raj was a breath of fresh air. Everything is clean, new and modern. The bed is wonderful, the rooms have an eating area, a kettle, a fridge, flatscreen tv with several English channels, and coffee provided. There was actually hot water every time we used it and the internet connection on the second floor was great. We stayed here twice and both times we were able to check in way early with no issues at all. Would definitely recommend. That said, when we checked out, our room service orders seemed much more expensive than what we had written down ourselves. I don't know if a mistake was made or if there was something else going on so insist on paying right away if you order food to avoid this happening.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Thuy N. from Vietnam
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Just OK hotel
Western + clean toilet
We stayed there as a group of 4 people, travelling together. The hotel and the room is a bit small, the location is near train station, so it might be a bit shady outside. But pretty okie inside. Dont listen to whatever the travel desk agent try to sell you. Other travel agents outside the hotel give much better rates
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hunter O. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Terrible service
none
Hot water was missing for 1 night. The staff in the restaurant always adds extra or charges more for the meals. Walls dirty in the room. Toilet with grime. I would not stay here again. Just down the rd we checked out another hotel that cost a bit more but the food and restaurant is nice and good. You get what you pay for.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

angela O. from Peru
Solo travelers
Stayed 12 nights in November 2012
Great location and nice hotel
Great location , so many restaurants around .
I really liked this hotel . When I got there I was a little bit shocked because of the place . So many people everywhere , but hey I was in India . The hotel is in a good area, close to Delhi train station 5 minutes walking and 15 minutes from the metro, you can always take a rickshaw for 30 rupees. The stuff was very nice , the manager who stays at nite actually gave me his personal cell phone number and he said to call him if I had any problem . I think it was nice of him. I stayed here for 2 weeks by myself . Rooms were nice and clean . I like it because my room had a big window facing the street. it was exiceted to see whats going on on the streets at nite .I didn't have any problem. The restaurant in the first floor is nice and quiet . I had dinner there a couple of nites and it was delicious. I actually came to India for my coworkers wedding . I told this to the stuff and they actually contacted me with a hairdresser , a nice lady who worked across from the hotel. She came to the hotel , did my hair, make up and helped me with my saree. I changed my dollars with them with a good price . As a solo female traveling India, I think this hotel was nice , people were professional and made me feel safe . Overall, I would go back to hotel the raj in the future. They are tons of hotel in te paharganj area, however , I feel I made the right decision when I booked this hotel. I would recommend this hotel.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ginga E. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Great Staff, clean hotel with decent ammenities
Staff are extremely helpful, hotel includes breakfast, gym and sauna room.
The Raj and Aura hotels share staff and amenities. I booked at the Raj b/c they feature a gym. Once I arrived I learned I had to go next door to Aura Hotel for the "promised" fitness and sauna rooms. Breakfast was also served next door. I was annoyed with it at first, but eventually got over it. I was the only guest (in a while I presume) to have made use of the gym. B/c when I wanted to use it, none of the machines were working. The next day was Dipawali, so their keenness to do anything was on the low side. I had to coax them (with a threat of a bad review) into fixing it right away rather than waiting till it was scheduled to be fixed in 3 days time. Which I gathered actually meant they had no intention of fixing it all. But the staff were all very sweet and friendly and I felt they seriously bent over backwards to get me anything that I had needed. I would stay there again with out question.
Reviewed December 04, 2012

Muhamed S. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Location good
Staffs are good
Hotel does not provide things as listed here, staffs are OK, location is good.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Jamie B. from Spain
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Good service, ok hotel
Great customer service
Hotel is ok for the price. Location good but rooms are run down. Staff are very good and organised a great road trip for us.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yoomin L. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
difficult to find and quite dirty
food wasn't bad and small cozy room
It was difficult to find but the people were very kind. Room was quite dirty but not bad to stay 2~3days.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Juanita B. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Hotel with good and friendly service
Hotel is nice and clean with friendly staff and good rooms
hotel is safe for families, couples or singles to stay. hotel personnel friendly and professional and will assist you where necessary with travel arrangements or tours. food was also very good.
Reviewed November 15, 2012