Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal @ Queens

12 Queen Street , Bugis, Singapore

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
844 reviews

648 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (844)
Sort by:
Ian B. Business travelers United Kingdom, August 3, 2012
quiet hotel

OK location and quiet
4.3
Rather a tired hotel and in need of some work to be comparable to other hotels in Singapore
Hotel Feature Tip: very close to MRT
Report this review
Stephanie Y. Groups Malaysia, July 27, 2012
Average Hotel

The buffet and the views
6
fist thing is that for just staying one night in your average hotel it wasn't a very reasonable price.The room a was very small with very poor facilities. The kettle is very dirty. Inside the toilet there is only 1 shampoo , 1 body wash and 1 lotion seriously there are 2 people living in that room. But at least your switches to on the lights are very interesting by just pressing the button. the hotel buffet overall had advantages and disadvantages . the disadvantages are that when you fried the omellet it has a kind of smelly smell which made us smelled. the advantages of the hotel buffet are that your sweet corm soup are superb plus the hotels yoghurt.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It is very easy to just walk to the MRt station in just within 5 minutes.
Report this review
Kirk M. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 18, 2012
Comfortable, but overpriced

Close to Bras Basah MRT, comfortable bed
6
considering the price paid (even with an agoda deal), i must say i'm a little disappointed in this hotel. positive: very close to bras basah mrt, great location, quiet (well insulated), comfortable beds. buffet breakfast was about 7 / 10. not so positive: bathroom moldy, shower/bath was too narrow and meant showering was clumsy (and water would always spill onto the floor - this was unavoidable), no complimentary water provided, room service food was below average. upon check-in, we were not told how to access the internet. this took two phone calls and a visit downstairs to actually ascertain how to connect and confirm that it was free. check-out clumsy - if you stay in this hotel make sure you leave plenty of time before departing to the airport in case they hold you up at reception!
Report this review
Jennifer R. Families with young children Philippines, July 17, 2012
Accessible, service OK

Near MRT, bathtub, 24 hour restaurant across, near shopping areas
7.7
Overall ok, clean rooms although on our 2nd day, they forgot to clean our trashcan and coffee mugs (did not complain anymore). Room size is not cramped -- good enough for our family (2 adults, 2 kids aged 8 and 12). Bath tub is a plus for my kids. However, bottled water is not free, which we thought was, but had to pay sgd 2.5 per bottled water consumed. Great location as MRT Bras Basah station is a few steps away. A few streets away is the Bugis shopping area - a combination of cheap buys and branded shops. Around the area are several churches which we liked because we were able to hear mass. I would not mind staying here again with family, though hotel is still a bit on the pricey side.
Restaurant Tip: good food choices at reasonable pricess across the 24 hour Chef's Kitchen hawker/restaurant. Had a good meal of chili crabs, cereal prawns, mixed veggies, rice, beer at SGD 65, good enough for 2-3 people.
Report this review
Say P. Families with older children Malaysia, July 14, 2012
Great location with quality rooms

Location
7.3
Close proximity to MRT stations (1 minute walk to Bras Basah MRT and 10 minute walk to Bugis MRT) and within walking distance to Bugis shopping area. Rooms are clean with necessary amenities, and even iron and ironing boards available in the rooms. Breakfast variety is quite okay. Internet plans are pricey if not for the free internet that comes with the package.
Report this review
Zihan L. Couples United States of America, July 11, 2012
great location but lackasdaisical service

steps away from Bras Basah MTR stop, a few minutes more for City Hall MTR stop
7
the staff was not very professional - got breakfast details wrong (as in told me it was included, but it actually wasn't), could not control smoking problem, no enthusiasm when providing service. they seemed to be overwhelmed and this place seemed like the type to receive a lot of group tourists.. perhaps this is the reason for being overwhelmed? breakfast was meh... carlton hotel one street over serves a much better breakfast for s$1.50 more. there is no wifi in the guest rooms - at least not mine, but there is lan. i was informed by the staff that wifi is only in the lobby.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Great location - very convenient to MTR stop.
Report this review
Marco N. Couples Italy, July 11, 2012
Great location but average hotel

Location, free wifi/breakfast included, helpful staff
6.7
stayed about 4 nights here. the stay was overall smooth, being people who don't spend much time in the hotel and rather go out and sightsee everything was fine. for example, i can't care less that the swimming pool was actually as big as a puddle, i have never used the pool area\deck\chairs etc. from the outside the hotel looks a bit rundown and not well maintained; inside it looks quite subpar. same with the rooms, however they have quite a good size:price ratio for the singaporean standards. actually, if you consider the insanity of singapore hotel rates this hotel was quite the great deal, taking into account (1) the amazing location in the city (basically next to smu and singapore arts museum) deep in bras basah, heart of the colonial district; (2) free internet and breakfast (that was quite mediocre actually but always well-appreciated) included in the package. when you have a basic comfortable environment and can literally walk 5 minutes to: -city hall, -bugis, -bras basah (1min walk), -dhoby ghaut, -esplanade, i wouldn't be able to complain about anything else. mind that this was not a hostel nor really a budget hotel, but was a proper hotel with price rates just above the "budget" ones for singapore standards, so overall i would go there again. the only thing that left me quite skeptical is that the hotel is connected to a night club\bar with thai googoo girls if you know what i mean, and therefore the lobby gets quite noisy when night time comes...
Report this review
Ian L. Families with older children Australia, July 11, 2012
Lovely hotel and service was great

Room was spacious, modern and very clean.Location is good. Close to MRT and walking distance to Orchard Road
9.7
enjoyed our stay very much. the desk staff and conceirge were very friendly and helpful. queen street is quiet and not too many cars so it is safe to cross the street. at one end are the bugis markets and the other end is bras basah road which goes into orchard road. plaza singapura is a leisurely 15 minute walk away or one stop by the new circle line to dhoby ghat mrt.
Report this review
Marco N. Couples Italy, July 9, 2012
Great location but average hotel

Location, free wifi included, helpful staff
6
stayed about 4 nights here. the stay was overall smooth, being people who don't spend much time in the hotel and rather go out and sightsee everything was fine. for example, i can't care less that the swimming pool was actually as big as a puddle, i have never used the pool area\deck\chairs etc. from the outside the hotel looks a bit rundown and not well maintained; inside it looks quite subpar. same with the rooms, however they have quite a good size:price ratio for the singaporean standards. actually, if you consider the insanity of singapore hotel rates this hotel was quite the great deal, taking into account (1) the amazing location in the city (basically next to smu and singapore arts museum) deep in bras basah, heart of the colonial district; (2) free internet and breakfast (that was quite mediocre actually but always well-appreciated) included in the package. when you have a basic comfortable environment and can literally walk 5 minutes to: -city hall, -bugis, -bras basah (1min walk), -dhoby ghaut, -esplanade, i wouldn't be able to complain about anything else. mind that this was not a hostel nor really a budget hotel, but was a proper hotel with price rates just above the "budget" ones for singapore standards, so overall i would go there again. the only thing that left me quite skeptical is that the hotel is connected to a night club\bar with thai googoo girls if you know what i mean, and therefore the lobby gets quite noisy when night time comes...
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: One can literally walk 5 minutes to: -City Hall, -Bugis, -Bras Basah (1min walk), -Dhoby Ghaut, -Esplanade.
Report this review
Siu S. Families with older children Hong Kong, July 9, 2012
near downtown with goof transportation

inexpensive, good breakfast, good public transportation
6.3
relatively inexpensive good location near subway breakfast with many choices
Report this review
Previous page 311 - 320 of 648 reviews Next page
Hotel Royal @ Queens SingaporeHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - Swimming PoolHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - RestaurantHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - ExecutiveHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - ExecutiveHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - ExecutiveHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - SuiteHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - RestaurantHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - Swimming PoolHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - Swimming PoolHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - Queen’s BarHotel Royal @ Queens Singapore - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01