My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal

36 Newton Road, Novena / Balestier, Singapore 307964 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Safe & Minibar Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room Hotel Royal Singapore - Superior room Hotel Royal Singapore - Superior room Hotel Royal Singapore - Superior room Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive room Hotel Royal Singapore - Fitness Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Hotel Exterior Hotel Royal Singapore - Exterior Hotel Royal Singapore - Lift Lobby
Hotel Royal Singapore - Lift Lobby Hotel Royal Singapore - Hotel Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Hotel Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Lobby Hotel Royal Singapore - Swimming pool Hotel Royal Singapore - Reception Hotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room Restaurant Hotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room Restaurant Hotel Royal Singapore - Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Guest Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Guest Room
Area: Novena / Balestier Number of Rooms: 331

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.9

based on
1558 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1558)
Sort by:
Ita A. Families with older children Indonesia, January 24, 2013
Old Style room.

Close to hospital
6
Not bad for staying. Close to Hospitals. Close to shopping centre
Denver F. Couples Australia, January 23, 2013
Good location but a bit tired

convenient location; spacious and comfortable room; we had a great Chinese buffet at the Jade hotel restaurant
7.3
i'm reluctant to be negative about our hotel, because we had a really good time visiting singapore for a second time. this is really at most a 3 and a half star hotel. the most significant criticism was the excessive noise from maintenance work. agoda please note, (this is my first negative hotel review), it's the second time in the past 2 years we have been allocated in a room where maintenance is carried out directly outside. other bad points - (1) staff not overly friendly or helpful,(2)internet quite expensive and often very slow, (3)technical problems - example tv remote volume control didn't work, a nuisance when channels volume varies.they didn't replace the remote control as they promised. the room telephone is very quiet and made it hard to communicate. gym equipment is old and noisy. as i mentioned, location is the best thing, it's a nice green neighbourhood, mrt station and shops nearby. also, the jade restaurant was definitely not "jaded" like the rest of the royal. we had a great dinner and staff were fantastic!
Restaurant Tip: We walked to Newton hawker stalls (good tasty cheap tucker), it's physically not far but a bit hazardous to get to from the hotel. MRT Train is probably the best option.
Chin H. Couples Malaysia, January 19, 2013
Tourist hotel
5.7
Control on smoking not effective. Strong smell of smoke in room.
Blaire C. Couples Philippines, January 19, 2013
Nice hotel. Big Room

Big Room, Living room and bath room.
10
Our stay was great. The price is worth it. The room was big. It has a dinning room and a living room. The bathroom was spacious and nice. I'm looking forward to book in this hotel next year
Diah K. Groups Indonesia, January 18, 2013
Old hotel

Close to novena square
3.7
most people coming in group from tour group
Shopping Tip: Close to novena square
Salil M. Solo travelers India, January 18, 2013
no early chekin.... too much noise of renovation

room very big
4.7
no early chekin.... too much noise of renovation..... not so clean. staff sucks not at all friendly.
Edwin P. Couples Indonesia, January 17, 2013
big rooms

two beds
6.3
Good location and affordable price for leisure or health check up. Close to the famous newton food centre. 15 minutes away by walking to the best shopping experience in town the orchard road. The hotel is clean and spacious however it is an old building with minimum facilities. Overall, good experience staying at the hotel especially the high price of hotel in singapore.
Tay A. Business travelers Singapore, January 17, 2013
Old hotel

Good location
6
Hotel is old but near to Orchard area with dinning and shopping and conveniently located 5 mins walk away from newton circus hawker centre with all local foodfare.
Restaurant Tip: Newton circus where all Asian food is.
Raziz M. Groups Singapore, January 15, 2013
very impolite service
7
This is the first time me and my cousin checked in into this hotel but we were greatly dissapointed from the moment we stepped into it. The duty executive gave an unpleasant look and ignored us so we went to the counter and another front desk personnel approached us. we told her of our booking and feedback that duty executive was very unfriendly, not even a smile from her, and this desk personnel said she had a rough day. Is her personal business supposed to intertwine with her work and inconvenience guests? When my cousin said that it wasn\'t our problem in his usual tone desk personnel told us rudely not to raise his voice! We wanted to cancel the booking but unfortunately desk personnel told us in a nonchalant way that no refund given so we had to proceed. We overheard desk personnel said duty executive cried cos she had to work since morning, as good souls we said we pitied her, desk personnel took advantage of this n reprimanded us by saying we should know the situation first before scolding and we should respect others before others respect us. In what way is she FIT to give advice to guests?! We are first time guests and yet with such rude customer service, there won\'t be a second time. We asked if there\'s room service n desk personnel said yes but she must have conveniently forgotten to mention that it was not Halal, knowing that we are Muslim guests.
Budi L. Couples Indonesia, January 15, 2013
Lovely hotel with easy access

best features
8.7
Duringn our stay is very easy go anywhere because near shopiing centrte mrt bus etc and the service are good
Shopping Tip: because easay for transportation

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Royal Singapore - Family RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Safe & MinibarHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Superior roomHotel Royal Singapore - Superior roomHotel Royal Singapore - Superior roomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive roomHotel Royal Singapore - Fitness RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Hotel ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Lift LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Lift LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Hotel InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Hotel InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Swimming poolHotel Royal Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - EntranceHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Fitness RoomHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - SuperiorHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe TwinHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe RoomHotel Royal Singapore - DeluxeHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Double

Customer Reviews - Hotel Royal, Singapore

AS-AGWEB-3B05