Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal

10 Elwy Street, cross Kasr El Nile St. with Sherif St, Behind the Central Bank, Downtown Cairo, Cairo, Egypt

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.4

based on
85 reviews

49 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (85)
Sort by:
Sabrina M. Families with older children Malaysia, December 25, 2015
A stopover in Cairo

Location, service and food
6.7
We stayed here 2 nights (18/12/15) and (24/12/15). The reason we chose this hotel is the airport service they provide as on both nights our flights were late night flights. On the first night everything didn't go as planned. No airport pick-up. We had to pay LE 300 + tips for airport transfer. The taxi driver went round and round for an hour to find the hotel and obviously we had to pay extra for that. When we finally found the hotel there were no rooms for us despite our booking. So in the wee hour in the morning we had to walk to another nearby hotel but luckily this arrangement was done on the spot by the hotel. But when we arrived for our 2nd night (24/12/15) everything was in order becauseI had phoned the hotel earlier (from Luxor) to remind them about our arrival. No glitch this time.
Report this review
David K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 16, 2015
Not bad by Cairo budget hotel standards

Location, friendly staff, cheap
6.3
The other reviews give a fair reflection. Reasonably clean by local standards for this type of hotel. A little extra effort cleaning and minimal investment freshening up the bathrooms would go a long way to help realise the potential of this hotel's excellent location.
Report this review
Samara M. Solo travelers United States of America, June 5, 2015
lovely place

staff , cleanliness , location
8.3
very good i recommended it .
Report this review
Stefano M. Couples Italy, December 28, 2014
carefull: photos in the wed do not match reality

location
3.3
photos in the wed do not match reality rooms are very dirty bathrooms and toilets in run down condition
Report this review
Trenton N. Solo travelers United States of America, July 26, 2014
an ok hotel

location, free wifi, clean beds
6.7
centrally located the hotel is in a random building staff was a bit pushy with trying to do tours free wifi clean beds clean shower/toilet. however, the toilet/shower wasn't in a separate room. glass separated the bed and toilet, and the ceilings were so high that the glass didnt go to the top, so you are not a solo traveler you will hear EVERYTHING the other person is doing in the toilet. i don't think i would stay here again.
Report this review
Nazmul H. Solo travelers Bangladesh, June 15, 2014
Amazing hotel with friendly staff

Clean hotel near to everything So nice room .good breakfast .the staff were so helpful they helped me a lot arrange tour to amazing Giza pyramids , city tour Luxor and Aswan I will defiantly go back
10
Amazing stay with friendly staff . Thanks Royal hotel
Report this review
Bhubesh P. Solo travelers Thailand, April 15, 2014
Downtown Location

Located in downtown which is a plus
6
Staff is very helpful!
Report this review
Nasir S. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 27, 2014
nice to stay but no TV

location and freindliness...
6
checking in and out is easy,free airport transfer is good too, but make sure tips to the driver.. easy to get food as there is kfc and mcd nearby if you want hygiene food, if ur stomach can bear not-so-hygiene food, you can try local food... the hotel tour also is good, they can arrange for you in cheap(around 35usd) for transportation, but again, this is tip country.on top of that you have to tip your driver-he even ask for the tip..he will start a good conversation to please you, then before reaching the destination-he will start a conversation about tip given to him before in order to get the tip from you...this is egypt culture-just beware..
Report this review
Cameron M. Solo travelers Canada, March 13, 2014
good backpacker option in the heart of cairo

central, friendly staff, cleanish
6.3
A nice little budget hotel run by some very friendly guys in a busy low-end cafe district behind the central bank - well positioned if you plan to spend time exploring downtown Cairo. They've made a valiant effort, and the rooms are half decent with a cupboard, wood floors, and a separate glassed-in bathroom cubicle. Poor finishing work, so lots of cracks, broken panels, misaligned doors, etc. Wifi works fine. The usual unsatisfying breakfast (crappy fino bread with jam & cheese triangle, omelet, yogurt, Lipton tea of coffee), served in your room if you like as there is not really a common area. The room came with free airport pickup, and the contracted driver - a very nice chap- was there on time and smiling. Lots of cafe noise at night, plus the incessant motor of a water pump, but the former dies down around 11 and it's quiet in the mornings. Like other budget hotels, the Hotel Royal has struggled due to the tourism slump since 2011. Their sister hotel is busier and priced accordingly.
Report this review
Wade R. Solo travelers United States of America, January 20, 2014
Great Street Scene In Front of Hotel

Great location close to Tahir Square, Friendly staff, Nice fellow hotelers
7.3
Convenient location. Room was OK but bathroom needs cleaning. Mold growing around edges, leaking shower into room. No towels provided until asked and then I got a wash cloth sized towel
Report this review
1 - 10 of 49 reviews Next page
Hotel Royal CairoHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - BathroomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - Balcony/TerraceHotel Royal Cairo - Balcony/TerraceHotel Royal Cairo - Balcony/Terrace


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B02