Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal

10 Elwy Street, cross Kasr El Nile St. with Sherif St, Behind the Central Bank, Downtown Cairo, Cairo, Egypt

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 89 reviews

51 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (89)
Sort by:
Nicholas P. Couples United States of America, March 27, 2016
Bugs
3.7
First, The location is good. It's in a good part of town near metros and some good dining and cafes. It's walkable to Tahrir SQ and the Egyptian Museum and Nile River. If you're brave enough, you can walk to Khan-el-Khalili and the Islamic Quarter as well. These points are the only reasons I would recommend this place to anyone. Second, The price is fine. Third, The staff. The lady who served us breakfast in the mornings was nice and kind. She is both of the stars given to the "Staff" category (2/5). Fourth, Cleanliness. Bugs: flies, gnats, mosquitoes whatever, we were bitten by them. Cigarette burned bedding. "why did you stay? or not complain?" you may ask; well, Cairo is a pretty awful city and we just decided to keep our heads down until our flight left so as not to have to run the gauntlet of scams and thieves in town while finding another accommodation/cancel our current one. Pro-tips: do not take part in the tour packages offered from the hotel, they're WILDLY overpriced and just unnecessary, you can do better on your own, and we did. $60 USD for 2 people for round trip to the pyramids via the hotel, or $20 by taxi? Final comments: Don't come to Cairo, but if you must, stay somewhere better.
Report this review
Kinga H. Solo travelers United States of America, February 2, 2016
:)
6.7
great place
Report this review
Sabrina M. Families with older children Malaysia, December 25, 2015
A stopover in Cairo

Location, service and food
6.7
We stayed here 2 nights (18/12/15) and (24/12/15). The reason we chose this hotel is the airport service they provide as on both nights our flights were late night flights. On the first night everything didn't go as planned. No airport pick-up. We had to pay LE 300 + tips for airport transfer. The taxi driver went round and round for an hour to find the hotel and obviously we had to pay extra for that. When we finally found the hotel there were no rooms for us despite our booking. So in the wee hour in the morning we had to walk to another nearby hotel but luckily this arrangement was done on the spot by the hotel. But when we arrived for our 2nd night (24/12/15) everything was in order becauseI had phoned the hotel earlier (from Luxor) to remind them about our arrival. No glitch this time.
Report this review
David K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 16, 2015
Not bad by Cairo budget hotel standards

Location, friendly staff, cheap
6.3
The other reviews give a fair reflection. Reasonably clean by local standards for this type of hotel. A little extra effort cleaning and minimal investment freshening up the bathrooms would go a long way to help realise the potential of this hotel's excellent location.
Report this review
Samara M. Solo travelers United States of America, June 5, 2015
lovely place

staff , cleanliness , location
8.3
very good i recommended it .
Report this review
Stefano M. Couples Italy, December 28, 2014
carefull: photos in the wed do not match reality

location
3.3
photos in the wed do not match reality rooms are very dirty bathrooms and toilets in run down condition
Report this review
Trenton N. Solo travelers United States of America, July 26, 2014
an ok hotel

location, free wifi, clean beds
6.7
centrally located the hotel is in a random building staff was a bit pushy with trying to do tours free wifi clean beds clean shower/toilet. however, the toilet/shower wasn't in a separate room. glass separated the bed and toilet, and the ceilings were so high that the glass didnt go to the top, so you are not a solo traveler you will hear EVERYTHING the other person is doing in the toilet. i don't think i would stay here again.
Report this review
Nazmul H. Solo travelers Bangladesh, June 15, 2014
Amazing hotel with friendly staff

Clean hotel near to everything So nice room .good breakfast .the staff were so helpful they helped me a lot arrange tour to amazing Giza pyramids , city tour Luxor and Aswan I will defiantly go back
10
Amazing stay with friendly staff . Thanks Royal hotel
Report this review
Bhubesh P. Solo travelers Thailand, April 15, 2014
Downtown Location

Located in downtown which is a plus
6
Staff is very helpful!
Report this review
Nasir S. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 27, 2014
nice to stay but no TV

location and freindliness...
6
checking in and out is easy,free airport transfer is good too, but make sure tips to the driver.. easy to get food as there is kfc and mcd nearby if you want hygiene food, if ur stomach can bear not-so-hygiene food, you can try local food... the hotel tour also is good, they can arrange for you in cheap(around 35usd) for transportation, but again, this is tip country.on top of that you have to tip your driver-he even ask for the tip..he will start a good conversation to please you, then before reaching the destination-he will start a conversation about tip given to him before in order to get the tip from you...this is egypt culture-just beware..
Report this review
1 - 10 of 51 reviews Next page
Hotel Royal CairoHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - BathroomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - Guest RoomHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - InteriorHotel Royal Cairo - Balcony/TerraceHotel Royal Cairo - Balcony/TerraceHotel Royal Cairo - Balcony/Terrace


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B06