Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal

36 Newton Road, Novena, Singapore 307964

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.9

based on
1966 reviews

1550 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.8
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (1966)
Sort by:
Mohammed S. Solo travelers Singapore, January 31, 2016
Worst experience so far.

big room..thats it
7.7
bad experience. too long to check in hot water is down n it tooks till midnight to sort it out.
Report this review
Jeoffrey T. Families with older children Philippines, January 12, 2016
"Every room a home" is correct

Accomodating, convenient, comfortable
8.7
This is the second time I stayed here, and it's as good as before. Whereas we walked to Novena for the MRT in our previous trip, we decided to also use the bus stop in front of the hotel this time, specially since our booking had wifi included and we could check routes before leaving the hotel. We had booked 5 rooms, and the hotel assigned us 5 contiguous rooms, 2 of them with a connecting door. The breakfast was ok -- I can appreciate a nearly identical daily breakfast as long as there is a wide selection of food, and Hotel Royal did not disappoint. There's even a chef making omelettes or fried eggs on order. On checkout day, they graciously allowed us to keep the connecting rooms until 2:30pm.
Report this review
Charles H. Couples United States of America, January 5, 2016
disappointed

close to mall & food center & decent daily breakfast
5.3
disappointing - mold, dust & insects. staff tried overall more than not; they repeatedly give out surveys requesting feedback. one night bellhop gave our ordered taxi away to drunk customer, then tried to refuse to let our party of 4 leave in another taxi we got ourselves out front of hotel in our attempt to not be late for a family function at the british club. hotel also checked us out of room 2 times despite our having been assured our stay would not incur such inconveniences because of multiple reservations for total visit/stay. the first of which resulted in our unknowingly also losing internet connection (unknowingly because the connection still appeared on our phone and laptop, but no longer put through wifi phone calls & texts which we did not realize until hours later after missing family members urgent, repeated phone calls & texts requesting pick up at airport)! also, there was no clock anywhere in the room, and there are no outlets anywhere near bed for plugging in a phone charger to use in its place! overall the stay was disappointing.
Report this review
Evelina C. Families with older children Indonesia, January 3, 2016
convenient

clean room, friendly staff, strategically located in downtown area
7.3
Report this review
Yury N. Families with older children Russia, January 1, 2016
ordinary hotel, not 4 stars

bed, conditioner, location
6.3
We arrived at night, the staff was pretty tired and not very friendly, bathroom was dirty, wifi worked poorly. So we enjoyed it :)
Report this review
Dalia G. Families with young children Australia, December 31, 2015
Very pleasant stay

Good location, rooms good size and friendly staff.
9
Excellent
Report this review
Eric H. Families with older children United States of America, December 30, 2015
missionaries

maid staff clean-up lady for our room was very nice, location, clean
8
It was clean, and having kids the clean up lady for our room was very nice.She gave us extra towels when we were low with no hesitation. I got lucky with a good staffer that worked our side of the hotel. I wish they have more people like her.
Report this review
Calli S. Families with older children Australia, December 29, 2015
Not Happy Guest

Location location location
4
Not happy. Room was ok but toilet floor was dirty not vaccumed for months. Fridge had leftovers from previous guests. Housekeeping staff require full training in maintaining high standards.
Report this review
Beh C. Families with older children Malaysia, December 28, 2015
Hotel with spacious rooms

Spacious rooms, near shopping & convenient
7.3
Report this review
David W. Couples United States of America, December 27, 2015
Good hotel stay

Location, Value, Location
7.3
Good hotel stay. Located between Newton and Novena MRT stations (5 min walk to both). Easy to connect with bus/trains/taxi to Orchard Rd and shopping areas. Furniture and bedding is still in good shape from recent renovation. Slow wifi, and on 2nd night we had to move to another room due to loud people next door.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1550 reviews Next page
Hotel Royal SingaporeHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Safe & MinibarHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Lift LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Family RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe TwinHotel Royal Singapore - Vending MachineHotel Royal Singapore - Room FacilitiesHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite RoomHotel Royal Singapore - CorridorHotel Royal Singapore - Swimming PoolHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - LaundryHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Twin RoomHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal Singapore - Fitness RoomHotel Royal Singapore - CorridorHotel Royal Singapore - Japanese RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Business CenterHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Water Dispenser & Ironing FacilitiesHotel Royal Singapore - ElevatorsHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Chinese RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Executive SuiteHotel Royal Singapore - Swimming Pool Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive SuiteHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Twin RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Room FacilitiesHotel Royal Singapore - Family RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Suite RoomHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02