or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal

36 Newton Road, Novena / Balestier, Singapore 307964 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Safe & Minibar Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room Hotel Royal Singapore - Superior room Hotel Royal Singapore - Superior room Hotel Royal Singapore - Superior room Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive room Hotel Royal Singapore - Fitness Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Hotel Exterior Hotel Royal Singapore - Exterior Hotel Royal Singapore - Lift Lobby
Hotel Royal Singapore - Lift Lobby Hotel Royal Singapore - Hotel Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Hotel Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Lobby Hotel Royal Singapore - Swimming pool Hotel Royal Singapore - Reception Hotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room Restaurant Hotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room Restaurant Hotel Royal Singapore - Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Interior Hotel Royal Singapore - Guest Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Guest Room
Area: Novena / Balestier Number of Rooms: 331

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.8

based on
203 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.7
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.3
Solo travelers (203)
Sort by:
Paul L. Solo travelers Singapore, June 18, 2014
overrated hotel with poor service

good location, near public transport and malls nearby
6
The only good thing about Hotel Royal was its location. Got lousy room, unfriendly staff and no breakfast for the price I paid. Even wifi is chargeable and the tv reception is so bad that it was like back in the old days with poor antenna signal.
Eng C. Solo travelers Singapore, June 18, 2014
Overrated claims

the room is bigger as its an old hotel and its in a good location
5.3
Had issues with shower. The claims about it is overrated. Poor service. Besides the location and the bigger room, there is nothing much more. Even internet is chargeable. Not value for money.
Robert C. Solo travelers Australia, May 22, 2014
Great room size, cleanliness, bed, pillows

the room, the location, the price
6.3
Great room - but hotel reception and concierge were completely hopeless - poor English and ss is usual in Singapore completely dumb
Audry R. Solo travelers Malaysia, May 21, 2014
Good

Location, clean and spacious room, efficient check in
8.3
Good
Tequila N. Solo travelers Singapore, May 11, 2014
acceptable for the price paid

big cozy room
7
ok
David T. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 3, 2014
Passable….. It was at best okay.

Location, access to MRT and standard of room.
5
Overall reasonable. A number of disappointing factors. (a) No free wifi…. in fact it was expensive and limited. Restricted to one item (laptop or phone or iPad). (b) The requirement to make deposit on arrival either in cash or by credit card impression. Apparently to cover costs of room bar fridge. This is both rude and insulting considering the room has been prepaid via Agoda. The contents of the bar fridge would have lucky to have been in any event. ( c) Elevators/lifts. One was inoperable. There was severe lift over crowding at peak times and our room on the 16th Floor meant long waits frequently. The hotel overall is elderly with staff to match. It's business operation methods and overall ambience is starting to show its age. We had a fifty percent discount deluxe room which none the less cost . I certainly would not have paid for this room. The hotel motto is "Every room a home". They fell short of this in overall ambience. The pool was small and not useable for exercise purposes. The gym room ancient, run down, unused and fairly useless for exercise purposes. I would not stay here again.
Eng C. Solo travelers Singapore, April 24, 2014
Good room but slow service

Good location; good size room; easy public transport.
5.7
The room was good but I had to call housekeeping several times just to get a tv remote control. Hotel is a bit old but looked refurbished. There was no chair on the writing desk which was very odd. Also there was some renovation drilling going on during the day which affected my rest during the afternoon. All in all, the hotel is pleasant but doesn't seem to fit right as there are little details that are missing.
Lauro D. Solo travelers Philippines, April 19, 2014
Bad

none.
3.3
The hotel was very old. The room smells. The amenities super cheap... didn't sleep in my room.
Kiran V. Solo travelers Brazil, April 9, 2014
bad staff...very ignorant..over the phone all the

we wete acvomodated in the new apartment hotel.
6.7
terrible experience with staff.We were not greeted well.Staff was over the phone gave us our keys and didnt ask any concierge tp guide us we were lost.When we reached our room tger was nobwater available so we wete not informed that water whoch is normally complimentary had to be paid for or bought at the machine.Internet is chargeable which is very disappointing. Atleast wifi gor guests should be available.When asked to extend the stay of our stay an immediate No answer was given with no secondary options.I have stayed in renowned hotels even low budget doesnt treat its customers so bad.I would ssy your hotel needs slot of polishing and professional and efficient staff.
Thilagavathy N. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 31, 2014
Simple and basic amenities. Had to pay for WiFi

Price. Close to Novena MRT. Rooms were of a fair size
5.7
The hotel is quite old though clean. Very basic. Front desk was thinly staffed and hotel staff try hard to avoid eye contact! Not helpful; but not rude. They just give the impression of not wanting to be there at all.....

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Royal Singapore - Family RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Safe & MinibarHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Superior roomHotel Royal Singapore - Superior roomHotel Royal Singapore - Superior roomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive roomHotel Royal Singapore - Fitness RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Hotel ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Lift LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Lift LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Hotel InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Hotel InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Swimming poolHotel Royal Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - InteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - EntranceHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Fitness RoomHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - SuperiorHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe TwinHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe RoomHotel Royal Singapore - DeluxeHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Double

Customer Reviews - Hotel Royal, Singapore

AS-AGWEB-3B02