Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Royal

36 Newton Road, Novena, Singapore 307964 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Safe & Minibar Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room Hotel Royal Singapore - Lift Lobby Hotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room Restaurant Hotel Royal Singapore - Family Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Twin Hotel Royal Singapore - Vending Machine Hotel Royal Singapore - Room Facilities Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Corridor Hotel Royal Singapore - Swimming Pool Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House
Hotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House Hotel Royal Singapore - Laundry Hotel Royal Singapore - Bathroom Hotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Twin Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Lobby Hotel Royal Singapore - Reception Hotel Royal Singapore - Reception Hotel Royal Singapore - Fitness Room Hotel Royal Singapore - Corridor Hotel Royal Singapore - Japanese Restaurant Hotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee House
Area: Novena Number of Rooms: 331
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

from 277 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.3
Families with older children (277)
Sort by:
Melani P. Families with older children Indonesia, August 20, 2015
Very bad services

Spacious family room
3.7
Receptionist was very bad services, it took long time. I was very dissapointed. When checked out, nobody answered the phone when i called the bell boy. It was our first and last stay at Royal Hotel.
Report this review
Valentine H. Families with older children Malaysia, July 20, 2015
Feels like

Location
5
Not pleasant at all. Firstly arrived at hotel from a flight at around 1pm and had to wait till 3:45pm for our rooms. Front desk staff cant really communicate well (staff didnt really understand english as they were either from korea or china, with some elderly locals who did nothing to help the situation) nor was the service as expected (was rude or they just plain ignore you). Sadly one of the very worst of front desk reception received. Room was ok but lousy shower and lousy lumpy foam pillows that smell bad (one of the 4 that was on the bed). Carpets not properly vacuumed and dusty. Bedroom slippers were the really old fashioned heavy rubber flip flops (thought these were obsolete in the high end starred hotel world and was only used in those really low low no star hotel or hourly hotel. Bad reflection of hotel status. Overall if I had known, I would have never stay here, nor will I ever will. Avoid if possible.
Report this review
Valentine H. Families with older children Malaysia, July 20, 2015
Hotel Royal
3.7
Very unpleasant. Firstly arrived at hotel from a flight at around 1pm and had to wait till 3:45pm for our rooms. Front desk staff cant really communicate well (staff didnt really understand english as they were either from korea or china, with some elderly locals who did nothing to help the situation) nor was the service as expected (was rude or they just plain ignore you). Sadly one of the very worst of front desk reception received. Rooms smell bad; musty, dinky kind of smell which even after spraying air freshener did not help as it came back. Pillows were lumpy foam things which was extremely uncomfortable as was the bed. They have a night club downstairs (directly in lobby area) and you tend to see lots of "sexily clad" girls plying their wares when they walk in and out of the club, which by the way is not pleasant for children if so happen to bounce into them. Secondly this hotel apparently is the hotel of choice for tour groups and you can imagine the noise levels generated whenever a tour group checks in (very frequently over the course of the day during our stay there)
Report this review
Tatan F. Families with older children Indonesia, July 17, 2015
Not Recommended!!!

Spacious Room, Bathroom with bath tub.
7.3
Stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Location is okay. Only 5-10 minutes to Novena MRT. The housekeeping is terrible. They didn't even clean our room, only made the beds, changed the towels and took out the rubbish. They didn't refill the shampoo, soap, coffee till I asked for it. The day before we checked out was more terrible. They didn't even : make our beds, tidy up the room and provided new towels until I asked for it again. Terrible!! I expected to go to gym while staying here. But..2 units of treadmill were not working. Waited for around 20 minutes, finally the technician came and tried to work on it. Eventually he told me that all are spoiled. Come on!!! Very standard TV Channels programs. You can get more and better programs in budget hotel. Newspaper was given nicely with bag once, other times only put on the floor. No drinking water provided. Reception officers are okay. Bellboys are quite helpful. Only 2 Women in Cashier I met, and the tall waiter with glasses in Trishaw Coffee Shop are friendly and served us with smile. My expectation is usually not high. But I was really disaapointed staying in this hotel. Especially when the price is also not cheap. Not recommended!!!
Report this review
Yew F. Families with older children Singapore, June 28, 2015
Ok stay

Average lah
6
Ok loh
Report this review
Yew F. Families with older children Singapore, June 28, 2015
Ask for the new room

The new room is nice and spacious
6
Very good. My mom like this hotel more than fort canning hotel . Good for elderly. Comes with kitchen some more. Old people don't like transparent toilets.
Report this review
Nina T. Families with older children Indonesia, June 25, 2015
pleasant stay

location and value for money
6.3
Pleasant and value for money but need to improve the cleanliness of the furnitures n equipments.
Report this review
Odelia T. Families with older children Singapore, June 24, 2015
Convenient but old

Location, location and location
5.3
The hotel was very old and the staff were not helpful. I felt that I was in a backward country when I stepped into the room. The sofa seats were dirty and stained. The wooden wardrobes were not well maintained and looked like it was rotting.
Report this review
Dinh N. Families with older children Vietnam, June 23, 2015
It's a reasonable place to stay at.

Strategic location, closed to public tranports. Cleanliness is OK.
7.3
I was there 03 nights with my great family. The cleanliness is quite well with comfortable rooms for families. The location is convenient for those who want to access public tranportation means. However, I had to wait until 3.30pm for room available and staff's performance were quite poor and unfriendly.
Report this review
Christine Y. Families with older children Indonesia, June 13, 2015
Got upgrade to Royal Residence

Location, provide family room & got upgrade
8.7
First of all, its not fair if I review this hotel without giving information that I got upgrade.. I did not stay at the Royal Hotel, meanwhile I was staying the apartment next the hotel, called as Royal Residences.. Its 13th Floor apartment with 4 rooms every floor I choose this hotel because its they provide family room (occupancy for 3 adult people), near MRT and in front of hotel has bus station.. Has 2 malls nearest by.. only 15 mins to Orchard.. Because the upgrade, of course I should tell you.. the room is very nice (coz a studio apartment concept), with big LED TVs, having small kitchen, microwave too.. 1st floor provided jacuzzi and small swimming pool, and they also have a gym too I talked with the frontliner, she said I got the upgrade because the hotel was full with group booking, and Royal Residence only for a long term stay.. too bad.. definitely I would come back again if I got the Royal Residence..
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Royal SingaporeHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite room - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Safe & MinibarHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite roomHotel Royal Singapore - Lift LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Jade Room RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Family RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe TwinHotel Royal Singapore - Vending MachineHotel Royal Singapore - Room FacilitiesHotel Royal Singapore - Executive Suite RoomHotel Royal Singapore - CorridorHotel Royal Singapore - Swimming PoolHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - LaundryHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Twin RoomHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal Singapore - ReceptionHotel Royal Singapore - Fitness RoomHotel Royal Singapore - CorridorHotel Royal Singapore - Japanese RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - BathroomHotel Royal Singapore - Business CenterHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Water Dispenser & Ironing FacilitiesHotel Royal Singapore - ElevatorsHotel Royal Singapore - Trishaw Coffee HouseHotel Royal Singapore - Chinese RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Executive SuiteHotel Royal Singapore - Swimming Pool Hotel Royal Singapore - Executive SuiteHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Deluxe Twin RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Room FacilitiesHotel Royal Singapore - Family RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - ExteriorHotel Royal Singapore - Suite RoomHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - Guest RoomHotel Royal Singapore - LobbyHotel Royal Singapore - RestaurantHotel Royal Singapore - Lobby

Customer Reviews - Hotel Royal, Singapore

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04