My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Sapphire

371, Galle Road, Colombo 06 Wellawatte, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room Interior Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room Interior Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room Interior Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Suite Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Suite Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room Bathroom Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Restaurant Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Topaz Bar Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Reception
Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Lobby Area Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Business Center Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Front Entrance Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Pool Sitting Area Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Restaurant Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Swimming Pool View Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Hotel Exterior Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Bar Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Bar Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Hotel Front View Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Swimming Pool Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Gym
Area: Colombo 06 Wellawatte Number of Rooms: 40
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
110 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (110)
Sort by:
Venugopal V. Business travelers India, February 9, 2013
Nice and pleasent

Good reception,Nice and clean rooms,Good A/c effect,Tasty food at reasonable price,Located at main highway but inside you do not feel like
9.7
I have reviewd the comments after booking the hotel and was slightly worried about the comments before checking in. But once i checked in the hotel was neat and clean and the bed linen was clean and the service was excellent. Had a very pleasent stay and mainly the Wifi was working very good in the second floor as it was main concern for me to access my day to day mails.The food was very tasty at a reasonable price.The Staffs and attendents are very cooperative and had an excellent room service. The Bathroom was only small -- But its OK. Simply to say -Worth for Money with peace and perfect for any biz people or tourist.
Hotel Feature Tip: No need to have second thought to search for other hotels. Just book it and you can enjoy and will have a pleasent stay for sure.
Prasad G. Families with young children Malaysia, January 11, 2013
Hotel that needs major renovation.

On the main road and readily accessible to major shopping centers.
2.7
Rooms are old with musty smell and require a major refurbishment and renovation. Bathrooms too are not clean and not fully functional.Service in the restaurant is slow and had to wait ages to get a simple snack.
Asheesh S. Families with young children India, January 3, 2013
Lovely hotel.

location and the comfort
9.3
Good hotel with all the required amenities. Very good staff. Good food.
Hotel Feature Tip: If possible they can add different cuisine to there menu. On all other front nice place to stay
Colin S. Families with young children Australia, December 30, 2012
A good basic place to stay

Exceelnt restuarant
8.3
This hotel is located somewhat south of Colombo city but is well known. The hotel is showing it's age a bit but the staff cannot be faulted. The rooms are spacious and well air conditioned. There is a room safe. The pool is great and well maintained and cleaned. There is a fridge and coffee making facilities. The buffet breakfast is very good. The front doorman is a fantastic asset to the hotel and knows everything whilst being extremely courteous. This hotel is a great escape from the hectic life of Colombo but has a lot of shops around it. If you walk down to the beach and get to Wellawatta train station the ride to Mount Lavinia is only $US0.07. There you can walk through the historic hotel and have a swim at a good beach. There are slums to see on the way which made us pretty sad. Altogether, Hotel Sapphire is a very good value hotel without the over-the-top prices of some of the others.
Shopping Tip: Majestic shopping centre 200 rupee tutuk ride.
Sharon R. Groups United States of America, December 26, 2012
Great Service

Big family room
8.3
we needed a larger room, and the family room at this hotel was perfect. recommended for any short stay in coombo.
Syed A. Couples Pakistan, December 22, 2012
There are 2 good rooms here - Find them & survive
5
Undoubtedly, One of the WORST rooms that I have ever stayed in (w/out breakfast). Heres the thing about this hotel which I have observed. I believe they have got only 2-3 good rooms and rest are bad, worse and worst. Those 2-3 rooms are given on special requests either on a booking way in advance, or if you are a return customers after a prior bad experience and write to them. In a peak season it is unlikely that you will be given a good room on a short notice and almost never through the likes of Agoda. By reading the earlier reviews on TA i can say that one of the good rooms is 309 (though we did not get it). From the bad reviews on TA, I was very scared about their standard rooms and specifically booked a deluxe double room. It was a last minute booking and what we got was clearly sub - standard. The room 308 has a smell of a damp carpet, their were twin beds which were joined together in front of us to make a double bed (moving the entire furniture). This is the last thing that you want when you check in at 8 pm after a 6 hour drive. Anyway badly furnished, worn out washroom, carpet with iron patches ,sub standard curtains is all that I can say. Paid for a breakfast where there was not much to choose from. Location is bad on a noisy road and you will get the noise nevertheless. We just had to spend a night in Colombo so it still served the purpose, however I would never come back to the same room again. Go somewhere else is what I can recommend. Colombo is generally expensive in terms of hotel so if you have to spend more than 8 hours in a hotel, go somewhere else! On check out when I filled the comments card honestly, the manager gave me a card asking me to write to them before booking next time and they will make up for the bad experience faced this time. I assume they plan to put me in one of the good rooms if I come back!
Hotel Feature Tip: Avoid 308 - a better room could be 309
Whetu S. Couples New Zealand, December 16, 2012
Friendly

They gave us our room early
5
The hotels dated with strange decor and the rooms were indeed very basic for the price you paid, US per night. As I've traveled around Sotuh East Asia for more than three years, I found this fact to be expensive especially in comparing the qualities of hotels I've stayed in cost far less, for a very plush accommodation. Needless to say, I was rather disappointed, but maybe this is the standard in Sri Lanka. Now, as always, pictures can say one thing and real another. They excluded to say the huge amount of crows flying above the pool. This did not entice me in for a swim under any circumstances. However, the breakfast, although not included in the price had a reasonable variety.
Rajendra G. Solo travelers Australia, December 10, 2012
grand old hotel

great bar area looking out into the sea
7
I started here for one night. Rooms are very dated and have a "colonial" feel. Bathroom was clean except for the paint strains in the bathtub. Breakfast for vegetarians is quite poor. Overall a good experience.
Hassan S. Couples Maldives, November 17, 2012
Great Location, Friendly and helpful staff.

Bigger Rooms and clean.
8.3
Close to Major Shopping Centres, and attractions in City Center.
Ahmed F. Solo travelers Maldives, November 17, 2012
nice place and good sevices with smile

very clean
8.3
good location, nice hotel, clean and good services with smile, i book for Standard Room but they gave me Superior Room. only food is not good for me and little expensive then other place. i will come back and stay this hotel again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Sapphire Colombo - Swimming PoolHotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room InteriorHotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room InteriorHotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room InteriorHotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard Room BathroomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Suite RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Suite RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Standard RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Deluxe Room BathroomHotel Sapphire Colombo - RestaurantHotel Sapphire Colombo - Topaz BarHotel Sapphire Colombo - ReceptionHotel Sapphire Colombo - Lobby AreaHotel Sapphire Colombo - Business CenterHotel Sapphire Colombo - Front EntranceHotel Sapphire Colombo - Pool Sitting AreaHotel Sapphire Colombo - RestaurantHotel Sapphire Colombo - Swimming Pool ViewHotel Sapphire Colombo - Hotel ExteriorHotel Sapphire Colombo - BarHotel Sapphire Colombo - BarHotel Sapphire Colombo - Hotel Front ViewHotel Sapphire Colombo - Swimming PoolHotel Sapphire Colombo - GymHotel Sapphire Colombo - GymHotel Sapphire Colombo - Reception AreaHotel Sapphire Colombo - StairwayHotel Sapphire Colombo - GardenHotel Sapphire Colombo - Underground Car ParkHotel Sapphire Colombo - Hotel Front ViewHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - InteriorHotel Sapphire Colombo - ExteriorHotel Sapphire Colombo - BathroomHotel Sapphire Colombo - EntranceHotel Sapphire Colombo - Fitness RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - Guest RoomHotel Sapphire Colombo - RestaurantHotel Sapphire Colombo - RestaurantHotel Sapphire Colombo - ReceptionHotel Sapphire Colombo - RestaurantHotel Sapphire Colombo - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3A05