My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Shanker

Lazimpat Road, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Shanker Morning Facade Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - View Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Kunti bar Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Beautiful Pool Side Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Cosy Kailash Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Lawns Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Kunti Bar Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - The Garden Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Swimming Pool Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Garden Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Pool side Bar Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Garden Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Hotel Entrance Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Main Building Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Main Building Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Twin Room
Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Single Standard Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Single Standard Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Single Standard Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest Room Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Double Bed Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Double Bed Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Double or Twin Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest Room Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite Hotel Shanker Kathmandu - Coffee Shop/Cafe
Hotel Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 94
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
539 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (539)
Sort by:
Ronald D. Groups United States of America, April 16, 2014
Cultural experience with a dash of blackouts

Nice garden, staff were very attentive, internet service was ok
6.7
The staff were very polite and attentive, especially the doorman. All the staff make your stay at ease and take care of you. I will remember that. The buffet breakfast was ok.
Angela K. Solo travelers Australia, March 30, 2014
Lovely, great location, friendly staff

Lovely heritage building, staff freindly, best breakfast.
10
I loved my stay I had 5 nights here great loaction to the markets 10 min walk, so close to other attractions and to airport, staff were lovely and friendely, I was so looked after, the breakfast was the best i have had anywhere, lovely room, i felt right at home here, gardens and pool were lovely, stunning building.
Olivier G. Couples France, March 23, 2014
room ok, but the hotel is very run down

large room, service is ok
5.3
the hotel is not well maintained, and it would really need to be renovated. the guestrooms are quite comfortable though. the location of the hotel is not so interesting as there is nothing much from a walking distance.
Tang K. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 11, 2014
comfortable room with nice swimming pool

comfortable room with nice swimming pool, good breakfast
7.3
Steven K. Couples United States of America, March 9, 2014
Old order hotel but aging beautifully

Location, Staff, room size and appointments
9.7
We had a great stay - enjoyed a full bath, large rooms, great place to relaxe
David S. Couples United States of America, March 7, 2014
A great hotel in a great location.

location, location, and quiet surrondings
8.7
We enjoyed our stay here. It Is nice to get away from the noise and dirt of Kathmandu.
Silvio M. Business travelers Germany, March 3, 2014
Nice ,very clean ,relaxed atmosphere

rooms , clean,quiet
8.3
Generally speaking a hotel which was better than other hotel we tried in Kathmandu .Forget about those boutique hotels in Thamel,Shanker is somehow strangely designed around the Lobby area but it got other values ,especially friendly staff and clean rooms in a quiet Location .I had an 'argument with the cashier lady at the reception when she charged me all drinks as I have asked to fill up the minibar with 6 beers but I had only 2 beers in 3 days . No flexibility at all.But in every respect this Hotel met my expectations and beyond that .Try to get the rooms on a higher floor with big windows .
Panayan P. Couples Malaysia, March 3, 2014
Short stay at Hotel Shanker

1. Garden 2. Clean room 3. 2 water bottles free each day
8.7
Reasonably comfortable though the hotel is 200 meters away from walking to the main road. Hotel transportation is a costly affair (Eg. Air port shuttle one-way is USD 60/- whereas an ordinary taxi shall cost only 700 NRs (4 USD). It is better walk 200 meters to Lazimpath Rd to get a cab than seeking the hotel transportation. The rooms at floor 4 is comfortable, large and clean but there is nothing to see through the window. Generally the staff members are polite and helpful but the low-ranking staff implicitly express the wish to get a hefty "tip" each time. The hotel has an excellent garden. When seeking services at the hotel (especially at the common Dining Hall), just sign the bill and pay only at the cashier at front office at the end of your stay. Overall the place is worthy though as usual the rates are 70% high if campared to similar hotels in Thailand, Malaysia and Hong Kong.
Tom W. Couples Canada, February 28, 2014
Really convenient

Beautiful gardens surrounded the hotel where one could easily hail a taxi, tuc tuc or rickshaw. The staff were extremely attentive & brought us fresh fruit & chocolates on arrival.
9.3
The bed was large & comfortable. The television was a flat screen with many satellite channels to choose from, & a complimentary newspaper was delivered daily. Although the hotel had to cater for the Secondary School that was also staying, the kitchen staff ensured there was a wide variety of food for everyone. The staff did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. Thank you all.
Bharat S. Business travelers United States of America, February 27, 2014
Highly Recommended!

Staff, Breakfast, Location!
10
We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. All the hotel arrangements, tours, flights arranged by Breakfree Adventures http://www.toursnepal.com a truly wonder tour agency in Kathmandu. Highly recommended!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Shanker KathmanduHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Shanker Morning FacadeHotel Shanker Kathmandu - ViewHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Kunti barHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Beautiful Pool SideHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Cosy KailashHotel Shanker Kathmandu - LawnsHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Kunti BarHotel Shanker Kathmandu - The GardenHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Swimming PoolHotel Shanker Kathmandu - GardenHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Pool side BarHotel Shanker Kathmandu - GardenHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Hotel EntranceHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Main BuildingHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Main BuildingHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Twin RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Single StandardHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Single StandardHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Single StandardHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Double BedHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Double BedHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Standard Double or TwinHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorHotel Shanker Kathmandu - SuiteHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Coffee Shop/CafeHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Meeting RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Meeting RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Breakfast BuffetHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - BuffetHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - BuffetHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Meeting RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - BallroomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Meeting RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - BathroomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Swimming PoolHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Meeting RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Shanker Kathmandu - Suite Room

Customer Reviews - Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu

AS-AGWEB-3B06