Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Sogo Avenida

6th Floor, Dimson Bldg (near National Bookstore) Rizal Ave., Sta Cruz/ Recto, Manila, Philippines (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Reception Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Executive 24 hours Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Executive Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Deluxe Room Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Premium Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Nearby Carriedo LRT station Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Quiapo Church Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Plaza Miranda Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Nearby Chinatown/Binondo Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Nearby SM San Lazaro Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Isetann Carriedo Shopping Centre Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila -  Busy streets of Avenida Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila -  Busy streets of Avenida
Area: Sta Cruz/ Recto Number of Rooms: 126
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.1

based on
32 reviews

Value for Money
6.2
Location
6.6
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.6
Room Comfort/Standard
5.9
Food/Dining
5.9
All reviews (32)
Sort by:
Arvin M. Couples Philippines, May 26, 2014
filthy, unorganized

Room service is fast.
4.3
Disappointed..I hate the stay I had with this hotel since the room is not clean and the towels were all over the place. The sink is not working even the shower. They did not give me a key since the room was just cleaned and so I have to go to the room with the key on the door. The TV is not working and cannot watch local channels.
Eduardo M. Business travelers Philippines, November 28, 2013
safe and privy accomodation

1. access to public transport 2. good food 3. safe & privy accomodation
5
please refer to the incident or comments made on my first day stay which was November 24 to 26 booked in a premium room and transferred to de luxe room on November 26 and checked out on November 28 2013. Am not contented with the room cleanliness standards and food service and as well as FO operation. It is interesting to note that the hotel is best suited on an hourly stay only. Though the reason why I opted for this hotel due to the accessibility to my sons' place studying at nearby university.
Eduardo M. Business travelers Philippines, November 26, 2013
a safe and a privy hotel when you're in.

1. accessible to public transport 2. good food 3. privy
5.3
Booking it online does not guarantee that you have a ready & clean room reserved as per voucher. It usually takes several minutes to confirm the said booking and cleaning the room. I was expecting that once the booking is confirmed online.. all I have to do is just present the voucher then check it online then give me the room key. Then I stayed at the premium room for 2 days without any changes in linens.. then I presented another Agoda voucher to transfer to de luxe room for another 2 days, I requested for toiletries but I was told in de luxe room it is for sale. Am just wondering why the premium room is giving it for free.. Then after few hours, the front office called me if am gonna extend for few more extra hours.. but I advised the FO that my Agoda booking indicates that my check out will still be on the other day. Again, my linens were not changed and the room was not cleaned. And for the food, the money back guarantee if the food is not served within 10 minute was not true! When I ordered my breakfast, it took me almost 20 minutes to wait.. I dialled "0" after 15 minutes to inform them that I've been waiting for my order then she apologized and after 5 minutes my order arrived and the waiter told me "Happy holidays, Sir, P 150". So I reminded him of the guarantee.. but he got the money and the receipt and walk away.
Edward A. Couples United States of America, November 8, 2013
Good location close to Chinatown, adult hotel.

Easy access to the Manila MRT, good location and inexpensive, clean room for Manila.
8.3
Our stay was fine. We just needed a basic hotel in the area of Chinatown in Manila. This is a good, basic room at reasonable price for Manila. Check-in and check-out were easy and efficient. The room was basic but clean. The TV worked well with a large selection of local and some international channels. The area around the hotel is very Manila... Very active street scene... Several markets in the area for food and drink. Many inexpensive eating options in the area.
Jacob L. Solo travelers Sweden, October 18, 2013
Hotel Sogo Avenida

Room service
5
The street outside is full of garbage and I was not comfortable walking around this area. I stayed for the night I payed and the got out as soon as possible. And the music from nerby places makes it impossible to sleep.
Valter G. Solo travelers Italy, October 6, 2013
Nice place...confortable

Friendly Staff.....Good internet connection .....easy located
8.7
My Staying was Great....the staff was well informed about the surroundings and very helpful..Wifi connection was good too
Judee T. Couples Philippines, September 9, 2013
one of the 2 worst hotels we've tried

manageable wifi, room service (food), nothing else!
3.3
This is one of the 2 worst hotels we have ever stayed in. Hotel Sogo Avenida is in the middle of a very chaotic, overpopulated area, its just along the road but u are unable to get there directly via taxi/vehicle and need to walk to reach the hotel because its just so overpopulated with people, stores, things, everything. The hotel itself is darkly lit from the moment u enter. The room itself is dingy, dark, decrepit with damp floors, mattresses, thin poor-quality bed and bedding. The bathroom is a pittance of a bathroom, with a dirty toilet without a seat/cover, there is NO hot shower so you shower cold. The bathroom is just as dirty, if not dirtier than the room. The room itself is not barely 10sq metres in size so its very very small. The internet works though and their room services (food) is palatable and ok-priced. Although I will never recommend this hotel to couples with children/families. The worst part is that this hotel prices its rooms at the same rate as that of other more decent, nicer hotels.
Gary H. Families with young children Philippines, August 22, 2013
excellent

location, shopping and friendly staff
9.3
excellent, friendly staff we will check-in in this hotel on our next trip.
Allan C. Families with young children Australia, August 19, 2013
Below Expectations

Friendly staff, close to areas I wanted to visit, food around
5.7
Hotel was chosen because of its proximity to my areas of interest. It is also at the far end from the last place I was residing. The hotel is on the 6th floor. It is in the centre of a vibrant community. Good to experience REAL Filipino life, and not the tourist side of things. The hotel has wonderful staff, helped from check-in to check-out to make our stay pleasant. Now the hard part, our room was squishy or small, just room enough to move. No room for luggage or wardrobe [this is not a complain, only info for future patrons, so that you know what you get for what you pay for]. Unfortunately for us the plumbing works was a disaster and our bathroom got overflowed with sewage. Once reported, the staff quicly transferred us to another room. This happened in the midst of a typhoon hitting Manila and floodings everywhere. So, I cannot say for sure that it was a common occurence as I imagine the floods must have caused some upsets to plumbings everywhere. Please also bear in mind when visiting Manila not to come here in the wet season as the place is prone to flooding. If not for the wonderful staff inside the hotel, and outside the hotel [security guard] we would have moved out earlier.
Paul T. Couples Guam, July 12, 2013
Our stay was great and enjoyable throughout.

It's cleanliness, great and friendly staff, and it's centrally location to almost all landmarks in Manila.
9
During our stay of 3 days at this hotel we were able to do everything we planned to do in that area and it's vicinity.Very easy to get good cheap meals. The sidewalks provide vendors to sell almost anything you want for a very low price.Walking distance to almost anything like - the Quiapo Church, Cariedo LRT Station, Plaza Sta Cruz, Chinatown,Plaza Miranda, Plaza Lacson, and Plaza Lawton near the Manila City Hall. Indeed, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sogo Avenida.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Sogo Avenida ManilaHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - ReceptionHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Executive 24 hoursHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - ExecutiveHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Deluxe RoomHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - PremiumHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Nearby Carriedo LRT stationHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Quiapo ChurchHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Plaza MirandaHotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Nearby Chinatown/Binondo Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Nearby SM San Lazaro Hotel Sogo Avenida Manila - Isetann Carriedo Shopping CentreHotel Sogo Avenida Manila -  Busy streets of AvenidaHotel Sogo Avenida Manila -  Busy streets of Avenida


AS-AGWEB-3A06