Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Sogo Recto

2F Cartimar Shopping Center, CM Recto Avenue, Quiapo, Quiapo, Manila, Philippines

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.3

based on
31 reviews

31 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
6.8
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.1
Food/Dining
5.6
All reviews (31)
Sort by:
Ishak A. Groups Philippines, December 4, 2015
Okay

Cheap
6.7
The room is small but considering the price, it's an okay go. Good for backpackers.
Report this review
Kim S. Groups Philippines, November 30, 2015
Room is quite small

Staff, convenience and safety
6.7
It was actually good, the only problem that we had encountered is the size of a room, I was expecting a spacious room considering I booked the executive one, meaning it has to be spacious and we were three to be accomodate in that room, it just as small as a deluxe room, i dont know if its really executive or just a deluxe-tagged executive. Money is not worth it to get this kind of room just get the basic one.
Report this review
Edgardo M. Solo travelers Philippines, November 15, 2015
bar month stay

food, value for money and hospitality
8.3
Just okey. Food is great and affordable.
Report this review
Edgardo M. Solo travelers Philippines, November 8, 2015
my first stay

good and affordable food. friendly staff
8.7
Better than the hotel where we stayed in HK,
Report this review
Princess B. Groups Philippines, September 27, 2015
Best standard location

1) Location, near universities holding board exam; walking distance 2) Reservation, you'll have a room available upon arrival through Agoda.com 3) Price, not the best deal but not the worst one.
8.3
Before I made my booking and reservation at Hotel Sogo, I red about the comments first of those who had already stayed and experienced the hotel for any ideas and the probability of looking for another better hotel. Many are worst few are goods, but still I booked because it is one of the most convenient and closest to university belt. First, you have to book or reserve before making an arrival to Hotel Sogo to avoid long line of customers waiting for available rooms. It may take hours or even half day just waiting and we don't like that do we. Hotel Sogo is in demand specially to students taking board exam. Second, book for comfort. Some comments says they hear unnecessary noises coming from other rooms or obscene view in the hallway. I had booked for deluxe room for my sister and I , a few bucks higher to premium room rates, but the space and comfort it provides are especially needed. Third, of course hotels have flaws and Hotel Sogo is not an exception. The food sucks and pricey based on taste. Fast food chains and restos are near the vicinity so no problem with that. A little problem with the shower and faucet, but maintenance can solve that problem real fast and service is quite efficient, aircon is in the minimum you cannot adjust the coolness.
Report this review
Criselda V. Families with older children Philippines, September 27, 2015
My overall review

My 3 best things about this hotel : a) cleanliness of the room; b) approachable staff and c) accessibility
7.3
The room where we stayed was clean and cold (thanks to the airconditioning unit). However, the faucet was leaking and the toilet bowl is not functioning well. There are dishes in the menu which says "good for two' but when I ordered lechon kawali, it was thinly sliced and the serving is not even enough for my 15 y/o son. So we decided to just eat outside since there are many restos near the place. I give it a 5.5 out of 10
Report this review
Alria V. Solo travelers Philippines, August 30, 2015
board exam taker

near universities where licensure exams are held; polite staff
4.7
First board exam, i booked for the cheapest room and toilet bowl flush was leaky and the alarm was noisy. I did not know what the alarm was for. The room was small. Don't bring a big luggage. Second board exam, i booked for deluxe room, less noise this time and bigger room. But sink was leaking everytime I open the faucet. Expect to encounter couples at hotel lobby and hallways as this is primarily a love hotel. A bit pricey for 24 hours as it did not include breakfast. My 24-hour stay count started when I checked in at 7PM Sat and then check out around the same time the following day. The hotel does not accept front desk reservations so I booked through agoda.
Report this review
Jan R. Couples Philippines, August 30, 2015
Second Time Here

Chicharon Bulaklak, Three orders of that.
6.7
I stayed here for the second time this year in preparation for the PRC board exam. Chronologically, the worst part of it was always checking in. The staff is too slow and they don't really give you priority even if you booked from Agoda. Which they should because you've paid in full already. The receptionist was giving us bullshit about the hotel not receiving the email confirmation from Agoda. Which is so much bull. It's not my fault that you don't check your email. The first time we reserved here, I called them up but they told me rudely (in Filipino) to "just go there and no need to call us." So this time I did. Only to get some lame excuse that they did not receive an email. C'mon people. I know this style. I use the "I-DIDN'T-RECEIVE-THE-EMAIL" excuse at work.
Report this review
Desiderio P. Families with young children Philippines, April 15, 2015
Hotel Sogo Recto
2
four nights
Report this review
Raul C. Business travelers Philippines, February 18, 2015
A Short Time Hotel For Pleaure Seeker

Location, staff courtesy
4.7
Room was so small. Faucets were leaking. No toilet paper. Later observed that people used to check in for short time basis like 3 hours for pleasure. Stayed for 2 nights. No change of beddings. Won't even rate it 1 star hotel. Worst!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 31 reviews Next page
Hotel Sogo Recto ManilaHotel Sogo Recto Manila - ReceptionHotel Sogo Recto Manila - ReceptionHotel Sogo Recto Manila - LobbyHotel Sogo Recto Manila - InteriorHotel Sogo Recto Manila - InteriorHotel Sogo Recto Manila - InteriorHotel Sogo Recto Manila - InteriorHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - InteriorHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Guest RoomHotel Sogo Recto Manila - Surroundings


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01