Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Spitzweg

Paradeisgasse 2, Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, Germany (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber Number of Rooms: 9

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
8 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (8)
Sort by:
Carling T. Families with older children Malaysia, October 29, 2015
Comfortable hotel within the town wall

Location, cleanliness
Charming Medieval hotel. Room is comfortable and clean but there is no lift. Friendly owner. Free wifi available everywhere in the old town.
Report this review
Anthony T. Couples Australia, July 24, 2015
Special Spitzweg

The host. The breakfast. The location.
We enjoyed our stay very much. The host was a very jovial and friendly man, who we enjoyed chatting to at breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic, and very plentiful. Only problem was the road works outside the window which started about 06:15 each morning. Nothing the owner could control though. Would recommend this to travellers.
Report this review
Stephen H. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 8, 2010
Appalling Service

Good location, quaint hotel
This hotel is very well located for the the centre of Rothenberg with quaint rooms which match the traditional feel of the town itself. However, of the 10 German hotels I've stayed in this was definitely the worst in terms of service. Firstly, we were told check in was between 2-6pm and arrived at 4pm. There were no staff working (it seems the hotel is only staffed between 8-11am!!!). After waiting with our young baby in reception and ringing the lobby bell repeatedly for around 20 minutes we went outside and rang the intercom. When someone came they admitted to being on a shift at another hotel so had to be quick. We got to our room, which we expected to have a baby cot as we'd agreed this by e-mail prior to our stay. It didn't, but we got one 30 minutes later from the check-in girl working at another hotel. We asked for a kettle to make formula milk for the baby during the night and were offered one jug of boiling water at 3pm. Eventually we got a kettle from the girl working at another hotel but were told the management had said we couldn't have it. Next, I changed the baby on her changing mat on the floor. When I lifted it up after completing the job it was covered in hair. I checked the floor in general and found lots of little stones. We took our shoes off at the door so they weren't stones we'd brought in. The bathroom floor also had hair around the bin area. I doubt the room floor had been cleaned before we checked in. At breakfast the next day I saw other guests receiving freshly cooked eggs. I aksed could we get any hot food and was told no. My wife asked for an omelette later as other guests were still receiving cooked food. We received 3 fried eggs. I also asked if we could have a banana to give to the baby and was told no. The next morning the man I presume owned the hotel asked me to close the breakfast room door in a very sarcastic manner. Firstly, I was holding the baby so didn't have free hands.
Report this review
Qili H. Solo travelers China, August 24, 2009
the most atmospheric hotel during my trip

well-decorated, in great accordance with Rothenburg's atmosphere, clean and comfortable room, very friendly staff
This is the most unforgettable hotel in the unforgettable town during my trip. The hotel is located just outside the busiest streets and square, which ensures quietness yet is still close to the attractions. It is well-decorated and strongly atmospheric. Room is spacious and clean with a pleasant view. The owner is a lovely old gentleman who kindly gave me a little memorable gift. Overall it is a very happy experience staying at Hotel Spitzweg.
Report this review
Kazuhiro N. Couples Japan, August 9, 2010

どれがホテルなのか、さっぱり解らず、同じところをぐるぐると三回ぐらい回ってしまった。扉の横のインターホーンで中の人を呼び出して、鍵を受け取り、入れてもらった。こんな経験は初めてでした。 部屋に入ったとたん、家内が大喜びです。まるで童話の世界みたいな、絵本に出てたような、そんな部屋でした。 ガイドブックにはメルヘンチックとか何とか書いてありましたが、本当にそのまんま。家内は部屋中を写真に撮りまくり、独り御満悦でした。
Nightlife Tip: ローテンブルクの観光は、昼間だけではありません。夜景も中々綺麗ですよ。 寒さ対策をして、是非、出かけてみてください。
Report this review
Ka Y. Couples China, May 18, 2015
熱情的老伯伯 非常豐盛的早餐 佈置細心的飯店

1.房間有古典的風格 2.老闆十分熱情 3.早餐十分豐盛
由火車站走往飯店有點路程 但可接受 飯店佈置得有心思 老闆很熱情 早餐非常豐盛 令人吃飽開始新一天旅程
Report this review
Hyewoon S. Solo travelers South Korea, November 15, 2015
조용하고 독일 가정집같은 분위기 그런데 엘리베이터가 없음.방음이 안됌

기존 호텔과 다른 분위기와 주인 할아버지의 따뜻한 아침식사
호텔로는 다소 부족한 면이 있지만 잘 아는 독일친구집을 방문한 느낌
Report this review
Yang Y. Couples Taiwan, October 18, 2014

屋主親自料理早餐美味可口,純樸的當地民宿, 無電梯要注意有大件行李搬運的問題.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.