My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Tara Palace

419 Esplanade Road, Cycle Market Opposite Red Fort, North Delhi, New Delhi and NCR, India (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Lobby Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Features Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Red Fort from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Hotel Features Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Dinner on Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Jama Masjid from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temple from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Lobby Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temples from Rooftop
Area: North Delhi Number of Rooms: 33
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
171 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (171)
Sort by:
John C. Couples Taiwan, February 10, 2013
Moderately clean, terrible location...underwhelmed

Near the Red Fort
4
Unless you have to stay in Old Delhi, I would suggest lodging somewhere other than the Tara Palace. Even though it is a small respite from the chaos of the Old Delhi alleys, we were disappointed that the hotel fell so far short of the positive reviews other guests had given it. We chose it because we wanted to be near the Red Fort which was a mistake on our part as you can stay in many other parts of Delhi and still manage to get to the fort and Old Delhi in a reasonable amount of time. The complimentary airport pickup was appreciated but did not feel safe as the driver hurtled through traffic and there were no backseat seat belts. The location is down an alley in Old Delhi which very few tuk tuk or rickshaw drivers were familiar with requiring us to guide most of them back to our hotel (I don't know why the address isn't written in a language other than English). The building is old and the rooms are quite small. They are clean, but we found a much nicer hotel in a better part of town that was cheaper with far more modern amenities. Overall, it is probably one of the better facilities in Old Delhi but we will not be staying there again.
Lesley F. Couples Canada, December 24, 2012
Nice room and breakfast

Like the location in old Delhi
10
We really enjoyed the location of this hotel in the Cycle Market of Old Delhi. Within walking distance of several sights of interest and restaurants, very easy to get a cycle rickshaw!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Be sure to take one of the rickshaw tours of Old Delhi markets - best way to see the back lanes and the variety of market areas. Rather than tell the drivers we wanted to go to the Tara Palace (our Canadian accents made thi gs tricky) - we asked for cycle market - no problem at all. Walking Food Tour was very fun and interesting - we tried lots of snacks and sweets and other dishes we would not have know about.
Paula H. Solo travelers Australia, December 1, 2012
Cheap but not so cheerful

Cheap price
5
I chose this property for a quick overnight stay but I wont be heading back there in a hurry. It was down a very dark & dingy alley. My room was very basic & I guess you get what you pay for. Breakfast was ok with a choice of western or Indian but was nothing to rave about. The advertised free wifi was only available in the cramped lobby space & not available in my room. I didn't find the staff friendly or helpful. Try somewhere else!
Tracy T. Couples United States of America, November 23, 2012
Clean hotel in old Delhi

Clean, Hot water, breakfast included
6.7
If you dare to stay in old Delhi, this place will do fine. It was very clean on the inside, a stark contrast from its settings. The hotel pick up wasn't very timely-although it was free. You might be better off paying an airport taxi or tuk tuk to get you there faster after a late flight.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Meander through the old Delhi markets. It is an experience.
M W. Business travelers India, November 8, 2012
Excellent Hotel in a Filthy locality

Very Value for Money
8.3
I stayed for 4 days here. Overall excellent stay. On arrival it was difficult to find the place, very filthy road with shady characters all around. At last after going up and down the road we found it in a dingy dimly lit side street where cars cannot go. 15 meters away from the road. Then comes the good part. Check in was easy and quick. Room was shown and hot water tap and TV remote usage was clearly explained. Very clean sheets and blankets. Floos were clean sparkling and no roaches or rats. Rooms had A/c , intercom and room service. WiFi in lobby. Laundry and travel services too. It was 2 star trying to be upto 3 star services. Room service was good and prompt. Very value for money. Breakfast is complimentary but not a buffet, it was limited and served like a thali like indian continental etc. They serve egg but no other non veg food. It was limited but adequate. Electricity was 24hours. No power cuts. I saw a lot of foreigners and bachelors. No indian families. Very near chandni chowk metro and red fort. Excellent place overall but they need to work on the entrance and a better name board for directions there. Very value for money. Room Tip: Choose a room with a window. Mine did not have one. See more room tips
Rebecca H. Couples Australia, November 5, 2012
Amazing value

Big clean rooM
8.7
Terrific value for money including basic breakfast. Big clean room and my personal highlight- a terrific vegetarian indian menu. Really happy with our stay only pitfall is the distance to the airport and new Delhi- the traffic really slows things down.
Lihong F. Solo travelers China, November 4, 2012
Good hotel.

Near the red fort.
9
Good hotel,value for money including breakfast, and the room is fine and comfortable.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Near the red fort.
Pijus M. Families with young children India, October 27, 2012
Great hotel real value for money

Services, 24 hr resturant service was really good.
8.3
This is a great hotel in a superb location with great food. Do not get disappointed with the entrance of the Hotel,the entrance is a bit daunting when you first arrive but once you get past that everything else is excellent. Don't expect brilliant views etc because it is in the middle of old Delhi.If some one wants to see real old Delhi that's the perfect place. Chandi chowk metro is 10 minutes walk, also Red Fort is 10 minutes walk on the other side. If you can ask to go on the roof at night - it's worth. We checked out from the hotel at early morning 5 O'clock and complementary breakfast was ready by 4:45. Stayed 25th October to 27th October 2012, traveled as a family with a 5 years old child.
Hamni J. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 13, 2012
good locality

good services & clean
8
friendly staff, decently clean rooms, reasonable breakfast menu
Christine B. Couples Australia, September 30, 2012
Tired Hotel in good location

Good location right in Old Delhi
6.7
we returned to delhi after staying at tara palace but did not return to tara palace. we felt the hotel tired and needed a bit better cleaning standard. good location and though i am giving negatives we made the most of our stay and found it enjoyable. as in many places in india, a bucket of hot water and soap, a clean cloth and some firm rubbing would make all the difference to a room. by staying at tara palace though we felt we got the real feel of delhi - great location.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCRHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - LobbyHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - FeaturesHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Red Fort from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Hotel FeaturesHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Dinner on RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Jama Masjid from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temple from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - LobbyHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temples from Rooftop


AS-AGWEB-3C01