Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Tara Palace

419 Esplanade Road, Cycle Market Opposite Red Fort, North Delhi, New Delhi and NCR, India (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Lobby Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Features Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Red Fort from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Hotel Features Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Dinner on Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Jama Masjid from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temple from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Lobby Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temples from Rooftop
Area: North Delhi Number of Rooms: 33

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 181 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (181)
Sort by:
Mark S. Solo travelers United States of America, October 3, 2010
Worst Location

restaurant food ok
6.3
Who ARE the people who travel half-way 'round the world to stay in places like this? Perhaps veteran connoisseurs of 3-star hostelry would love the Tara. Beat up car with no AC and had to wait over an hour for another passenger to arrive, then 60-minute ride to Hotel. Better deal with rack rate. Tara in location with absolutely NOTHING. repeat: NOTHING. Can walk to Red Fort -- daytime. Cab everywhere else. If you're thinking to stay here for one night, note: a grueling 60-minute distance to airport.
Shopping Tip: excellent location if you need your rickshaw tires changed
Report this review
Maria A. Couples Netherlands, July 22, 2010
Great value!

Very clean, comfortable, well priced, in middle of old delhi
8
We stayed at Tara Palace hotel for two nights. We had a very pleasant stay in the heart of old Delhi. The room was clean, tidy and had all the comforts we wished for. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Recommended for everyone who is budget concious, but wants to stay in a good hotel!
Restaurant Tip: Karim's, 800 meter walk from the hotel. Busy Indian restaurant.
Report this review
Amina A. Groups Oman, July 7, 2010
Lovely hotel but poor location

Clean room
7.3
As my first time in Delhi I was happy with the clean room and services, just the location put me off.
Report this review
Theresa L. Solo travelers China, July 1, 2010
I will visit again

Very helpful staff, clean rooms
7.3
I stayed in the room the whole daytime for a rest. The staff who did the cleaning and perhaps some renovation next door and at the corridor were quite noisy. They talked very loudly for hours and I could hardly sleep. Other staffs were very helpful. Since I asked for hot shower during daytime. They started the boiler for me particularly. The young man who carried my bags were also very polite.
Report this review
Aaron P. Couples New Zealand, June 25, 2010
Old Delhi

Close to Fort and Central Mosque
7.3
Good location for sightseeing however no bars and restaurants near the hotel. (hotel in old Delhi) Hotel was clean and spacious, decent breakfast. Booking tours was cheaper over in Paharganji rather than in the hotel. Changing money at the hotel was surprisingly cheaper than at the bank.
Report this review
Neil H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 20, 2010
Notes on Tara Palace

A good room for the price, great location near to the main sights
6.7
Report this review
Gary R. Solo travelers United States of America, May 23, 2010
Live in Old Delhi for an experience of a lifetime

Located in the REAL Delhi. Walking distance to see life as it is and was.
10
I arrived at midnight and thought the driver was mistaken about my location! People sleeping in carts on the ground, as we stopped the car, walked down an alley and thought I was going to be robbed! But this location is all about the feel of Old Delhi. It is located in the middle of the way you would think India should be! Not in New Delhi, where all is the "new" way. I learned to love the hotel, staff, food, room service, even the free breakfast.
Report this review
Michael L. Couples United States of America, May 2, 2010
Tara Palace Blunder

room service was cheap...
6
The shock when you get out of the taxi to go down this small 5-7' alleyway...the hotel is around 30 meters from the road...the hotel is fine...and if it were in another location, it would be better...the stench around the hotel is unbelievable...garbage is all over the place...on the roads around the area are outside urinals...you can smell the urine all over the place...smells about like an outhouse...if yuo are going to get a hotel, do not get one in Old Delhi...go to New Delhi
Shopping Tip: Spice market was great...
Report this review
Eva-Maria B. Couples Germany, March 23, 2010
Tara Palace - best place to stay in Old Delhi!

Very clean, quiet (right in Old Delhi, amazing!), helpful staff, free internet in the lobby, very good restaurant with reasonable prices and very friendly staff, complimentary breakfast included, Roof Top Restaurant ... Within walking distance: Jama Masjid, Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, Spice Market, Haldirams...
9.7
We stayed in Delhi for around two weeks, and we really enjoyed our stay at Tara Palace!! The rooms are really clean (they come to clean it every day) and so quiet, you wouldn't believe you're in Old Delhi. You can do a lot of sightseeing by foot, but if you go towards Jama Masjid, there is a Riksha Stand. Don't be discouraged by the street, the staff is so warm and friendly, and everything is so quiet, that you almost forget where you are - right in the middle of about 14 million people...
Shopping Tip: Chandni Chowk!!
Report this review
Todd K. Couples Australia, March 8, 2010
confusing

modern in appearance. well lit. has doorman to vet non-guests. bed was comfortable.
3.3
Entry to the hotel is down a dark, narrow alley.It's situated in an old part of town in the middle of a bicycle and fruit/vegetable market.Chandi Chowk, the Red Fort and Mosque are just around the corner and the whole area around the hotel is busy, dirty and somewhat broken down. Tara Palace is in the middle of all this and it's so confusing because the hotel is modern, bright and reasonably clean and it and we felt quite out of place. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was adequate however three out of the four days we stayed there we had cold showers. We were told on checkin to let the shower run for a while to let the hot water come through but no amount of waiting let that happen on those occassions. We found a shower really early in the morning or really early in the evening was the only way to have a warm or hot shower. The breakfast service is slow. The food is served luke warm and is not very appetising. The table linen was grubby and places were not completely cleared or reset before the next diners. Although a fridge in the room was advertised, we had to ask for one as there wasn't one in our room.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCRHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - LobbyHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - FeaturesHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Red Fort from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Hotel FeaturesHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Dinner on RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Jama Masjid from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temple from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - LobbyHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temples from Rooftop


AS-AGWEB-3A01