My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Tara Palace

419 Esplanade Road, Cycle Market Opposite Red Fort, North Delhi, New Delhi and NCR, India (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Lobby Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Features Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Room Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Red Fort from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Hotel Features Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Dinner on Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Jama Masjid from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temple from Rooftop Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Lobby Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temples from Rooftop
Area: North Delhi Number of Rooms: 33
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
171 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (171)
Sort by:
Michael L. Couples United States of America, May 2, 2010
Tara Palace Blunder

room service was cheap...
6
The shock when you get out of the taxi to go down this small 5-7' alleyway...the hotel is around 30 meters from the road...the hotel is fine...and if it were in another location, it would be better...the stench around the hotel is unbelievable...garbage is all over the place...on the roads around the area are outside urinals...you can smell the urine all over the place...smells about like an outhouse...if yuo are going to get a hotel, do not get one in Old Delhi...go to New Delhi
Shopping Tip: Spice market was great...
Eva-Maria B. Couples Germany, March 23, 2010
Tara Palace - best place to stay in Old Delhi!

Very clean, quiet (right in Old Delhi, amazing!), helpful staff, free internet in the lobby, very good restaurant with reasonable prices and very friendly staff, complimentary breakfast included, Roof Top Restaurant ... Within walking distance: Jama Masjid, Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, Spice Market, Haldirams...
9.7
We stayed in Delhi for around two weeks, and we really enjoyed our stay at Tara Palace!! The rooms are really clean (they come to clean it every day) and so quiet, you wouldn't believe you're in Old Delhi. You can do a lot of sightseeing by foot, but if you go towards Jama Masjid, there is a Riksha Stand. Don't be discouraged by the street, the staff is so warm and friendly, and everything is so quiet, that you almost forget where you are - right in the middle of about 14 million people...
Shopping Tip: Chandni Chowk!!
Todd K. Couples Australia, March 8, 2010
confusing

modern in appearance. well lit. has doorman to vet non-guests. bed was comfortable.
3.3
Entry to the hotel is down a dark, narrow alley.It's situated in an old part of town in the middle of a bicycle and fruit/vegetable market.Chandi Chowk, the Red Fort and Mosque are just around the corner and the whole area around the hotel is busy, dirty and somewhat broken down. Tara Palace is in the middle of all this and it's so confusing because the hotel is modern, bright and reasonably clean and it and we felt quite out of place. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was adequate however three out of the four days we stayed there we had cold showers. We were told on checkin to let the shower run for a while to let the hot water come through but no amount of waiting let that happen on those occassions. We found a shower really early in the morning or really early in the evening was the only way to have a warm or hot shower. The breakfast service is slow. The food is served luke warm and is not very appetising. The table linen was grubby and places were not completely cleared or reset before the next diners. Although a fridge in the room was advertised, we had to ask for one as there wasn't one in our room.
Stephen W. Couples United Kingdom, March 6, 2010
Tara Palace, Old Delhi

Wonderfully situated to visit the Red Fort & Jammu Masjid. Rooms clean & well appointed.
8
I would thouroughly reccommend the Tara Palace Hotel. The staff were very efficient & the room clean & comfortable. Above all, there was peace & quiet which is difficult to obtain in Old Delhi! From the roof both the Red Fort & the Jammu Masjid were in close view & were just a short walk. We had not been to Delhi for almost 30 years & will definately stay at the Tara Palace again when we return.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The convenient place to stay for Red Fort
Tatiana O. Solo travelers Russia, March 1, 2010
Tara Palace Hotel

Red Fort and Jama Masjid, internet connection.
5.7
If you want to be close to Red Fort and Jama Masjid Tara Palace is good choice for you. It takes 5-7 minutes by foot to reach those places. But you have to understand that the hotel is situated in Old Delhi, near from market and that it can be not pleasant and clean place for you. It's difficult to be satisfied if you eat at Tara Palace but if you prefer continental breakfast you'll get it. I recommend you to visit restaurant 'Karim'. It's not so far from Tara Palace and near from one of the gate of Jama Masjid. You can ask everyone it's famous place where you can eat delicious Indian food. In addition you can use internet connection at the hotel and it's free.
Travel tip: Red Fort, Jama Masjid
David A. Solo travelers United States of America, February 4, 2010
Tara Palace - as good as advertised

Great airport pickup. Room immaculate, spotless, wonderful shower. Good breakfast. All staff with wonderful attitude
8.7
I really enjoyed my stay. I found the staff very helpful. Also, they allowed me a couple of hours late checkout. They were very helpful in making my stay comfortable, as well as giving me some extremely good tips to avoid some local ripoff artists. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. I will be back when I pass through Delhi again!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Easily accessible to all Old Delhi sites, especially the Red Fort, Jama Masjid and Chandni Chowk Market.
Mohamad N. Couples Malaysia, February 1, 2010
Good Hotel

Big, comfortable and near to Jama Masjid
7.3
Very comfortable, clean and very helpfull staff.
Ilan K. Couples South Africa, December 25, 2009
don`t judge the book by the cover

very good location.
10
We have stayed in Tara hotel in December 2009. Although the street is not welcome you in,the room was nice clean and neat with warm water. you can walk freely to the 2 attractions which near by: the fort and the Mosque.The staff are excellent.They gave us a map and explained how to get around.
Hotel Feature Tip: clean hotel
Bala K. Couples United States of America, December 23, 2009
December 2009 visit

Very clean rooms, great service and extremely responsive staff
9.3
Our flight arrived later on December 21/22 night than scheduled due to the the storm of the decade on the east coast (US), and our pick up vehicle had returned. We called the night manager and he was gracious enough to offer us the cab fare (pre-paid taxi fare to get our own taxi)- which he did. The approach to the Hotel seemed to go through dark alleys- but once inside- it was a pleasant surprise. Hot tea was provided at the room and we were refreshed and ready to go. Breakfast choices were plenty- and the location allowed us to visit Red Fort, Sultan Raziya Begum's tomb (India's only Empress-killed in the 1360's) deep within the heart of nearby Sitaram Bazaar and the world famous Karim's restaurant- all within the morning/early afternoon hours. We even had time to visit relatives by pre-arranged taxi and make it to a get together at the Delhi gymkhana by 7.30 PM- an ambitious itinerary that would not have been possible except for the location of Hotel Tara Palace. The rooftop view allows one to look at the Red Fort, Jain Temple and Gurudwara Sis Ganj where Guru Tegh Bahadur(ninth Sikh Guru) was executed- truly historic locations. Also gives one the chills to know that these same streets probably ran red with blood during Nadir Shah's sacking (and subsequent raping, pillaging and looting) of this very neighborhood in 1739?- with its rich merchants and shops etc. Or even with the aftermath of the Indian Sepoy revolt of 1857. The mutineers were hanged in bunches at the Kotwali every day- for the amusement of the reclining British officers who enjoyed refreshments and the spectacle. Lots of history here and the location of the hotel-for history buffs alone- could not be better.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Red Fort, Jain Temple, Bird Hospital, Karim's retaurant, Gurudwara Sis Ganj and shopping for silver items are all within walking distance- great for a sense of history and location- value for money.
Olga S. Solo travelers Russia, December 22, 2009
good hotel in bad location

calm clean place with roof restaraunt
8
breakfast just simple and takes 40 min to be prepared, rooms between small and medium size, some have no normal windows, hot water just in 5 min of waiting, free pick up from the airport/ So in comparison with other hotels it is quite good and the most important quite place in the middle of old delhi market.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: red fort, mosk

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCRHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - LobbyHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - FeaturesHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - RoomHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Red Fort from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Hotel FeaturesHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Dinner on RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Jama Masjid from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temple from RooftopHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - LobbyHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel Tara Palace New Delhi and NCR - Temples from Rooftop


AS-AGWEB-3A04