or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel The Sunder

9776/8, Multani Dhanda, Sadar Than Road, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi and NCR, India (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Economy Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Standard Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Executive Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Executive Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Room Interior Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Bathroom Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Reception Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Corridor Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Economy Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Economy Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Standard Air Conditioned Room
Area: Pahar Ganj Number of Rooms: 22
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

6.0

based on
24 reviews

Value for Money
6.3
Location
5.8
Staff Performance
5.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.8
Room Comfort/Standard
6.6
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (24)
Sort by:
Henry F. Solo travelers Australia, March 26, 2014
Met my expectations and sometimes exceeded them.

Cheap and quality food, staff overall very accommodating, plenty of TV channels.
7
My stay went very well. The staff were extremely accommodating from the get-go, the room service was excellent (despite the fact that the guy who always answered the phone didn't seem to know that much english) and despite it's location in the heart of an inner-city slum, I always felt safe enough within its walls. The biggest knock against it is its location. I'm actually extremely surprised that much a well-run and relatively clean hotel is located in such a dodgy part of town, but I suppose it's further testament to the owners that it's as good value for money as it is. Would stay there again, although perhaps I'd bring a surgical mask with me whenever I have to walk to the metro station, and earplugs to block out the endless car horns when I'm trying to sleep. I suppose that's the reason why it's a budget hotel though.
Binita P. Families with young children United Kingdom, March 31, 2013
Good Stay

The best thing about this hotel is the travel manager TINKU. He arranged a great tour for us and we had a great time in north india.
6.7
The best thing is the hotel travel tour manager TINKU who arranges an excellent tours anywhere India.
Glen H. Solo travelers Australia, February 10, 2013
Not a bad stay, but for the tour operator...

Roof top, mostly good hot water, good location
6.3
For a budget hotel, it wasn't too bad. The room was spacious & comfortable, and service was good & staff friendly. Blackouts now & then - usually short term - but remember to switch the hot water system back on after them or you will have cold showers, otherwise good hot showers - it was very cold when there. Avoid street facing rooms on lower floors - VERY noisy street. Proximity to transport is great - metro & New Delhi mainline station close walk & tuk tuk to Connaught Place area for about 100 rupees or under, depending which part you are going. The rooftop has great views of the surrounding areas of the city & is a relaxing spot as the sun goes down to get away from the traffic below. Food is not bad. The thing that really was annoying to the extreme was the tour operator guy (others have mentioned him here). Calls to the room constantly about appointments to organise my travel in India - and he wouldn't take no for an answer. I finally sat down with him & he offered me ridiculously expensive tours & insisted plans I already had were wrong and "no one goes there this time of year" or "no one travels by train to go there" and so on ad nauseum. His solution was always a very expensive alternative option to go somewhere else & cancel my current plans. Fortunately I didn't listen to him & had a great time - everything he said turned out to be nonsense. I nearly did book a car day trip to Agra with him, but went & got quotes at 2 other places which were nearly half his prices for the same thing! He was easily the worst thing about the place, but otherwise it wasn't too bad overall.
Kevin G. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 2, 2012
Photos and review of hotel was misleading

Made up for the non-appearance at the airport by sending me to the railway station the next morning
3
Time, wear and tear has turned this hotel into a dreary one. The reviews and the photographs did not meet my expectations. Was a let down especially when I had communicated by e-mail and phone to inform of my arrival time and pick-up to be left waiting at the airport. However, all this was made up for when I was offered a ride to the train station the next day.
Christopher D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 18, 2012
there are better

clean room and bedding scalding hot water
5
there are two reasons to stay here...the clean bed and the hot water after that i seem to struggle for any positives except maybe the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is on the edge of the action and a good walk or tuk tuk is required to see anything or get anywhere even the tube station. The hotel is located such that if you walk out the front door left you are into an abyss which is unlit at night and not so friendly.the local drunks queue at the bottle shop window next door. There is an alley way running down the one side which gets traffic and screaming kids till well after 1am. There is a three storey apartment block opposite side of the alley and the noise from it is bad and on the top apartment the dog likes to bark all night till its time to wake up.The traffic noise out front with the insecent horn use is not good either. I say this because all the rooms face out to the road or the alley...I had ear plugs and it made no difference....good luck
Hugo L. Couples Portugal, January 4, 2012
Good hotel

The driver who took us from the airport and droped it was very nice guy his name is SHAMU, he help me a lot and we was very kind all the time, thank you very much to the all team, the hotel has a good value for the location!!!
6
It was so so, the location wasn't so good but then staff tried to do they best.
Amanda G. Couples United Kingdom, November 1, 2011
Nice ish rooms, OK location.

Good location, cable TV
4.7
As hotels go in India this one is quite nice. TV has cable and the hotel is within walking distance to the main backpacker area. Shower is dreadful, no hot water and just a trickle. Overall its the best of a very bad bunch...
Junichiro W. Solo travelers Japan, October 30, 2011
Reasonable (budget category) hotel in India

Metro station, pretty close. Liquor shop, right next door. Eateries and restaurants nearby.
9
Reasonable hotel in India (among budget category hotels). I stayed at half a dozen hotels in India to date, and I can say that this is a good hotel (value for the money). Sure, this is no 5 star hotel, but there is nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, either. Hotel staffs are fine. I do not name a name, but I personally know one hotel **** cough *** Hotel R. in Karol Bagh *** cough *** where every staff acts like an a**. (During my stay) everyone working at this hotel acted pretty friendly. The hotel is situated near Connaught Place. If you are physically fit, you can walk to CP. Same as New Delhi railway station. Of course, if you’re catching a train to travel to a different part of the country, you need to hire a 3 wheeler or taxi though, because it’ll be pretty difficult to move around with a big suitcase and what have you. Let’s see …. plus points. Liquor shop is located right next to the hotel. Metro station is also pretty close. There are a fair number of eateries and restaurants nearby also. Infamous Sita Ram is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. U-Like restaurant is 8 minutes walk(?). The guests can also arrange tours at the hotel itself. Pretty convenient; no need to walk into a questionable travel agency in the neighborhood. I took a tour from this hotel, and it all worked out. What else …? Again, this is no 5 star hotel. This hotel is nothing like Ramada or Taj, but if you are a budget traveler, this hotel is all right.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Humayun's Tomb is pretty spectacular. I am not a Muslim, but I can appreciate Jama Masjid, its architecture and the rest; the neighborhood (Old Delhi) is also an interesting place to go visit.
Michele M. Couples United States of America, October 28, 2011
Clean, quiet, nice staff

LCD television, good location in backpacker area
7.7
clean and quiet stay. staff was friendly, but the room service food was not very good. hot shower didn't work in mine or my friends room. however, beds were comfy and staff was pleasant and made usnfeel safe, so a nice budget hotel.
Restaurant Tip: SAMs cafe nearby has a nice rooftop restaurant.
Sibyl J. Groups United States of America, October 9, 2011
Not great but they sort of try

restaurant good except for breakfast, easy to get autorickshaw
5.7
rooms are not very clean, street outside is under construction and noisy. The staff are nice but sort of incompetent. When you check in, a "travel agent" will try to arrange city tours for you. Don't arrange anything with him. They didn't answer my emails asking for airport pickup, but they did take us to the airport for free instead.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCRHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Economy RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Standard Room Hotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Executive RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Executive RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Room InteriorHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - BathroomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - ReceptionHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - CorridorHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Economy RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Economy RoomHotel The Sunder New Delhi and NCR - Standard Air Conditioned Room


AS-AGWEB-3A02