or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Vina Del Mar

Rua Joaquim Silva, 57, City Center, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil 20241110 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: City Center Number of Rooms: 78

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
12 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
7.0
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (12)
Sort by:
Marc M. Solo travelers France, March 22, 2014
reasonably affordable & friendly

Comfortable, easy access and safe
7
Good staff & location; you got a good idea about the life in Rio; easy access to clean & safe metro; but you need to like the heat otherwise you may suffer; good place to learn how to dance and have a fun The only downside is they should have inform their customers they will be some renovation's works in the hotel during the day; or perhaps I did not understand them; the most know Portugase language.
Roman K. Groups Russia, March 1, 2014
Perfect perfect location!!

Location, price
7.3
I forgot all little defects of this 2-star seems-to-be hotel for its perfect location. The comfort is minimal but enough for budget travallers. The staff is friendly and they try to help even if they don't speak english all.
Andrew B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 23, 2012
Hotel ok but location very undesirable .

Hotel facilities ok
5
First of all the hotel itself was adequate . It caters mainly for Brazilians in that none of the Staff spoke a word of English . There is no internet access at all and the hotel itself was bascic . What spoils it , is the area . It is basically very rough . Yes Lapa is on the doorstep , but I was very ill at ease walking round especially at night until I found my bearings. It is basically a love hotel. On the positive side , I thought breakfast was good if the same every day . They did try and charge me for local calls I did not make when checking out .
Gijs S. Solo travelers Netherlands, January 21, 2012
Old but good

Cheap, good and good location
8.7
The hotel is in Lapa, not in the best location but central in Rio for the privé it is the best.
Andrew B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 18, 2012
OK hotel but very dodgy area

Adequate facilities
4.7
The hotel itself was ok as was things like the breakfast . I do not want to sound too negative , but none of the staff spoke any English , whicj does not help the hapless English speaking traveller . I had to change rooms on the 3rd night due to water drippimg on my outside air conditioning unit all through the night . When I downstairs to complain , a waiter came up with a bit of old carpet , and the pair of us attempted to throw it over the A/C outside to dull the sound of dripping water . That was ok but the room was on the seventh floor ! It was obvious they already had problems as there was a bit of old carpet stuck on top of the A/C outside . It is basically a love hotel and the area full of down and outs did spoil it . I got used to it , but kept on my guard at all times . The hotel did try and charge me for local telephone calls I did not make when I booked out .
Gregory B. Solo travelers United States of America, September 8, 2011
secure, clean-enough place in sketchy neighborhood

big room, right in the middle of lapa night scene
7.7
this place is basically a love hotel. the rooms are big compared to other places in the area. room was clean but not spotless. price was reasonable by rio standards which is to say it wasnt cheap. what this place has going for it is its a secure location right in the middle of lapa which becomes like a carnival on weekend nights. you might get pickpocketed but at least you wont get mugged cuz there are about half a million people in the street partying with you. cool clubs, bars, restaurants all around. its in one of the oldest areas of rio and has a lot of character, lapa i mean. staff was good enough. a decent breakfast included if you get up in time, which i never do.
Travel tip: Dont wear a watch or jewelry or sunglasses or anything outside of basic clothes when you go out at night. Daytime the area is fairly safe.
Ben W. Couples United States of America, March 8, 2011
lovely hotel with charm

great breakfast, clean rooms, great internet in restaurant, great restaurant, friendly staff
10
great place to stay. rates were reasonable for carnaval (better than hostels) friendly staff, felt safe, and location was perfect.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: next to gloria station and lapa great nightlife and shopping
Laura A. Couples Peru, May 2, 2012
Hotel céntrico, y con atención muy cordial

El hotel está en una buena ubicación, cercana a bares, restaurantes y atractivos turísticos. El trato de las personas de allí fue cordial en todo momento.
8.3
El hotel está en una buena ubicación, cercana a bares, restaurantes y atractivos turísticos. En la noche cuando queríamos salir a comer cminábamos unas cuadras y todo estaba cerca, un ambiente muy simpático con conciertos, pero en el hotel no había sonidos,así que uno podía dormir tranquilo. El trato de las personas de allí fue cordial en todo momento... Nos ayudaron mucho a buscar direcciones, hacer llamadas telefónicas, e incluso dejaron quedarnos después del check out. Me gustó toda esa cordialidad.
Lars F. Solo travelers Germany, March 26, 2014
gutes und preiswertes Stadthotel

die Ausstattung der Zimmer, die Speisen im Restaurant und kostenfreies WLAND
7.7
Manfred H. Families with young children Germany, January 24, 2014
empfehlenswert

grosses Zimmer, ordentliches Fruehstueck
8
angenehmer Aufenthalt, alles positiv, ist aber kein Strandhotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3A04