Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg

Hauptstrasse 178, Heidelberg City Center, Heidelberg, Germany 69117 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Heidelberg City Center Number of Rooms: 37

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
12 reviews

8 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (12)
Sort by:
Kyeongsook L. Solo travelers South Korea, June 22, 2015
Great location, lovely interior, spacious

Location, interior, spacious room and bathroom
Great stay, my next stay in Heidelberg will be again at Ritter
Report this review
Richard A. Couples United States of America, December 11, 2013
staff lwas snappy the room was very old

ok but would not stay there again many pretty good hotels you should reccomend
Report this review
Hugh C. Couples United Kingdom, September 13, 2012
Admirable hotel in perfect situation

The hotel's situation is perfect for exploring the many beauties of Heidelberg
The hotel is itself a tourist attraction: both the exterior and interior are emblematic of 'old Germany'. Service was excellent and friendly. We had read before we stayed there that the rooms were uncomfortable. Ours was not, and it had a splendid view to the castle. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Both were of a high standard. Car parking was about a seven minute walk, which might have been unpleasant in rain. The situation of the hotel, in the main square, near to most of the sights, could not be better.
Report this review
Sharon C. Families with older children Singapore, June 4, 2012
Excellent location in the town centre

Clean, friendly staff
Hotel with an old charm. Tricky getting to the room via elevator only. There was no elevator from ground floor to room and no one to help with the luggage. Otherwise, the hotel was in an excellent location next to the church with shops and restaurants right outside the hotel entrance. Parking available through the hotel and about 5 mins walk from hotel with discounted rates. But it is possible to reach the hotel in your car to drop off luggage.
Travel tip: Best to drive your car to the front entrance of the hotel even tho you have to drive on the pedestrian walkway, to drop off heavy luggage. Thereafter can park your car at the multi-storey carpark 5 mins walk away. Ask the reception for direction.
Report this review
Sharon C. Families with older children Singapore, June 3, 2012
Great location - friendly & helpful check-in

Excellent locaiton, with shops & restaurants outside hotel entrance.
the rooms were fine, but we had to take the lift to get to our rooms. the shower in the bathroom had very low water pressure, so it took a long time just to take a shower. the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. the house-keeping staff did not clean our room and forgot to give us fresh towels when we requested for it. other than that the hotel location was excellent.
Report this review
Karen B. Couples Australia, January 28, 2012
Beautiful listing building in a great location

Great service, beautiful room, lovely building, breakfast was very nice
This hotel is a beautiful old building situated in the heart of the 'old town' section of Heidelberg. We had a wonderful stay, shopping, sightseeing, restaurants, bars, cafes are all very close within walking distance. All the staff in the hotel are friendly, speak good english, and were very accommodating. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was delicious. Overall great value for money
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the venicular which goes up to the top of the mountain and the schloss (heidelberg palace) is within walking distance and well worth the effort to go to.
Report this review
Margaret L. Couples Australia, October 6, 2011
Fabulous location and very friendly staff

Loctation, hotel facade, staff helpfulness
It was awesome to first see the hotel, so rustic in the midst of the historical market area, slap-bang in the middle of the hub. Our room was very big and functional, although noisy because it was an inner room which meant kitchen noise, but also noisy from the clock chimes, but we got used to both of these, and the great location made up for it. We didn't eat at the hotel because there was so much variety right outside our door, although I certainly would have if I was on a romantic getaway because the dining room was splendidly lavish and the menu, though pricey, was absolutely delectable.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We took the furnicular to the highest peak in Heidelberg then down to the castle. This was a beautiful, memorable experience. Take the time to do this and have a walk through the forest at the top and through the castle gardens, grounds and inside. We did this on a clear day and the views were stunning.
Report this review
Yuko I. Couples Japan, August 17, 2010
good location

Good location , close to Heidelberger Schloss about 5 min by wark and clean room that has a bathtub. Also it was good experience to stay at historical cultural heritage in heidelberg.
Report this review
Masako H. Families with older children Japan, October 12, 2013

結構楽しみにしておりましたが、正直がっかりです。 古い建物なので、設備が若干古いのは覚悟していましたが、 ある意味、日本の地方にあるビジネスホテル並みの内装でした。 夜はなかなか暖房が利かず、何度かフロントに電話しましたが、"It takes time"を繰り返すばかりでした。 値段も高いので、他のホテルでも良かったかなぁと思いますが、立地が良かったので仕方ないかなと思ってます。
Report this review
Lam S. Couples Hong Kong, February 8, 2014

Report this review
1 - 8 of 8 reviews

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.