Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
1019 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1019)
Sort by:
Anthony H. Couples Australia, October 7, 2012
An excellent choice in Shanghai

Location was excellent, the service was impeccable and the standard of the room was excellent
10
We were very impressed with the service and the facilities of this Hotel. Prior to our arrival we had asked that a car be arranged to pick us up from the Airport and this worked a treat. The driver met us in the arrivals hall and whisked us off to the Hotel. Reception staff were welcoming and offered us a complimentary upgrade and even wished us a Happy Anniversary! (we must have mentioned this when booking? The room was excellent and the facilities available were first class. We were very impreesed and had a beautiful stay. We would certainly stay here again.
Kuan N. Couples Australia, September 29, 2012
Great location but room renovation is old

Good location, resonable room size, good service
7.7
Cockroaches were found in the hotel room. Overall the hotel service was good and prompt. Staff were helpful.
Jean W. Couples United Kingdom, September 28, 2012
Wonderfully hotel

Loved hotel, friendly staff, good location
10
who was the young western gent at reception who just stood there and smiled ??? did no work.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take the hop on hop off tour bus. Good value
Jeff C. Couples Singapore, September 27, 2012
Love It

Superb Location, Nice Rooms, Flexible to Allow Early Check-Ins, Room Upgrade
8.3
Wow my hubby and I totally love staying in this hotel. The locaton is superb, centralized. You can go anywhere from here. The room is spacious and we get a free room upgrade to business room due to availability. They even allowed us early check-in at 11a.m. The hotel staff are professional and very helpful. The hotel lobby has a nice fragrance when you enter.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Just 2 mins walk to the hop-on open-top tour bus which brings you to the key attractions of Shanghai. Hop on one and tour aroudn Shanghai. Very affordable rates.
Prakrong N. Business travelers Thailand, September 26, 2012
nice hotel with good location

good location just cross the road to Beijing Lu
8.3
This hotel is in good location. We can walk for a few minutes to Beijing Lu for shopping, seeing the local people's activities, such as singing, dancing, ect.
Hana H. Families with older children Brunei Darussalam, September 25, 2012
Nice hotel

Excellent location
8
I had a two day stay at the hotel, which I enjoyed. The only comment i can make is that when i first came in the room it smelled like someone just had a smoke in it when i specifically requested for a non-smoking room.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The location is within walking distance to shopping and attractions.
Catherine B. Business travelers Australia, September 21, 2012
Good Location

Close to pedestrian mall
8.7
We recently stayed in a business suite in this hotel. We found the room comfortable and clean. The lounge area however was internal with no windows and very dark lighting. Not very inviting so we just put all our luggage here and did not really use it as a lounge area. The bathroom was large and clean with a shower that was separate to the bath. The location was good and very close to the pedestrian street. We did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on their restaurants. we found all the staff to be helpful and curteous. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.
Ron M. Business travelers United States of America, September 17, 2012
Great location next to NanJing Road

Nanjing Road accross street, Bund withing 4 block walk, People Square and lots of shopping
8.7
great location, took taxi to furniture expo, close to lots of things to do. yuan gardens a :30 min walk. careful of the so called university students. they say they are in unniveristy but they try to sell there services of taking you to a restuarant or coffee shop, then the establishments charge aborbant prices. the food at the hotel was very repitious, same thing night after night, venture out and check out the vast assorment of restaurants along nanjing road.
Shopping Tip: if you want bargain shopping then take a :30 min walk to 580 nanjing road west. they have 4 floors of bargain designer clothe knock offs. start on the 4th floor, prices are 25% less on that floor. negotiate with them, know your pirces of clothes and thngs at home. the stores give you a price for something, i knew what i was willing to pay and 60% of the time they will sell it to you. for example i bought baseball jerseys for 150 rmb. also label jeans for 150 rmb, brand shirts 'gant' for 75 rmb
Anslem D. Solo travelers Australia, September 16, 2012
Well presented hotel

good size rooms
8
close to stores and subway 5 minutes away. I arrived early and staff were very helpful in organizing my room for early check in.
Robert W. Business travelers Australia, September 15, 2012
Great location with excellent rooms.

Walking distance to the Bund. Nanjing shopping and walking street at your door.
8.7
my second time at this hotel and the best i have stayed at in shanghai.some new roads have made it even easier to gat around shanghai from this location, (by shanghai standards that is)
Travel tip: My travel tip is always the same, " don't change all your money at the airport, you will nearly always get a better rate at your Hotel or a money changer on the street."

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Business SuiteHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B05