or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational Facilities Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
1054 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1054)
Sort by:
Winston C. Business travelers Singapore, November 19, 2012
Good location and good service

Wonderfully located, close proximity to shopping area (Nanjing West Road), Metro
8.7
The concierge is good and the front desk changed my room automatically after they tried without success in repairing the broken shower in my room.
Lay T. Couples Malaysia, November 18, 2012
Great location

Just few minutes walk into main street
7
It rated as 5 stars hotel, unfortunately the front desk staff was quite slow in service as it is a huge counter but just 2 staffs working . ( few guests were lining up there). Hotel bathroom amenities is not enough and furnished. Usually it should provided comb, cotton bud, cotton pad. Although 3 stars hotel that I stayed at Suzhou also provided. this should be improved. The operator was not so understand English and I need to explain for quite long time.
Khairun Y. Families with older children Malaysia, November 15, 2012
Lovely hotel ith great location

near to shopping malls
9
Nice and clean room with lovely view of the city. Service is excellent and most of the hotel staff can speak English. Starbuck cafe located in the hotel. Near many shopping mall as this hotel is located in the city centre.
Loh Y. Couples Singapore, November 15, 2012
Great location & service staff

Walking distance to Nanking Street
7.7
A good 4 star hotel which is located near to Nanking Pedestrian Street. Rooms are slightly aged but still comfortable though. I do feel that the rooms are not brightly lit. Bathrooms are spacious too.
Siang J. Couples Australia, November 12, 2012
Great location but hotel badly needs a refurb

Close to the Bund and shopping districts
7.3
The Howard Johnson hotel is a very affordable hotel in a great location. However, the rooms are quite old and are lacking compared to other 4-5 star hotels. Even though we got a free upgrade, we were disappointed with the quality of the room. Staff, however, are very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant Tip: There is a great Teppanyaki restaurant - Moonsha - just by the Bund (and within walking distance from the Howard Johnson hotel) that has a superb atmosphere and excellent food. It's quite pricey but perfect if you want a romantic dinner and a private chef!
Jonina B. Couples Iceland, November 10, 2012
Good location, helpful staff but rooms too small

The location of this hotel is very central and the staff is very helpful and speaking english.
6
The buffet breakfast does not meet the Howard Johnsson hotel standard that we have experienced elsewhere in China and the rooms are really to small- much smaller than at other HJ hotels;: The two of us had a problem finding space to open our suitcases
Corazon A. Couples Philippines, November 5, 2012
A hotel i n a great location.

Clean and accessible to all interesting places in Shanghai.. We were upgraded without charge and with. view of the Nanjing Road. Perfect!!!
8.3
Cons. We were made to ride a car rental limousine in the airport when we asked for the hotel's transportation. The hotel car for the two of us would have cost Yuan 400 instead of the 600 we were charged. Also the concierge gave us wrong information about the Big Bus Tour which was only 300 yaun and was persuading us to take their travel agency friends for yuan. We felt that we were were being ripped off. The male concierge was even telling us that theBig Bus is only for an hour and we will not be able to see anything. He was trying to make money at our expense and was unaware that we have traveled all over Europe and the Americas as well as Asia, using the BIg Bus for touring major cities.
Hotel Feature Tip: Better to talk with the women in the reception and concierge. The men were too precocious for comfort and misleading information will be given to hire their travel agency friends instead of helping the tourist to get around at the least cost.
Mark V. Families with young children Philippines, November 5, 2012
accommodating staff; great location

great location
8
location is very ideal. near main road of shopping. staff is very accommodating. simple requests like additional water are provided. additional half day or extension of check out was also given for free. going to other tourist spots are just 10-15 minutes away. staff also very helpful in providing directions to places to go. staff was also helpful in booking acrobat tickets.
Travel tip: if you enjoy cool weather, going to shanghai in november is a good time as the cool weather is bearable. i can only imagine the coldness in december or january. it might be too much to handle for people used to staying in the tropics
Mark V. Families with young children Philippines, November 3, 2012
Great location, staff very helpful

Pool was warm gym was great
8
Stay was very delightful. Location is accessible and staff very helpful. Nanjing road is but a Stone's throw away. Other sites are minutes away. Mints at the counter were yummy also. Check in was fast and room service fast. Hotel is very safe and secure. Card key necessary to reach floors.warm pool is definitely a plus on a cold day.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ideal for easy access to nanjing road, most attractions and sightseeing sites are just 15-20 minutes away.
Philippe L. Couples France, October 28, 2012
superb hotel, lovely rooms

perfectly located, very helpful staff
10
a high end hotel, nicely located in Shanghai (10 minutes from Huangpu River, 5 minutes from People's square, by walk) front desk staff speaks good English and is very helpful Rooms are nicely decorated, big and comfortable Indoor swimming pool is huge and very clean Price is reasonable

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B04