Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational Facilities Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: People Square and South Bund Huangpu Number of Rooms: 360

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on
1138 reviews

758 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (1138)
Sort by:
David T. Couples Australia, December 30, 2012
Well prices and as good as the others

They had umbrellas you could borrow when the weather got bad
8.3
We stayed at a reputable hotel down the road but when we arrived in Shanghai but when I wanted to stay another night the price was too high. So I looked out the window and saw the HJ sign and decided to give this hotel a go. It was fantastic, just down the road (200 metres) and the facilities and service were as good if not better that the other hotel. Close to the Metro line and also near Nanning road. Very assessible with a line from the nearby train station to Hongqiao airport.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Renmin Square trainstation is very close by, make the most of if to getyou around Shanghai especially the Pudong side.
Report this review
Shokat M. Families with older children South Africa, December 28, 2012
great stay.

comfortable ,clean and friendly
9.3
Great stay .A very comfortable hotel The location is just fantastic. Thank you for the good time.
Report this review
Lee N. Families with young children Malaysia, December 26, 2012
great location and conveienet
8.7
it's very convienent to get mrt and is a great location. just opposite the nanjing pedestrian road. hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. starbuck just at the lobby of the hotel. a tailor shop at the lobby do a great tailoring job. the heater is working fine on winter time. the swimming pool and sauna is great and clean.
Report this review
Terence G. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 19, 2012
Great Location and Friendly Hotel

Location, friendly service, good facilities
9
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is located within the CBD in Puxi, and very close to the shopping belt and MRT station. The room is spacious but a little dated. Generally, I enjoyed my stay and will definitely revisit this hotel next time.
Report this review
Chee N. Business travelers Singapore, December 14, 2012
Good Location
7.3
the hotel is located just next to nanjing east road, the "walking street". needless to say, it is very convenient if you like shopping. fuzhou road is just a block away and you can find food outlets (not so expensive compared with those along nanjing east road) and book shops, which i always visit when i go to shanghai. walk along fuzhou road towards east, you will read the bund wihtin 15 min. it is about 5 min walk from exit 14 of subway station renmin square.
Report this review
Michael T. Business travelers Indonesia, December 13, 2012
Great Service for Frequent Traveller

Hotel remembers your preferences as frequent stayer
8.3
Always good to be back as the staff remembers my preferences. Will be again in future.
Hotel Feature Tip: Become a frequent stayer
Report this review
Li I. Couples Canada, December 13, 2012
Great Location and good service

Location, recreatin facilities, good service
8.3
My husband and I booked this hotel online and we are satisfied with it's facilities and services. Will recommend to friends who will visit Shanghai in future.
Report this review
Ng W. Couples Singapore, December 11, 2012
Convenient location with dated rooms

Close to Nanjing East Station
6.3
I stayed there with my wife and my parents from 4th Dec to 11th Dec. Journey from Pudong airport cost between 165 RMB to 185 RMB (depending on the distance travelled). When we got there, we were given two options regarding our rooms: 1. To settle for the rooms on different floors, 2. To wait for 40 mins for the rooms to be on the same floor. This was rather surprising as I had indicated 'adjacent rooms' when I made my booking on Agoda. Nevertheless, we took the 2nd option and came back after a late lunch (it was already 2pm local time). When we finally got to our rooms, we were pleasantly surprised to see the spaciousness of the rooms(Business suite). The bed room and the living room were separated. As two rooms were booked, we noted a different layout between the rooms. One had window in the living room and the other had none. The one which did not come with window gave me a hard time initially as I had to locate the light switch by feeling the wall. The rooms were cleaned twice a day, so better put out the 'Do not disturb' sign if you do not want to be disturbed in the evening. In terms of the rooms, the deco is old and rather dusty. The bathroom comes with shower and bathtub. The toiletries were replaced daily. There were a few misses when we were there. 1. The slippers were not replaced daily and on the last night, they were not even replaced after the cleaners disposed them. 2. Also, on our last night, the cleaners did not bother to clean the room. 3. The bath robes too were not replaced once. In spite of these, I would still recommend those who are visiting Shanghai for the first time to try this hotel due to its central location.
Hotel Feature Tip: The suite with window in the living room was 2110. Try to book this room for accessibility to the switch when you return at the night.
Report this review
William P. Solo travelers United States of America, December 5, 2012
Good location

Great location in bund area
7.7
Staff service lacking. Asked for nearest metro and was told my bell hop to go to front desk for information....terrible! Location is great. I only wish Agoda would offer breakfast options with the rooms. A good place to stay for western tourist to Shanghai.
Report this review
Kit M. Business travelers Hong Kong, November 29, 2012
Good location

Comfortable & good breakfast
7.3
the hotel is closed to the underground train which is 10 minutes on foot. 5 minutes walk to the fascinated shopping mall. very convenience location.
Report this review
Previous page 221 - 230 of 758 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01