My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Hotel Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
974 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (974)
Sort by:
Matthew W. Solo travelers Australia, November 17, 2013
great location

location, room size, comfort
9
This is located in peoples square right next to Nanjing rd, you are only a few meters away from the hustle and bustle of shanghai. The only thing i did not like about the room was that the shower was broken upon arrival, however it was promptly fixed. The room itself was very tidy and comfortable.
Stephen P. Business travelers Australia, October 31, 2013
Centrally located to reach the Bund

Within walking distance of the Bund and my office, they can organise an airport transfer without problem and they have my choice of cereal for breakfast.
8.3
The room was fine on the club floor and it included breakfast in the room rate, so overall it was good value. The Club lounge itself serves food and drink in the evening, which was enough free wine and small nibbles for me. They have one bottle of red and one bottle of white on display with two glasses and probably one bottle of beer on ice. But compare this Club to the Marriott in Singapore which is actually packed and buzzing and has wait staff to come and mix you up a cocktail and you will find that the Howard Johnson Hotel is lucky to attract 4-5 people per night. The hotel has a good view over the People's Square and is a good location and so it has the potential to be much busier than it is. The first night I was there the internet kept disconnecting, my company complained, HJ looked into the speed issue (not that this was the problem and could not find anything) nonetheless the second and third night were fine. Given that the internet can be poor in China anyway I am never sure whether this is something the hotel has control over. I suggest that they send their second top marketing guy over to Singapore to the Marriott to find out how to market a club package and be successful. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and will probably go back as they can organise hotel transfers okay and it is in a good location. Still I don't think they are maximizing the potential of the place.
Chan T. Business travelers Hong Kong, October 30, 2013
good location, comfortable, friendly staffs

friendly staffs, ocmfortable soft bed, free internet
8
I was waiting friends to pick-up, only few seats available and full occupy, if possible more comfortable seats in the lobby are perfect.
Ali Y. Couples Qatar, October 27, 2013
perfect

Location,security,staff
8.3
Perfect,As the hotel is ceterally located to all major attaractions weather shopping or walking and also to tourist areas.Hotel will also manage your visits to hot spot touristic areas.
Jens K. Families with young children Germany, October 27, 2013
Good place, centrally located

Club, location, jacuzzi
8.7
Our stay in that hotel was good, especially the perfect location makes this hotel to our hotel of choice in shanghai. A donwer was the pub, located in the first floor of the hotel, food was overpriced, quality of the food was poor. Breakfast itself was good, the club in 23. floor was nice, rooms were good, clean and comfortable.
Seet E. Business travelers Singapore, October 24, 2013
Good location & friendly staffs

Friendly staff, good foods & great facility
8
They gave a free upgraded to suit although the suit look a bite old, however is still great. A warm welcome from hotel.
Axel N. Business travelers Sweden, October 22, 2013
Run-of-the-mill business hotel at excellent spot

Location,
7.7
I have stayed at Howard Johnson as a business travel at several occasions due to its advantageous prices and excellent location (close to People's Park, The Bund, Nanjing Road (E) and Subway Line 2 that connects with both airports and Lujiazui. It offers good overall quality in terms of food, service, pool&spa and rooms standard, without reaching any stratospheric heights.
Catherine F. Solo travelers Australia, October 22, 2013
Memorable...can't wait to come back

Location front desk staff were extremely helpful different spaces to catch up
9.7
As good as we could have hoped. The staff were very helpful explaining maps and helping us get around. We loved our experience a can't wait to come back with our husbands. We were upgraded on arrival which was a lovely surprise and nothing was too much trouble
Axel N. Business travelers Sweden, October 19, 2013
Efficient staff made for a pleasant stay

Location, Fast staff-, and Internet services
8
I have stayed several times at this hotel due to its competitive prices at an excellent location, and this time I got an upgrade to a family room, which gave me additional space. As all Shanghai hotels, they age fast (HJ is about 8 years old), but they provide all business hotel amenities at a good standard.
Che Y. Business travelers United Kingdom, October 17, 2013
comfortable

location, spaced public area, big lobbly area
7.7
since this is my first time stay in this hotel, i felt rather comfortable and acceptable.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Business SuiteHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3A04