Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational Facilities Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: People Square and South Bund Huangpu Number of Rooms: 360

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on
1138 reviews

758 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (1138)
Sort by:
Boon H. Groups Australia, July 25, 2012
Amazing.

Fantastic staff, clean and great rooms!
9.3
I cannot rave on enough about how amazing the staff were at Howard Johnson. I would recommend them again and again. They helped us out with so much. I would not stay with anyone else in Shanghai.
Report this review
Gottfried V. Business travelers Germany, July 23, 2012
good value for the money

very central location
9
The Howard Johnson is located in the center of Shanghai and is a very good starting point for exploring the city (in walking distance to the Bund and other sights, near a metro station). Nanjing Road is bustling day and night, but the hotel takes away all the street noise and asures a relaxing stay. The staff is friendly and surprisingly familiar with English.
Restaurant Tip: Take a taxi to 1221 - The Dining Room for an excellent dinner.
Report this review
Cristina C. Families with older children United States of America, July 23, 2012
great location and clean hotel rooms

free wifi and wired connection; clean and organized; great location
9.3
lovely hotel in a great location. located right by people's square and near a metro line. clean hotel rooms with free internet connection. i'd stay here again.
Report this review
I T. Solo travelers Taiwan, July 22, 2012
Great Location and good service

Location
7.3
Perfect location for the first time traveling in Shanghai. And the service is good as well. Great sopt for shopping and Metro is very convenient for city tour.
Report this review
Paul T. Groups Hong Kong, July 19, 2012
Great location

Nice location
7
Located In the centre of shanghai close to the shopping and eating places. Room size is great and toilet bathroom all clean. The draw back is that the bath towel provided is a bit worn out and yellowish. generally speaking I expect a bit more from this hotel.
Report this review
Jaspreet S. Solo travelers India, July 19, 2012
Superb hotel & excellent service

crowded markets
8.7
Superb hotel with polite staff. Staff talks fluently in English & helps for any information
Report this review
Jaspreet S. Business travelers India, July 18, 2012
Supern hotel with smiling staff

Near to Subway line 2
9
rooms were very clean.facing nanjing road pedestrian street. very helpfull staff.
Report this review
Stephen P. Business travelers Australia, July 18, 2012
Good Location

Comfortable Rooms
8.3
On my previous stays at this hotel I commented that the internet turned off at 9pm. Well this time I was located on the Club Floor and had no problem with speed or connection. Either the hotel fixed the problem, they had fewer guests or this level had better service. I also found out that they keep the breakfast cereals in two places, so if you don't immediately see what you want then look over on the opposite side and you will find a different selection. Anyway it was a good stay and everything worked as it should and the limousine transfers all happened as planned. The Club lounge was not open for breakfast but I got free breakfast down on level 1. The reservations staff always follow up Airport limousine transfers via email a couple of days before and they are always pleasant to deal with.
Report this review
Jaspreet S. Solo travelers India, July 17, 2012
Great location with subway access

Crowded area
8.3
Rooms were excellent. Staff responded fast for any help. Rooms were free of smoke smell very good & rare to find in China.
Report this review
Susan U. Couples Philippines, July 15, 2012
Good Location and courteous staff.

Location and accessibility
9
We had a nice stay at the hotel. the location is good since it is near the subway station, park and shopping. We had an experience of trying to find a particular store and was searching for it for almost 2 hrs. We are all wet because of the rain. Its a good thing that the hotel is just parallel to Nanjing road and we were able to hurry up and change our wet clothes. The rooms are also clean and spacious. If I were to return to shanghai, i will still choose Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. I even recommended it already to my relative.
Shopping Tip: The hotel is just parallel to one of the shopping haven of Shanghai. Nanjing road. And right across the hotel is a big giordano store. If you walk down the road you can also enjoy one of the sightseeing destination in shanghai which is the Bund.
Report this review
Previous page 291 - 300 of 758 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01