My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Hotel Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
974 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (974)
Sort by:
Ismail M. Business travelers Pakistan, December 7, 2011
Luvly location and nice hotel

Location
7.7
its a wonderful hotel ..worth for money ..the lobby is nice and rooms r clean and good sized..this is the most convenient hotel in juijang road and of use the location is one of the best in shanghai
Michael M. Business travelers United States of America, December 5, 2011
Super Hotel - Great Location - Stay was wonderful

room - staff - clean - quiet room - friendly -
10
during my stay i had a great time - when i checked in - i asked for an upgrade from what i was suppose to have for a room and the staff gave me a junior suite - it was wonderful for the 4 nights that i was there - i would stay in this hotel again - the staff are very friendly and help you with just about everything from getting a taxi - to where to get items you need - to seeing a show - go see "the shanghai circus" it is truly wonderful and the staff helped with the ticket and i had a seat on the 2nd row - wow - i would stay at this hotel again - it is close to the center of many things - and the places to eat around there are wonderful also - the food within the hotel is great - but there are places around that are great also - on a five star scale - i would say this trip was a 7 star for me - thanks for everything - i will stay here again -
Nightlife Tip: ask the staff to help you get tickets to see "the shanghai circus" playing there in shanghai - it is a wonderful show - about 20 minute taxi ride - and well worth the money and time -
Richard W. Business travelers United Kingdom, December 4, 2011
Great location and friendly service

Location, starbucks downstairs.
8
Good hotel with good features. Room was perfectly okay and breakfast good. Swimming pool was pleasant although gym was noisy due to work being done. I would go back if I needed to be in the centre.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Antique market just south of the Shanghai Museum interesting and good way to spend some time.
Susanne H. Families with young children Germany, December 4, 2011
Terrific location and friendly staff

Business Suite was a comfortable size and had all that you needed for a short stay
8.3
The staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and felt the Suite was perfect for two adults and a small child. We got it at a decent price. The hotel is situated very close to People's square, so all that you need shopping wise can be found there.
Phillip M. Couples United States of America, December 2, 2011
Beautiful Hotel in Shanghai

Location / Service
10
I have stayed in Shanghai on many occasions. The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is the best place to stay in the city in my opinion. I have spent over 40 nights during 15 seperate visits to this hotel. I keep returning becasue it is always a pleasure.
Michael M. Business travelers United States of America, December 1, 2011
Great HOTEL - Super Location - stay here aain -

Selling points - the rooms - staff - location -
10
When checking in - i asked for an upgrade - i had read in other reviews about asking - and when I asked - they moved me up from a deluxe room - to a junior suite - 2 rooms (living room and bedroom/bath) and it was a wonderful four night stay - i will stay here agin -
Nightlife Tip: go see "the shanghai circus" if you get a chance - it is worth the time and money -
Sze H. Families with young children Singapore, November 30, 2011
Excellent location and service.

Busy shopping street just right across the hotel
7.7
the location is the reason, i choose this hotel. close within walking distance (just cross the road and few steps) to the famous shopping area in shanghai, yet in the room you don't hear the nosie. the view from the room facing nanjing east street was fanstatic with the lights switched on at night. the price from agoda is reasonable but it should also include breakfast at that price. just beside this hotel, there is another hotel called charms hotel which is 3 star but at much lower rate with breakfast included.
May C. Families with young children Singapore, November 29, 2011
Value for Money Hotel

Well located within shopping centres
8.7
hotel is very well maintained, clean with good security elevator's system. staffs are friendly and helpful whenever we need help. it is centrally located near lots of shopping centers and restaurants. it is also withing walking distance to the bunds. taking cabs or subway trains are also not a problem. we are very satisfied with our stays. highly recommend for travellers who like convenience location.
Zhiqiang L. Solo travelers November 27, 2011
Very nice hotel at a great great location

location location location
9.7
HJSP could not have a better location, literally the center of the city, overlooking E. Nanjing Rd, where you can shop, dine, and watch people and the world go by. It is located in between two subway stations, E. Nanjing Rd. and People Square, and that means you are readily connected with other farther attractions and districts of SH. For metro-takers, I recommend taking the Nanjing Rd. exit to avoid major people traffic at the People Square. The room I got was nice and spacious, with 4 to 4.5 star amenities, bath robe, mini bar, and et al, almost everything you can think of. It does come with free Wi-Fi, but the signal was not very strong. My room was on the north side of the hotel building so it offered the unobstructed view of NJ Rd. and beyond. It was fun just standing by the window looking at the commotions on NJ Rd. while sipping some wine. The hotel gym was well equipped but I can’t comment more on it because I didn’t use the gym. The swimming pool was well maintained, offering four 15-meter lanes, with showers, hot tubs, sauna, and spa adjacent. I can’t really comment on the dining here, as I dined out every meal in the city. But judging from the in-room menu, these restaurants should be competent. All in all, HoJo hotels outside USA are on a much higher end than their counterparts in USA. This hotel offers adequate practical and convenient amenities at a central location at a very reasonable price (if you get it); but if you are looking for luxury, this hotel is not yet up to that scale.
Marcelo C. Couples Chile, November 27, 2011
Great hotel great location

swimming pool sauna jacuzzi great lobby
10
dont ever miss the chance to visit a great hotel like the hojo shanghai, near to nanjing dong lu, the bund, people's square, yu yuan garden, pudong and all the great places in shanghai. bar m1nt is a few blocks away, same for some good restaurants, even fake market for those wanting to buy some knock off brands.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Business SuiteHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hotel Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B07