My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
996 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (996)
Sort by:
Robert W. Business travelers Australia, September 16, 2011
supbert alround

exceptional service and location
9
great location for shopping, walking distance to the bund, 20 mins to the maglev train.
Travel tip: take line 2 on the metro train to science and technology for the underground market, (haggle hard but fair)
Paul S. Solo travelers Australia, September 11, 2011
All round quality hotel with friendly staff.

Great location and excellent basic double room.
9.7
The hotel was excellent in almost every way. Great room, nice staff, a good gym and spa/sauna/pool area. Location was excellent just off the centre of Nanjing road. The price was very competitive as well.
Shopping Tip: On Nanjing road, if you can use a camera to scare away street hustlers. They do not like cameras pointed at them, just as i didn't like being harassed for rolex watches,women for massage,etc etc!
Chris R. Couples Australia, September 09, 2011
Great location,beautiful rooms, and helpful staff

large bathroom,great staff,good bed
9.3
Although a very short stay,we found the loction was great,the staff very helpful,no problems with language,room was spacious,with large bathroom and bath towels,enjoyed our stay,will be returning.
Joseph S. Solo travelers Australia, September 02, 2011
A great place to stay in Shanghai

Location, location, location - perfectly located between the Bund and People's Square.
7.7
Despite the old-style rooms with semi-antique furniture and ageing fittings, the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The room was large and spacious, with a nice flatscreen television that had CNN, BBC, HBO, Discovery Channel & ESPN (as well as all the Chinese stations). Free Wi-Fi was great, but as usual reception was patchy and download speeds were slow. Food at the hotel appeared to be very expensive, so go across the road and get some delicious noodles for a fraction of the price. There is also a number of convenience stores close by where you can buy water and other food items.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go to the top of the Shanghai World Financial Centre (SWFC) over the river in the Pudong region. Make sure you get the ticket that will take you to the 100th floor - 474m up. It is an amazing view of Shanghai, just go on a low-haze day.
Noel J. Business travelers New Zealand, September 01, 2011
Right in the Heart of town

Great location
7
Good hotel with an excellent location across the road from the Nanjing pedestrian mall. Friendly service, and nice quiet feel inside the hotel. The room was comfortable, however the standard of cleaning was perhaps not all it could be. The carpet in the room looked like it was in need of steamcleaning and a really good vacuum. Good breakfast spread. The staff took some convincing that I was entitled to a refund via Agoda when I shortened my stay from 3 nights to 2 nights. However they made the necessary calls and it was all sorted out in the end.
Travel tip: Do be aware of the very agressive nature of the sellers/peddlers on the street. As a male travelling alone - I was constantly harrassed by men and women pushing "massage" services, cheap watches and more. Thoroughly read reviews and stories of the various scams and rip offs that are perpetrated constantly in Shanghai. Sadly the general rule is - don't trust anyone who approaches you in the street - or even at the airport or train stations!
Suwanto D. Couples Indonesia, August 29, 2011
Very nice hotel, great location

I enjoy it really !! Nice location. Good for shopping near by.Nanjing road
3.7
we loved our room, the location was perfect right off nanjing road, excellent resturant and bar, great pool and spa facility, excellent service.would highly recommend this hotel and we certainly will stay there again.
Shopping Tip: Shopping Tip : location across nanjing pedestrian street. only 10 minutes walking to MRT station and 20minutes to the bund. 15 minutes to yu garden by taxi
Donna B. Couples New Zealand, August 29, 2011
Beautiful Hotel with superb staff

big rooms fab bathrooms great service
9.3
Beautiful room ...efficient staff all very professional and friendly Hotel very grand all gilt and marble ...immaculately clean and everything well presented very generous with the complimentaries ..including water
Shopping Tip: The best shopping is to be done in the wee out of the way places you are taken if you are brave enough to follow...Shopping can be very overwhelming as you are constantly approached...if you bargain offer a quarter of the asking price then pay no more than half..be prepared for the amazing selections of products
Graham B. Couples New Zealand, August 28, 2011
Excellent Hotel

Service, Attention, Helpful Staff, Great Location
9.7
A real 5 star Hotel. The Helpful Staff and Great Service with a great room - Clean & Tidy and all facilities in place (Tea & Coffe etc etc) large shower all combined to make this a most enjoyable stay. No wonder we decided to stay an extra Night! Also they were very Helpful with our luggage storage while we were on Tour around Shanghai. Location was also Excellent - wish we could have stayed longer!! Will be Back!!
Steven R. Couples United Kingdom, August 27, 2011
excellent location with very nice rooms

Location
8
after staying for 12 days in the HJ Plaza Ningbo I was really looking forward to this stay, however it is not in the same league from a service point of view. The hotel is fine, location excellent but the staff are miserable on the whole. HJ Plaza Ningbo, they make you feel special, here you are lucky if you are acknowledged. Prices are double Ningbo. I would recommend that you go for Business Deluxe as a minimum, even this did not include breakfast. Next time I will book one of the classic 30's hotels after viewing them inside.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The 15 minute walk down to the Bund is a must. Probably one of the most spectaular waterfronts in the world, very much on par with Hong Kong. Beware of friendly people wanting a photograph, it could lead to a £270 cup of tea!
Leslie G. Solo travelers Canada, August 12, 2011
Great location and service

excellent location, beautiful room, great view, wonderful pool, fine service
9.7
The location of the hotel is excellent. Everyone was very friendly. The room was big and comfortable. I had an excellent view of East Nanjing Road from my hotel. I really enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna. I can definitely recommend this hotel for travellers staying in Shanghai.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you want to go to the Oriental Pearl Tower, get there early because the lines can get very long, especially during the summer.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Business SuiteHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C03