or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
1001 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1001)
Sort by:
Steven R. Couples United Kingdom, August 27, 2011
excellent location with very nice rooms

Location
8
after staying for 12 days in the HJ Plaza Ningbo I was really looking forward to this stay, however it is not in the same league from a service point of view. The hotel is fine, location excellent but the staff are miserable on the whole. HJ Plaza Ningbo, they make you feel special, here you are lucky if you are acknowledged. Prices are double Ningbo. I would recommend that you go for Business Deluxe as a minimum, even this did not include breakfast. Next time I will book one of the classic 30's hotels after viewing them inside.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The 15 minute walk down to the Bund is a must. Probably one of the most spectaular waterfronts in the world, very much on par with Hong Kong. Beware of friendly people wanting a photograph, it could lead to a £270 cup of tea!
Leslie G. Solo travelers Canada, August 12, 2011
Great location and service

excellent location, beautiful room, great view, wonderful pool, fine service
9.7
The location of the hotel is excellent. Everyone was very friendly. The room was big and comfortable. I had an excellent view of East Nanjing Road from my hotel. I really enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna. I can definitely recommend this hotel for travellers staying in Shanghai.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you want to go to the Oriental Pearl Tower, get there early because the lines can get very long, especially during the summer.
Liew K. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 8, 2011
Hotel in an excellent location

Clean and nice
10
I like the hotel. I have a very plesant stay. The hotel service is excellent. The dining facility is good. The food provided by the hotel is good. Overall, I will stay in this hotel again.
Hotel Feature Tip: Near to convenient location that can acess to all places in Shanghai. Good food nearby.
Cheng C. Couples Malaysia, August 1, 2011
Lovely hotel at nice location with good facilities

Great location and good facilities
9.7
We stayed four nights at this hotel and we are very satisfied. The location is really great and shopping is just at our doorstep. The Bund and surrounding sights are just walking distance away. The service is commendable. Underground train stations are just minutes away and you can go anywhere from these stations. The hotel gym and swimming pol are great.
Hotel Feature Tip: This hotel is fantastic for all groups of travellers. If your thing is shopping, sight-seeing or just relaxing this is the hotel to stay in. The rate is not too expensive too.
Gurpal B. Business travelers India, July 30, 2011
Great Place at a Great Location

Ambience
2.3
Had a great stay, the rooms were good and all amenities intact. Good reception and good friendly staff.
Hotel Feature Tip: Good Location and good people to be with
Koh C. Business travelers Singapore, July 28, 2011
Great Hotel with excellent location!

Great location
9
The hotel room is comfortable and the location is great. We have easy access to the shopping district in Shanghai.
Pawan B. Families with young children Mauritius, July 21, 2011
One of the best location in shanghai for shopping,

English speaking staff and they are very efficient.
8.3
Advance booking through Agoda is a must as you really get sometimes 50% off.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: spend easily 1 full day and night at nanjing road
Neil G. Business travelers United Kingdom, July 17, 2011
Excellent Hotel

Clean, friendly, comfortable
9
I enjoyed a 3 night stay at the hotel and would definitely stay there again.
Gabriel R. Couples Germany, July 16, 2011
great hotel, very centrally located, luxurious

very centrally located, very luxorious
8.7
Great hotel, great location (right next to the middle of nanjing lu, the main shopping street in shanghai), only 45 min to the airport (with the maglev train), you can easily walk to the bund and there is a station of underground no. 2 nearby. The hotel itself is luxorious and comfortable, but sometinmes the staff is not very attentive or arrogant.
Peter H. Couples Canada, July 15, 2011
Lovely hotel, great facility

Beautiful, excellent service, great location
10
we loved our room, the location was perfect right off nanjing road, excellent resturant and bar, great pool and spa facility, excellent service.would highly recommend this hotel and we certainly wil stay there again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Business SuiteHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C07