Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 1160 reviews

773 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (1160)
Sort by:
Boon C. Couples Malaysia, January 3, 2012
Good hotel with a very convenient location

near bund and subway lines
7
Location of the hotel was very very good as it was just 15 mins walk away from the bund and also 10 mins walk away from the subway lines. Lots of food eateries and shopping centers surrounding the hotel so you basically can get most of your stuff easily. Hotel rooms were abit small for my liking but its all good as the beds were comfortable.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: go the the bund at night and take the ferry. It has an exceptional view
Report this review
Mario N. Business travelers Indonesia, January 1, 2012
would come back here for sure

People are love strolling along the street, where many people love to stroll along the street in the afternoon.
9
rooms are clean, cozy and big with nice environment. convinience shops nearby this area is where all foods and shopping many available. you will love this place. very modern, very clean city and location as always the area is both nice for business and leisure. the place is safe and affordable. the location is suitable for all ages. love this place. i will return for more. there are variety of shops and eateries in this area. great bargain. value for money
Report this review
Mario N. Business travelers Indonesia, January 1, 2012
value for money

very clean city and location as always
9.3
staff is very helpfull, big rooms great location This is my many times visit in this country. And the best hotel I have ever stayed. would come back here for sure. rooms are clean, cozy and big with nice environment. convinience shops nearby this area is where all foods and shopping many available. you will love this place. very modern, very clean city and location as always
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the area is both nice for business and leisure. the place is safe and affordable. The location is suitable for all ages. People are love strolling along the street, where many people love to stroll along the street in the afternoon. love this place. i will return for more. there are variety of shops and eateries in this area. great bargain. value for money
Report this review
Ken M. Couples Japan, January 1, 2012
great location
9.7
well-known hotel around town. great location and convenient to all shopping street of nanjing road. good hotel staffs.
Report this review
Mario N. Families with young children Indonesia, December 31, 2011
would come back here for sure.

rooms are clean, cozy and big with nice environment. convinience shops nearby
9
good hotel good service nice hotel good location helpful staff staff is very helpfull, big rooms great location this is my many times visit in this country. and the best hotel i have ever stayed.
Restaurant Tip: love this place. i will return for more. there are variety of shops and eateries in this area. great bargain. value for money
Report this review
Mario N. Families with young children Indonesia, December 30, 2011
nice hotel good location helpful staff

Good hotel Good service
8
This is my many times visit in this country. And the best hotel I have ever stayed. would come back here for sure. rooms are clean, cozy and big with nice environment. convinience shops nearby
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the area is both nice for business and leisure. the place is safe and affordable. The location is suitable for all ages. People are love strolling along the street, where many people love to stroll along the street in the afternoon.
Report this review
Denise C. Groups Singapore, December 30, 2011
awesome hotel

approachable staffs.
10
friendly staffs, good location, clean rooms. definitely will go back to the hotel.
Report this review
Eng G. Couples Singapore, December 28, 2011
Great hotel with good location

Great Location at Nanjing Pesdestrian walk
8.3
hotel is pretty standard. clean and size quite ok. the only thing is that we have to use the room card to access the lift to the room, which is rather troublesome as sometimes the card doesn't work well. the location is the best, as it is near every famous spots, with the mrt very nearby. i've stayed in many places in shanghai, but i believed if you are looking for good location and conveniences, this is the hotel you must choose.
Report this review
Cindy H. Couples United States of America, December 27, 2011
Great hotel

Great location
10
I like the hotel a lot. Exceeds my expectation. Howard Johnson is located at a great location, so close to Nanjing Road, a must go place when visiting Shanghai. Very convenient, a lot of shops, and also within walking distance to People's Square & the Bund. Hotel is also close to 4 subway lines, which makes it so easy to go to other places. We chose to stay at a suite as Agoda was having a promotion, staying in a suite while paying regular room price. The suite is clean and spacious. We can see Nanjing Road from our room. Staff in the hotel very friendly. The gym is also great! I highly recommend this hotel!
Report this review
Rusman H. Couples Indonesia, December 26, 2011
a very clean hotel with good roomy interior

near to the most crowded attraction place of shanghai,nanjin road
8
easy to find foods and shopping till night. a memorabe old shanghai at sight.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the nearby sightseeing bus station that brings to shanghai attractions site.
Report this review
Previous page 391 - 400 of 773 reviews Next page
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01