or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational Facilities Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
1057 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1057)
Sort by:
Lloyd L. Couples Australia, June 4, 2011
Great location with quality facilities

We loved the location right on the Nanjing pedestrian mall and appreciated the upgrade to a small suite on the 19th floor. The firm bed was not at all uncomfortable - we loved it. Staff were courteous and spoke good English.They seemed to want us to be there.
8.7
we arrived to be told we were upgraded. we had booked well ahead with maximum discount, so were pleasantly surprised. our guide said we had made a good choice - and so it proved to be as we walked easily along nanjing road from the bund and with more time could have made the bund a second home. this hotel proved to be a reassuring choice for two slightly nervous visitors - it helped to create a very positive impresssion of shanghai. we will be back to both the city and this hotel.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try the ride to the foyer of the Hyatt Grand - at about the 56th floor it offers quite adequate views across the city. And do not,under any any circumstances, miss the acrobatic presentation of the team performing at the Ritz Carlton theatre.
Daniel C. Couples Australia, May 26, 2011
really nice hotel in a great location

nice hotel, good size rooms, very good location close to Nanjing Rd
8.3
very enjoyable stay, professional hotel staff, good sized rooms, everything we expected. good location close to Nanjing Rd for shopping :-)
Shopping Tip: go to Nanjing Rd, and just keep walking!!
Phillip M. Business travelers United States of America, May 23, 2011
Best Hotel in Shanghai

Location, Location, Location
10
The location of this hotel is perfect, just steps from Nanjing Road. Starbucks across the street, and many very good restaurants in the area to pick from.
Kwan K. Couples Hong Kong, May 23, 2011
Very conveniiently located, warm reception and cos

location and sense of security, cleaniless of room
8.3
Having booked a superior room from Agoda, I expected only a standard superior room and requested only for non-smoking and at higher floors for better view. I was offered intead an executive suite at high floors for no additional cost which changed my perception about booking through Agoda (my first experience at Agoda) that specially discounted customers might be treated with less benefits. This experience and the accommodating environment which I feel safe, quiet, clean and relaxed. I will stay at the same hotel next trip to Shanghai.The attitude of staff is friendly though some of them not fluent enough with English.
Restaurant Tip: Good and reasonably priced restaurants at walking distance unless looking for brand-named ones, which is still within economical taxi charges. Traffic jam is still a problem as if major cities in China, reserve more time for taking taxi to airport during daytime.
Patrice G. Solo travelers France, May 22, 2011
Nice hotel - great locations

swimming pool
6.3
nice hotel ideally located, room not so large and try to avoid smoking room, service of very good quelity, pleasant restaurant and very efficient room service, salmon and schnitzel are delightfull without speaking about the huge buffet
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: try to get a room in the front side, back view is not so pleasant!
Jada K. Couples Singapore, May 20, 2011
Great location with free wifi in the hotel lobby

good to stay here if you need to be connected to the internet (free wifi), because most hotels charge for internet connection, and it's LAN not wifi.
7
Pleasant stay. buffet dinner's worth giving it a shot if you have no place in mind to go. snow crab/ salmon sashimi part of the buffet spread. Free beer too. All till 10pm.
Philip D. Couples United Kingdom, May 16, 2011
Great Hotel and very well presented. High spec!

Location
9
Just what was needed for a visit to busling Shenhai. Right in the middle of the action. Dissapointed that breakfast wasnt included in the price though. I would certain recommend this hotel to friends and collegues who may visit Shanghai.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Bund walk.
James O. Business travelers Australia, May 15, 2011
Great Hotel in a Great location

Service was great, happy with my room, good view of Nanjing Rd.
8.7
overall i would give the hotel a thumbs up, the hotel is in a great location with a good view of nanjing rd,the service was great the staff seemed friendly when approached and the rooms were clean and comfortable. on my next business trip i will be booking a room there again, being on your own, it is in a great place to stroll down nanjing rd, grab a bite to eat and sit at one of the european type bars and have a beer!!
Tay W. Business travelers Malaysia, May 14, 2011
Great location and nice hotel

Location
8.7
Nice and worth the money with that location which near to MRT
Chee W. Business travelers Singapore, May 13, 2011
Great location but rooms a little dated

great location near Nanjing Road
7.7
great location just next to nanjing road, the shopping street of shanghai. also within walking distance to the bund. many shops and eating places around the hotel, but for good and value for money food, you will have to take a taxi out. front desk staff well trained. some are indonesians and thus can speak english well. the room is a little old in decor, but comfortable. the housekeeping is also prompt.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C03