Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 1170 reviews

783 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (1170)
Sort by:
Bill G. Couples Canada, October 20, 2011
Very well maintained classy hotel

Hotel located 2 blocks to Nanjing Road, accommodating and friendly staff, well appointed rooms, free upgrade
7.3
The only negative thing about this hotel is that they did not pay attention to our special request of due to allergy "no down-filled comforter & pillows". It wasn't until the next morning when we complained that they changed the beddings.
Tak W. Business travelers Hong Kong, October 19, 2011
Great location for shopping

Right in the Centre of Nanjing walking street, walking distance to Whampoa
8.3
I stay in a suite. Good size for both living and bed room. But the cabinet is extremely small.
Guankai N. Business travelers Singapore, October 19, 2011
Clean, Classy lobby and good location

Big classy lobby. Centrally located
8.3
I have been to Shanghai many times. Frankly speaking Howard Johnson provides really good stay for me as a business traveler. Nice rooms, good lobby and centrally located within walking distance to Nanjing shopping district.
Peter F. Business travelers Australia, October 19, 2011
Outstanding Location

Location, helpful staff,
9
The location is just brilliant and it was mostly up to standard. The usual ordinary shower that seems omnipresent in all hotels. The staff all speak English and were really very helpful. Only major downside was the poor signal for wifi. I had to camp by the door if i wanted a signal which made life rather difficult at times.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Learn the phrase "Bu Yao" meaning no i don't want this thing you are hawking me for the 1000th time.
Martin T. Business travelers New Zealand, October 18, 2011
Not your usual Hojo

Location, Cleanliness, Service
7.7
nice place and much more upmarket than the hojo's in the us. the only issue for me was the room service food pricing, starters/soups cost as much as mains which is a bit silly, but plenty of good food at china prices around the hotel.
Nightlife Tip: Caucasian travelers are often targeted and followed around - learning to say 'no' in Chinese is handy to let them think that you're not 'fresh' to China. Phonetically - Boo Ye'Ow - will have them leave you alone.
Evangelina A. Couples Philippines, October 18, 2011
Great Stay! Highly recommended!

The location is best for people who like seeing lots of people all the time. The staff is friendly & accommodating.
10
we were delighted to recieve a "surprise" birthday cake from the management for my husband whose birthday coincided with our stay.
Hotel Feature Tip: If you want to be where the action is in Shanghai and having great accommodations at the same time, Howard Johnson is the place to stay.
Ali S. Business travelers Pakistan, October 17, 2011
Great Hotel, ideal central location.

Centrally located
8.7
overall i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. very central to shopping, dining, metro etc. the hotel staff was courteous and helpful...would definitely stay here again.
Anura S. Business travelers Sri Lanka, October 15, 2011
Great location, nice suites
8.3
near the center of the city. walking distance to the bund.
Patrick L. Business travelers United States of America, October 12, 2011
Very good hotel with good amenities

Good location, clean room, Excellent service
9.7
A really good hotel for the money. good value. It's within walking distance to many places
Phillip M. Business travelers United States of America, October 10, 2011
Best Hotel in Shanghai

Location, Location, Location & Great Service
10
I have stayed at this hotel now on over 15 different occations. The reason I keep returning is in large part do to the excellent staff, and location of the property. The restaurants in the hotel are very good. The quality of the room service menu is also very good. There are many other dining choises within just a few minutes walk.
Previous page 441 - 450 of 783 reviews Next page
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05