Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 1165 reviews

778 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (1165)
Sort by:
Jae Y. Business travelers South Korea, October 16, 2015
Nice location, Spacious & Good

very good location, clean room and facilities
7.3
I stayed at business suite room. Very spacious, nice linen and comfortable bed. But slighltly poor room amenities..maybe local brand.
Report this review
Fangyuan X. Solo travelers Singapore, October 10, 2015
Acceptable

Environment
8
Not a surprise, the hotel is rather old fashioned and the amenities are a little bit squeezed in size
Report this review
Pattira P. Business travelers Thailand, September 29, 2015
Good location and luxury hotel

near to walking street
10
Report this review
Pattira P. Business travelers Thailand, September 29, 2015
Luxury Hotel and nice location

near walking street and not far from airport
10
Report this review
Bill A. Business travelers Australia, September 19, 2015
Try a little harder on service

room was good, location worked well with shopping,
6.7
service all around was lacking for a five star hotel. breakfast menu was also quite average. there was drilling from floor above all day and so difficult to make business phone calls. all hallway carpet on my floor was wet from a cleaning day
Report this review
Kowi J. Business travelers Singapore, September 6, 2015
Howard Johnson Plaza - Shanghai

Location, Big Room & Comfortable Bed
7.7
Have stayed here a couple of times. This hotel is conveniently located near the Nanjing road shopping area and within 5mins walk to the nearest MTR. Room is spacious for 2 and bed is comfortable. Wifi could be unstable sometimes. Lots of food outlets around the hotel.
Report this review
Desmond P. Couples Canada, August 29, 2015
reliably excellent

location, cleanliness, no surprises
9.3
great as usual
Report this review
Joo M. Business travelers Singapore, August 28, 2015
Hotel locartion

location, hotel
6.7
Report this review
Jianhui R. Couples Singapore, August 7, 2015
Nice hotel at the heart of Nanjing xi lu

Cosy room, nice food, clean hotel
8.7
It's only a 1 day stay, but the hotel rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast spread is okie. I will be back again
Report this review
Eugene C. Families with young children Malaysia, July 21, 2015
Great place but staff needs training

Location, setting, room
7.7
My third stay here for leisure. The hotel is great. However this is the first instance which reduces my rating for the staff. I sat at the lobby bar and had a quick beer, after which I requested for the receipt. Having given cash, the black suited waiter didn't give me back my change not receipt. I sat for awhile, and he walked around without giving change nor the receipt. I just took off without saying anything. Dishonesty for a supervisory waiter is the worst.
Report this review
Previous page 41 - 50 of 778 reviews Next page
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03