or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
1019 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1019)
Sort by:
Zhang X. Business travelers Canada, December 12, 2013
town center, good for shopping

good place, easy to check in, clean room
7.3
good for shopping, easy to take public transportation, close to high way, very easy to find many good restaurants, Shanghai style
Joseph B. Business travelers Philippines, December 9, 2013
Convenience to shopping area, restaurant

clean big comfort
6.7
Its good, near to MRT. I will come back again to this hotel. Its value for money in this class
Huey Y. Business travelers Malaysia, December 4, 2013
comfortable, enjoyed the scenery and fun

good location,friendly staff and clean rooms
8
Abhishek K. Business travelers India, December 3, 2013
pleasant stay

night life, market and shopping
9
Stay was ok beside few things like availability of taxis, staff attention etc
Chung M. Couples Hong Kong, December 2, 2013
Good Location

1. Good location, very close to metro station. 2. Reasonable price 3. Clean room
7.7
Natalie L. Solo travelers United States of America, November 26, 2013
Great weekend at HoJo's Shanghai...

Location, English speaking staff, clean hotel
8.3
I was very pleased with everything this hotel had...great location, attentive staff, clean hotel. The one thing that I had an issue with was the central heating in the hotel. It was a bit warm in my room...too warm to sleep comfortably. The thermostat in the room was completely useless and the staff told me to open a window, which I did, but it barely helped. I say dispense with the central heating and let people be in control of their own room temperature, as it's quite different for every individual.
Robert C. Couples United States of America, November 25, 2013
Very good room; excellent location.

Room and hotel quality in general (high-end); location; English-speaking staff
9.3
Great choice; rooms more often available at discount than those at other comparable hotels.
Matthew W. Solo travelers Australia, November 17, 2013
great location

location, room size, comfort
9
This is located in peoples square right next to Nanjing rd, you are only a few meters away from the hustle and bustle of shanghai. The only thing i did not like about the room was that the shower was broken upon arrival, however it was promptly fixed. The room itself was very tidy and comfortable.
Stephen P. Business travelers Australia, October 31, 2013
Centrally located to reach the Bund

Within walking distance of the Bund and my office, they can organise an airport transfer without problem and they have my choice of cereal for breakfast.
8.3
The room was fine on the club floor and it included breakfast in the room rate, so overall it was good value. The Club lounge itself serves food and drink in the evening, which was enough free wine and small nibbles for me. They have one bottle of red and one bottle of white on display with two glasses and probably one bottle of beer on ice. But compare this Club to the Marriott in Singapore which is actually packed and buzzing and has wait staff to come and mix you up a cocktail and you will find that the Howard Johnson Hotel is lucky to attract 4-5 people per night. The hotel has a good view over the People's Square and is a good location and so it has the potential to be much busier than it is. The first night I was there the internet kept disconnecting, my company complained, HJ looked into the speed issue (not that this was the problem and could not find anything) nonetheless the second and third night were fine. Given that the internet can be poor in China anyway I am never sure whether this is something the hotel has control over. I suggest that they send their second top marketing guy over to Singapore to the Marriott to find out how to market a club package and be successful. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and will probably go back as they can organise hotel transfers okay and it is in a good location. Still I don't think they are maximizing the potential of the place.
Chan T. Business travelers Hong Kong, October 30, 2013
good location, comfortable, friendly staffs

friendly staffs, ocmfortable soft bed, free internet
8
I was waiting friends to pick-up, only few seats available and full occupy, if possible more comfortable seats in the lobby are perfect.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel ShanghaiHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Business SuiteHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3A02