Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1195 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Pattira P.
Thailand
October 06, 2015
Luxury Hotel and nice location
near walking street and not far from airport

Pattira P.
Thailand
October 06, 2015
Good location and luxury hotel
near to walking street

Bill A.
Australia
September 20, 2015
Try a little harder on service
room was good, location worked well with shopping,
service all around was lacking for a five star hotel. breakfast menu was also quite average. there was drilling from floor above all day and so difficult to make business phone calls. all hallway carpet on my floor was wet from a cleaning day

kowi E.
Singapore
September 18, 2015
Howard Johnson Plaza - Shanghai
Location, Big Room & Comfortable Bed
Have stayed here a couple of times. This hotel is conveniently located near the Nanjing road shopping area and within 5mins walk to the nearest MTR. Room is spacious for 2 and bed is comfortable. Wifi could be unstable sometimes. Lots of food outlets around the hotel.

Joo Q.
Singapore
September 14, 2015
Hotel locartion
location, hotel

Desmond P.
Canada
September 01, 2015
reliably excellent
location, cleanliness, no surprises
great as usual

Huey F.
Malaysia
August 20, 2015
My Stay
LOCATION, Comfort and easy Access to almost everything

Jianhui B.
Singapore
August 10, 2015
Nice hotel at the heart of Nanjing xi lu
Cosy room, nice food, clean hotel
It's only a 1 day stay, but the hotel rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast spread is okie. I will be back again

Eugene C.
Malaysia
July 22, 2015
Great place but staff needs training
Location, setting, room
My third stay here for leisure. The hotel is great. However this is the first instance which reduces my rating for the staff. I sat at the lobby bar and had a quick beer, after which I requested for the receipt. Having given cash, the black suited waiter didn't give me back my change not receipt. I sat for awhile, and he walked around without giving change nor the receipt. I just took off without saying anything. Dishonesty for a supervisory waiter is the worst.

Dermot M.
Australia
July 20, 2015
Overpriced and lacks character
Location and location and location and that's about it!
This hotel just feels empty, staff are non smiling machines who do what they need and that's it. I had a question for the conceige about the Internet commection and he just kept saying call service line(what's he?) and eventually Jesus laughed at me when I explained my issue. Then eventually he told me what I needed to do , it took about 20 seconds for this easy explanation although took me a very frustrating 7-8 minutes! Rooms are clean although dated and tired. I travel to China for about 10-12 weeks a year, for a hotel at rates itself as 5 star and not to have one movie channel in English is just poor form! Charged me the equivalent of USD 50 for an extra bed for my daughter, and of course nil breakfast for this or any of us included even though and we booked the Suite deal, and a suite !! Well a tiny room when you walk in the door, this is not what I call a suite! I would suggest looking beyond the Howard Johnson if going to Shanghai!