Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

595 Jiu Jiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational Facilities Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Entrance Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Bar Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot Tub Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room
Area: People Square and South Bund Huangpu Number of Rooms: 360
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

from 1089 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1089)
Sort by:
Eugene C. Families with young children Malaysia, July 21, 2015
Great place but staff needs training

Location, setting, room
7.7
My third stay here for leisure. The hotel is great. However this is the first instance which reduces my rating for the staff. I sat at the lobby bar and had a quick beer, after which I requested for the receipt. Having given cash, the black suited waiter didn't give me back my change not receipt. I sat for awhile, and he walked around without giving change nor the receipt. I just took off without saying anything. Dishonesty for a supervisory waiter is the worst.
Report this review
Dermot M. Families with older children Australia, July 19, 2015
Overpriced and lacks character

Location and location and location and that's about it!
5
This hotel just feels empty, staff are non smiling machines who do what they need and that's it. I had a question for the conceige about the Internet commection and he just kept saying call service line(what's he?) and eventually Jesus laughed at me when I explained my issue. Then eventually he told me what I needed to do , it took about 20 seconds for this easy explanation although took me a very frustrating 7-8 minutes! Rooms are clean although dated and tired. I travel to China for about 10-12 weeks a year, for a hotel at rates itself as 5 star and not to have one movie channel in English is just poor form! Charged me the equivalent of USD 50 for an extra bed for my daughter, and of course nil breakfast for this or any of us included even though and we booked the Suite deal, and a suite !! Well a tiny room when you walk in the door, this is not what I call a suite! I would suggest looking beyond the Howard Johnson if going to Shanghai!
Report this review
Tek K. Couples Malaysia, July 13, 2015
Convenient Location

Comfortable room, level 5 swimming pool, helpful concierge and reception
8
Good Wifi, friendly reception and concierge service, room clean. We stayed in room 1901, 1902 and 1607. The cistern in room 1902 need to be repaired as it took several times to flush. The shower head is not working normally in room 1607, I suggest to change the shower head. Overall, the rooms are good, beds are comfortable and rooms are clean, location is convenient to Line 2 and line 10 and near to pedestrian mall. I will come back if happen to be in Shanghai.
Report this review
Reena S. Business travelers Canada, July 8, 2015
Great Hotel!

Location, Cleanliness, Food
9.7
excellent stay. they are certainly a great hotel. to get a 5*rating I think customer service would need to be just a bit better.
Report this review
Rosemarie J. Business travelers Israel, June 28, 2015
assessment

location, flexible check out
8.3
The staff at the Reception Desk are not friendly. They do not look at the guest in the eye and do not smile at all. At the same time they do try and accommodate your requests. I think a smile when dealing with the guest would go a long way instead of the long faces worn by almost all the people at the Reception Desk
Report this review
Daphne Y. Business travelers Singapore, May 18, 2015
other than location, nothing great

the location is good
3.7
The location is decent, walking distance to Pedestrian Walking Street. Service is bad, counter staff doesn't smile and don't even look us in the eye when talking to us. Room is old, the racks in the toilet are rusty.
Report this review
Thomas A. Business travelers Indonesia, May 8, 2015
Good Location for Tourism

Location, near Metro and Mall
9.3
Report this review
Arie L. Business travelers United States of America, May 6, 2015
Grat location, fair price, expected better bath ro

Location, rate, lobby
7.7
It was too short time I use hotel services just for night as I was out during the day I was very disappointed to have just bath tub in the bath room I was expected to have shower in 5 stars hotel
Report this review
Tay C. Business travelers Singapore, May 1, 2015
Official Stay

Location, Location and location
6.3
Pleasant
Report this review
Chao-Wei T. Business travelers Taiwan, May 1, 2015
Nothing worth to mention

No
4
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - EntranceHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BuffetHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BarHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BallroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Hot TubHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - BathroomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - InteriorHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - LobbyHoward Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai - Interior

Customer Reviews - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel, Shanghai

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07