My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse

133-2 Anguk-dong (18-12 Yulgok-ro 5-gil), Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea ‎, Jongro / Insadong, Seoul, South Korea (Show on map)

Book now!

Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul -  Annex Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Room Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior
Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Room Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior
Area: Jongro / Insadong Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
213 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (213)
Sort by:
Hwei F. Groups Singapore, June 20, 2014
It was a good stay. Loved the building.

Location, building, cleanliness.
8.7
What attracted us was the building. It was a traditional hanok. Despite not being used to sleeping on the floor, it was comfortable enough. It is good to stay at least 1 night in such a place for experience. Location was great. Short walking distance to subway, palaces and other attractions.
Yehe L. Groups China, June 16, 2014
a very good stay at Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse

real traditional Hanok ; very polite, attentive and nice owners ; superb location in Seoul
10
We enjoyed our stay very much. Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse is easy to find, easy to reach by subway, and very well located in a very interesting neighbourhood (Bukchon & Insadong). The owner is very friendly & polite, it was an very good experience. We would definitely come again !!! Thanks again for our enjoyable stay at Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse.
Everest G. Groups China, June 16, 2014
Excellent service , relaxing , clean place

Owner ( Mr & Mrs Lee ) provided very good service . It was a clean and quite place , very nice korean traditional house .
10
Owner ( Mr & Mrs Lee ) provided very good service . It was a clean and quite place , very nice korean traditional house . First thing we need to thanks Mr Lee who provided us a very very good service during our stay at Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse. It was a great , relaxing and wonderful place to stay . Very close to tourist attractions , train station ( Anguk ) , korean traditional market , shopping centre. I will choose this place again if I go holiday at seoul next time . You will not regret if you choose this guesthouse.
Nina Y. Groups United States of America, June 12, 2014
The room has an AC but no windows. Bathroom is OK.

This place serves bibimbap in the morning. I wanted to skip but decided try once and it wasn't that bad. On Wednesday , they had toasts for brekafast.
6
I love oriental interiors and decided to try one for my trip in Seoul. The owner of this place is kind and speaks broken English. The old lady serves breakfast every morning but speaks only Korean so use alot of gestures to comminicate or learn some Korean. The quality of breakfast is just OK...I can get better bibimbap or toast from elsewhere but if you're feeling lazy why not give a try. You might make friends from other rooms. Since the doors are made of tradional way, you have to secure your room with actual padlock which I found little annoying lol. The bathroom is clean but is very small. Taking a shower is little bit difficult. Also, you have to share the bathroom with other guests. If you don't like sharing wet bathroom slippers bring or get your own pair of fliflops from nearby Daiso.
Alain G. Solo travelers Australia, June 8, 2014
Enjoyable stay in a traditional Korean house

Small block, quiet area, traditional house
8.7
Enjoyable stay, meet other people staying there, the owner was very helpful and attentive and the travelling neighbours' were nice. The room was OK and clean. I asked for a second mattress as only one is not enough. Would not stay for too long there or in the winter but for 2 days experience, it was great.
Ka Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, June 3, 2014
Nice Traditional Korean Experience

Can experience Korean traditional life style in this guesthouse. Nice breakfast, home made 비빔밥. Can enjoy breakfast in the garden with chicks or in your own room. Owner can speak English.
8.3
Can experience Korean traditional life style in this guesthouse. Nice breakfast, home made 비빔밥. Can enjoy breakfast in the garden with chicks or in your own room. Depends on the weather. Owner can speak English, easy to communicate. Location quite difficult to find, need to ask local people for direction. However, once you find the actual place, it is a good location which near the metro station. Need to share bathroom, but overall hygiene is acceptable. It is Seoul city's official certify guesthouse.
Mei Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 25, 2014
GREAT experience!!!

good service, clean bathroom and bedroom, good breakfast.
10
very gooood!!! the owner is very nice and kind!!!:) the room is pretty and cozy!! everything is great!
Lo S. Solo travelers Canada, May 18, 2014
Guesthouse close to subway station

This guesthouse is very close to subway station and easy to access from airport. Also the Korean style breakfast is very yummy
9.7
Except for need to share bathroom (which is expected), it is a very nice guesthouse. I feel that I picked a good guesthouse every night when I go back after 5 bags of shopping on hand. Also, the Korean style breakfast is very nice (sometimes its toast as breakfast).
Ming H. Groups Malaysia, May 15, 2014
Traditional hanok stay

Clean, close to subway station, close to tourist spots
6.7
Staff is helpful in providing information. Close to subway station. Near to shopping area. Have to share 2 bathrooms and toilets within 4 different rooms in a house.
Wu Z. Groups Malaysia, May 14, 2014
Home away from home

Friendly owner Center located Nice breakfast
10
Hyosundang had been a home away from home for us & Mr. Lee, the owner of the very homey hanok, was like a father to us! As we were a large group of 7, Mr. Lee kindly accommodate us at Hyosundang II, which is one if the biggest hanoks amongst his three! Hyosundang II is located VERY near to Anguk Station (walking distance of less than 2 mins!) & very close to a few 7/11s as well! From here, Insadong (artistic streets & Ssamziegil) & Buckhon Hanok Village are just within walking distance! There's a lot of very artsy & nice cafes here, you can do a lil' bit of cafe hopping within this area. It's one of our favourite area in Seoul as it's less crowded & a stroll along the streets of Buckhon always gives us good surprise (eg. rooftop cafés, ramyeon in a hanok restaurant, street singer, small boutiques & many more)! The hospitality of Mr. Lee, his wife & the lovely ahjummani who prepared our home cooked breakfast deserved a mention! We had bibimbap/ American toast on alternate morning as breakfast & Mr. Lee made us Kimchi tofu for a few nights & had drinks with us in the hanok though we went back late! Our stay with Hyosundang made us good memories in Seoul & that of course was due to our very kind,hearted host! P/s: Don't bother filling ur bags with the maps/ brochures at the airport cause Mr. Lee has lots of those at his Hanok & he gave good recommendation of the places to visit. He was even kind enough & print us a map with little written notes on how to get to a BBQ restaurant!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul -  AnnexHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - RoomHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - RoomHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House ExteriorHyosundang Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Main House Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B08