Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 755 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 5.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.4
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 6.4
  • Food/Dining 5.3

Tiffany B. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Fantastic Location!!
Location, location, location
It was a comfortable stay. Newly renovated. Bathrooms are still dated though and old. Bed was ok. Hotel was clean. And wifi worked off and on. But when it was working fine the signal was strong. The staff were all friendly. The best part of this hotel was the location. It was close to many great restaurants, cafes, riverside, and it was so easy to get around to all the sights in the city walking or by bike.
Reviewed October 20, 2014

MUHAIMIN A. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
small room ,can get big room at other hotel
location,clean
room are very small.price book from agoda is not cheap.you can get cheap and big room just beside this hotel.the staff also not friendly.becareful of your transport booking .they promise you vip bus but they give you a small mini bus with 30people in it.they dont care your comfort.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Jade P. from Netherlands
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Somebody entered my room and touched me
I had a terrible wake up at my last morning in Laos. A staff member entered my room and touched me under the sleeve near my hips, around 6AM. I was in shock and screemed very loud and the whole hotel was awake. I run after him for a while. Guests from the hotel took care of me. Then I got in conflict with the hotel. They complained it was all my fault because I didn’t lock the room. They keep saying that the staff person had to check a room instead of mine so it was a mistake. That room left around 5 AM and the staff member had to check if he didn’t forget something. Ofcourse I do understand that persons can make mistakes, but I in my feeling and opinion this was not a mistake but a conscious action. I tried to explain the boss and the manager why it was a conscious action: - All the lights were on in the corridor, if you open my room you can see my luggage and shoes, an appearances that that there is really somebody in the room, you can even see and hear that there is a person sleeping - My phone was flashing because I had messages from my friends and fam of the Netherlands. - My key was in the electricity port - If your staff member really had to check if there was somebody in the room, you will never touch under the sleeve - The guest in that room already checked out at 5am and he had to hand in the key before he can leave To all what I said I got a hopeless reaction, terrifying and it made me very angry. I also wanted to know how they would react on what they can do for me. Or what I can do for them. Police? Bad review? Refund? No way, I was absolutely rude, impolite, and all they could say: Madam, if you locked your room nothing happened. I felt very unfair treated and powerless. All what I asked was a really sorry from the hotel but they showed any sympathy. Of course it was stupid from me that I didn’t lock the door but still nobody should enter your room.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Nina E. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Good
Cheap, location and air con
Reviewed October 09, 2014

Nina E. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Average
The location good, air con, ok to stay for 1 or 2 nights.
I stayed for 2 nights. Close to the river and restaurants. Only thing is the room had no window so if you get a bit claustrophobic its probably not the best.
Reviewed October 09, 2014

rob J. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Comfy bed, excellent central location but....
Be comfort, quietness, location
Friendly staff, clean hotel and excellent central location were the positives. Negatives? No WIFI for 2 day duration of stay if in room regardless of routers on every floor it just said 'limited availability' so had to use lobby which isn't ideal from being on the 4th tall floor and no lift. Bathroom was ridiculously tiny, water from shower went outside into bedroom floor each time regardless of nozzle position, however I will say shower was very powerful at least! The bedroom area is a good size, the balcony rooms much better with outside area to view and smoke if required. The rooms lack amenities such as a kettle, glasses and perhaps the maids should remember to clean the room and replace complimentary water as they did not for the duration of stay. Breakfast was basic but nice, however charging for a coffee with your breakfast and for juice is a bit stretching and wrong when breakfast included in stay! TV signal quality wasn't so good on too many channels however the channel choice (truevisions and a little CTH)allowed for English movies, news and sports choice which was good. The distance from the hotel to the Thai embassy took around 8 minutes by tuk tuk, not so far and don't fall for the 200bt each person fare they try with you, 200bt total will do thanks, can't blame them for trying, just not the right person to think they can get away with it :-)
Reviewed October 08, 2014

jun I. from Japan
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
ihouse
small, quite, cheap
Reviewed October 02, 2014

Anton U. from Ukraine
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
Don't take a room without window
Location
New TV and fresh paint on the walls, but everything else is quite old: bathroom, bed, mattress, even towels. They have a policy against smoking in the room, but I've heard strong cigarette smell a few times per day, when using the exhaust fan. You'll have to use the fan because of a musty odor in the room. The location is really nice: quite street, not far away from the park, have a few good and cheap restaurants just nearby.
Reviewed September 26, 2014

Maxime H. from France
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
Very good price-quality ratio
Room, price, location
Good, well located and good price with Agoda for room large and clean
Reviewed September 16, 2014

David C. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
most staff members were unfriendly and unhelpful
centrally located but average standard and appeal
There was one friendly (night shift) staff member. The rest just ignored me even when I wished them good morning etc. I noticed they were the same with all the other guests staying there too. No one helped me carry my 2 bags totalling 30kg up the 4 flights of stairs - there was no lift - beware! I stayed 3 nights and the room was never once serviced/ cleaned and water never replenished. Once, when I came down for breakfast, 3 staff were chatting away and ignored me. When I asked for breakfast, they glared at me grumpily. I was served reluctantly.
Reviewed September 12, 2014