or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Inter City Boutique Hotel

24-25 Fa ngum Rd,Ban Watchan., Near Riverfront, Vientiane, Laos (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Inter City Hotel
Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest Room Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Interior Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Interior Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Interior Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Interior Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Interior Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Reception Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Restaurant Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Restaurant Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Restaurant
Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Restaurant Inter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Entrance
Area: Near Riverfront Number of Rooms: 47
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
2573 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (2573)
Sort by:
Matthew T. Families with young children United States of America, December 15, 2011
Most likely to disapoint you!

Cloase to the main areas of interest (few) and a convenient spot next to the night market!
5
We loved that place and that city! This place in Vientiane had no hot water in the shower and every time I asked to have it fixed they told me they would have a man check it out. That never happened! If it did, a: They never actually fixed it or b: They never told me it was checked and that the problem was resolved. There is cool art for sale in the lobby however. I was on a one week trip through Laos with my young son and it was really a pisser not having a television for him to watch some cartoons during our down time. Do not believe the pictures provided by them either. They must have been a holdover from an era pasted. In the 70’s this place would have been sweet!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: All and all if the problems that I have just mentioned did not exist I would have rated this place charming and worth the money. Seeing as these problems did exist, I am forced to admit that I was extremely disappointed and frustrated at many points. Have you ever tried giving a small child a cold shower? I would not suggest this to anyone other than backpackers looking to live above the standards of dorm room hostels. Then again they may not like it either due to that fact that the internet Wifi is lacking and that they only have one public (1990's) computer terminal available; and that isn't even good enough to depend on. I was never even able to log onto Facebook the whole time I was there. Breakfast was free, however the little money it would cost you to head out into the early morning markets (anytime really) to get a baguette filled with yummy stuff makes the cultural experience of street food life much more worth the time and expenditure in my opinion. They advertise that Airport Transfer is one of their features and in turn this is one of the main reasons we were attracted to it. When traveling the world with a three year old, it’s kind of a prerequisite in my eyes. Sadly they told me as I was at the airport dealing with the Taxi racket they have going on in Vientiane (at an over whelming rate), that this was not the case. I talked to them about it when I arrived and was subsequently blown off in a manner that was made out to look like it was all my misunderstanding. That’s South East Asia for you! After dealing with all the other crap I had had enough! The night before we left I had to actually take them to the Agoda website and show them that yes in fact it was advertised as one of their features. Yet again, I’m sure it was just an advertising holdover from an era pasted. Subsequently after I gained a few more gray hairs trying to explain this all to them, they made a few 10 minute phone calls to three other people (all the way up the latte
Nicholas D. Solo travelers United States of America, December 11, 2011
Nice staff but if you want reliable wifi, avoid

Staff and Price
7
i would have enjoyed my stay if it wasn't for the wifi issues i had. the staff couldn't help and it wasn't a city-wide problem as everywhere else i used wifi it was fine. in the hotel though it was unusable. for that i had to check out early. the room was okay though for the price. the free breakfast was pretty low-rent but somewhat edible although the service was far less than alert.
Michael W. Couples United Kingdom, December 11, 2011
Good value for money hotel

We had a large clean room overlooking the river
8
We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is better inside than it looks from the outside. We had a large room which was clean and covered our needs. Staff were efficient and helpful, and for the price we thought it was great value for money.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We enjoyed the Buddha Park about 45 mins out of town in tuktuk
Natthapong C. Families with young children Thailand, December 8, 2011
Great location and good price

Location, food
8.3
Overall, I give 7.5/10 for this hotel. Although the building is quite old, the decoration is quite OK. The location is great. You can access almost all interesting attractions. The hotel restaurant, which is located on the next door, is great too. Only one unpleasant experience was that they were short of water supply on the second morning I stayed there. I had to contacted the front desk twice but it took ages for mechanics to resolve the problem. When I checked out, the resolution was not done. However, with its great price, I would recommend this hotel and I'll stay here again for my next visit.
Alex C. Solo travelers Singapore, December 8, 2011
Great Location by the Mekong

Location
8
The best thing about this hotel is the location - just by the riverfront facing the night market. Eateries are all just down the street or short walk to adjacent streets. Decor seems to be Lao-style asian with lots of wood (flooring, beds and all) though it is also a bit old looking. Spacious room with hot water shower/bathtub, wi-fi worked fine. Breakfast is buffet style with ample selection. For the price good value overall.
Timothy W. Groups New Zealand, December 7, 2011
Great riverfront location, traditional feel

nice rooms, great service, good dining room
7
Friendly helpful staff, a quaint original feel, great location opposite the riverfront night market and close to a mix of local and international restaurants and internet cafes (though free wifi is available). The lift was really the only drawback. It said it could take 900kg, but put three people and a couple of bags in it and it refused to move.
Restaurant Tip: We visited the italian retaurant a street up from the wat nearby, great value gormet style food, then awesome bargains in the night market on the riverfront opposite afterwards - but watch out - it closes about 9pm
Timothy W. Groups New Zealand, December 7, 2011
Traditional features with a modern touch

good location, great value for money
7.7
Easy checkin, friendly staff, spacious clean rooms, overall a great place to stay if you are on a budget. Location is fantastic, though Vientiane is small so everything is close - within easy walking distance or just a tuktuk ride away, and you'll find them one just about every corner.
Restaurant Tip: We went to the scandanvian bakery in the square by the fountain - a quaint spot, but with lovely food. Also a great choice of retaurants nearby.
Anja L. Solo travelers Germany, December 4, 2011
All Show and no substance

location
4
I booked a standard room on the grounds that it was on special offer and the location right by the Mekong. Vientiane is small, and this hotel is in a decent location, but then so are many hotels in Vientiane. And the hotel rooms look not like on the photographs at all, you may wish to forget about the "boutique" status this hotel has in its name - they may have liked it to be a boutique hotel by throwing a few funny looking chair into the lobby and putting dusty old stuff into display cases, but in terms of comfort, room design and service, this is a bog-standard budget hotel. The first room I was offered reeked of cigarette smoke. I went straight back to the friendly receptionist and asked for another room, and was given one next to the lift - a little noisy but not troublesome for me. Whatever money they spent on the acceptable if a little off-looking communal areas they must have saved on the rooms. There were wonky walls, plastic ceiling tiles falling off and some build quality one would associate with a bunch of drunken DIYers. The bathroom had some wires hanging out of the showers, there was lime scale everywhere and it could have been cleaner. Bed sheets were clean enough though, and the mattress was so-so. Given that this hotel is quite new, the speed at which things are deteriorating is astounding. The decor leaves a lot to be desired. Some windows were hung with large dusty paper blinds that could not be pulled up. The air-con was very noisy, and worst of all, there was no mosquito netting in the windows. Doors were flimsy double-doors that could have been kicked in easily even when locked, and as a woman travelling alone, I did not feel particularly safe. Breakfast was pretty poor for an official three-star rating - very little choice, stale bread, coffee form an urn that was undrinkable. The only good thing were the eggs and fresh fruit. Food was not replenished. Poor value for money, very impersonal and just a bed for the night.
Restaurant Tip: Loads of restaurnats in the area, all decent. No need to eat in the hotel.
Chamnan K. Solo travelers Thailand, December 4, 2011
Fair reception

Convenient
6
It gives a feeling of relaxation. Friendly, near the river, good weather and conveniently located
Hotel Feature Tip: It gives a feeling of relaxation. Friendly, near the river, good weather and conveniently located
Stephen P. Solo travelers Philippines, December 3, 2011
Good Location, Decent Rooms

Good Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff
7.3
Staff was very friendly and went the extra mile to make my 24-hour pitstop in Vientiane memorable and pleasant. They were very knowledgeable and managed to give good advice to make getting around the city a bit easier. The lobby/rooms were artistic and quirky, and even featured a genuine traditional Lao door. The WiFi was a bit dodgy, and the major con to this hotel are the bathrooms--the plumbing was a total mess, and everytime I used the shower, the pipes would be exploding water and the whole bathroom would be wet. It is a pity, because had the bathrooms been in proper working order, this would have been a near perfect review.
Restaurant Tip: Try out the grilled meat street food. Very cheap, flavourful...

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Inter City Boutique Hotel VientianeInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - ReceptionInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantInter City Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Entrance

Customer Reviews - Inter City Boutique Hotel, Vientiane

AS-AGWEB-3B06