arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 146 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 146 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.2

9 Richard W.
Australia
December 14, 2015
Great time
the rooftop bar ...wow
excellent

6.3 Rebecca L.
Australia
November 20, 2015
There's better 5-stars than this
The Bed, The Location, The Ambience
A romantic weekend away we were more than a little disappointed. Having stayed at other 5-star hotels in the city, this one doesn't live up the the 5th star...more a good 4-star. The location is unbeatable and the rooms are lovely if a little bland. But after that it's disappointing - you're told only upon checking in that for an extra $160 you can access the rooftop. In advertising and booking and even arrival it's insinuated you have access to this - you don't! Then, when you pay the extra $160 you're told that actually the rooftop bar is only open certain days of the week. So in other words we paid an extra $160 just to stand on a roof deck. The Eastern Harbor view room is more than disappointing. Having stayed at the Shangri-la, our expectations were high. We looked over a corner of the Park and buildings - almost no harbor. We thought we'd have a nightcap in the bar - the staff didn't know their spirits bringing my husband a blanco tequila instead of extra anjeo and after waiting 35 minutes for them to return with the correct one we finally gave up. This is a nice hotel but we will never stay here again. The Shangri-la is exceptional, flawless and unbeatable...stay there and save yourself the frustration of a sub-par 5-star experience.

9.3 CHING C.
Hong Kong
August 22, 2015
mr
location location good food
Feel good

10 Mithun S.
India
August 19, 2015
Amazing views , great location
Views from the room, the location and the food
Memorable stay. Room overlooked the botanical gardens.Short walk away from the Opera House and Harbour Bridge

9.3 Jonathan M.
Australia
August 06, 2015
Excellent
Service food and comfort
Immaculate pool with a view. Excellent staff.

10 Catherine M.
Australia
July 28, 2015
location, Style, Service
Location, Staff, Room
Wonderful. The most comfortable bed. Not quite so in love with the pillows but seriously above average. Breakfast was great. Room comfort including electric blind control was great. Power points were adequate. Needed more horizontal spaces for the suitcases. Loved the staff. Loved the staff. Loved the staff and the breakfast and the restaurants. I hope to return. No where else will be good enough.

9.7 Catherine M.
Australia
July 28, 2015
Location, Style, Service
Location, Price, Room size
This was a real gem. The moment I walked in, the staff let me know that I was important and that they wanted my stay in Sydney to be enjoyable. The concierge took the time to quickly show me a map of local interests. Bathroom - clean and spacious, bedroom - clean and spacious, power points - many. It really annoys me when I have to hunt for a power point for the laptop/phone charger/ tablet... Tea/coffee available. Somewhere to put two suitcases. How many times do hotel rooms have a place for one suitcase but two people have two suitcases? I was staying in one of the less expensive rooms but would not know it. I had an American guest with me and she and I had a grand time in this hotel. We dined at the hotel and were very happy. Both of us have travelled extensively in Asia but the Sydney Intercontinental was a match for any of the best hotels in Tokyo, Bangkok or Singapore, etc. Well done management, well done staff. I am looking forward to the next time I stay there.

9.7 Amanda R.
Australia
July 14, 2015
Brilliant
Atmosphere, view, friendliness
Very comfortable

8 Phillip P.
Australia
July 06, 2015
Location
Location Location Location

7 Pong B.
Singapore
June 29, 2015
Our 7 days stay
Location, location, location
The location of hotel is very good as it is near to Sydney harbour and Opera House Our stay at the hotel is good except we have 7 days of the same morning buffet breakfast A bit disappointed considering the hotel is rated five stars. They should have provided a slight different menus may be every two days and the room wifi service wasnt provided free to guests until we requested.