Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 148 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.2

Drew F. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
5 Stars well deserved
staff service, location, food
I expected 5 star service and amenities, and I got it. Except for the high drink prices, there is nothing to criticise. I was made to feel valued and the staff from the front desk to the kitchen were all polite, friendly and accommodating. I look forward to staying there again with a short walk to the rocks and the opera house. Loved it. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

KOKPING K. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Good location
Good location and the staff are very nice
This is my first time to Australia and fell so calm and relaxed . The people are so nice and friendly. I visited there by myself but I am enjoyed it without any problems .
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Richard W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Great time
the rooftop bar ...wow
excellent
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Rebecca L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2015
There's better 5-stars than this
The Bed, The Location, The Ambience
A romantic weekend away we were more than a little disappointed. Having stayed at other 5-star hotels in the city, this one doesn't live up the the 5th star...more a good 4-star. The location is unbeatable and the rooms are lovely if a little bland. But after that it's disappointing - you're told only upon checking in that for an extra $160 you can access the rooftop. In advertising and booking and even arrival it's insinuated you have access to this - you don't! Then, when you pay the extra $160 you're told that actually the rooftop bar is only open certain days of the week. So in other words we paid an extra $160 just to stand on a roof deck. The Eastern Harbor view room is more than disappointing. Having stayed at the Shangri-la, our expectations were high. We looked over a corner of the Park and buildings - almost no harbor. We thought we'd have a nightcap in the bar - the staff didn't know their spirits bringing my husband a blanco tequila instead of extra anjeo and after waiting 35 minutes for them to return with the correct one we finally gave up. This is a nice hotel but we will never stay here again. The Shangri-la is exceptional, flawless and unbeatable...stay there and save yourself the frustration of a sub-par 5-star experience.
Reviewed November 20, 2015

CHING C. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
mr
location location good food
Feel good
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Mithun S. from India
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Amazing views , great location
Views from the room, the location and the food
Memorable stay. Room overlooked the botanical gardens.Short walk away from the Opera House and Harbour Bridge
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Jonathan M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2015
Excellent
Service food and comfort
Immaculate pool with a view. Excellent staff.
Reviewed August 06, 2015

Catherine M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
location, Style, Service
Location, Staff, Room
Wonderful. The most comfortable bed. Not quite so in love with the pillows but seriously above average. Breakfast was great. Room comfort including electric blind control was great. Power points were adequate. Needed more horizontal spaces for the suitcases. Loved the staff. Loved the staff. Loved the staff and the breakfast and the restaurants. I hope to return. No where else will be good enough.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Catherine M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2015
Location, Style, Service
Location, Price, Room size
This was a real gem. The moment I walked in, the staff let me know that I was important and that they wanted my stay in Sydney to be enjoyable. The concierge took the time to quickly show me a map of local interests. Bathroom - clean and spacious, bedroom - clean and spacious, power points - many. It really annoys me when I have to hunt for a power point for the laptop/phone charger/ tablet... Tea/coffee available. Somewhere to put two suitcases. How many times do hotel rooms have a place for one suitcase but two people have two suitcases? I was staying in one of the less expensive rooms but would not know it. I had an American guest with me and she and I had a grand time in this hotel. We dined at the hotel and were very happy. Both of us have travelled extensively in Asia but the Sydney Intercontinental was a match for any of the best hotels in Tokyo, Bangkok or Singapore, etc. Well done management, well done staff. I am looking forward to the next time I stay there.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Amanda R. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in May 2015
Brilliant
Atmosphere, view, friendliness
Very comfortable
Reviewed July 14, 2015