Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ishiba Ryokan

55,Mototera-machi, Hirosaki, Hirosaki, Japan 036-8355 (Show on map)

Book now!

Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Exterior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Shared Bathroom Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Interior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Interior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Interior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Garden Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room
Area: Hirosaki Number of Rooms: 18

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
19 reviews

12 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (19)
Sort by:
Hiu K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, November 5, 2015
Japanese traditional feeling

Traditional building, Convenient to Hirosaki City, Good English speaking hotel master
Comfortable and tidy room, Good view of red leaves in the garden from my room with private bath.
Report this review
Remi P. Couples France, October 2, 2015
Vintage traditional ryokan, next to Hirosaki park

location, ryokan, staff
The manager was wonderful to drive us to a local restaurant run for decades. He also drove us to the train station the following day, advised us on planning our day. The ryokan is old which enhances that vintage feeling, traditional wood everywhere, you can feel you are staying in an historical place. A great experience, recommended.
Report this review
Mak Y. Families with older children Hong Kong, September 27, 2015
Highly recommend!

Historical, clean and comfortable
Highly recommend!It was a highlight of my family trip. The hostel itself is amazing. Full of historical things. You can imagine the old time in Japan. Food were yummy.
Report this review
Wakeling C. Couples Australia, August 25, 2015
Logos of Aomori's Asymmetrical Delights

Ishiba | Singular Decor | Memories
Ishiba Ryokan is precisely the reason why you might stay in accommodation of a kind different to a standard hotel. The accommodation itself is living history of Hirosaki, itself a lively hub of Aomori cultural history. The ryokan is a stroll away from the castle and its gardens, a jaunt away from the city centre, the small bars and lanes. But every ryokan, unlike a hotel, is run by people you will meet face to face, who will accommodate you. This younger generation Ishiba, the present face of the ryokan, offers that rare invitation into a history which as a traveller can only be scratched at otherwise. There are Edo period dolls in the foyer, a part-sculpted, part self-flourishing garden visible from the halls, a authentic tatami rooms. The interior is laid out like a labyrinth. Read the story about the genealogical heritage of the place on the ryokan's website to begin. Visit Aomori if only to visit Ishiba Ryokan. My wife and I will certainly return.
Report this review
Poontharik P. Groups Thailand, July 19, 2015
great place

location, atmosphere, staff
Short stay but very satisfied.
Report this review
Kerry D. Couples Australia, February 9, 2015
Great location, great host and great experience

Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, great host Ishiba made us feel like back home. Fantastic Japanese experience would definitely go back again. It's nice to live in the hostoric hotel.
Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, fantastic for Hirosaki snow festival. (If you have a lot suitcases, contact hotel for pickup or take 100¥ bus) Great host Ishiba and family made us feel like back home. We have fantastic days and fantastic Japanese experience, wish we can stay longer. Would definitely go back again. It's really nice to live in the hotel with all the history come with it. Can't ask for more.
Report this review
Tang C. Couples Hong Kong, October 29, 2014
Nice & Comfort

Clean, comfort and the owner is quite helpful.
Great n the owner is very nice n helpful n his English speaking is very good.
Report this review
Christopher B. Couples New Zealand, October 24, 2014
Wow factor 10

Economic, traditional, conveneient location
Excellent stay in a traditional ryoken, extremely friendly helpful & generous owner and staff, close to Hirosaki castle, great recommendation for local restaurant, quiet & peaceful, resonable price, highly recommend.
Report this review
Koo M. Solo travelers China, February 22, 2013
was one of my great travel experience.

good location, within 5 mins walks you wl see the Hirosaki Castle (弘前城, Hirosaki-jō)
it was a very Japanese style hotel, which exactly like what i expected. I met the boss, he was super nice and helpful. The lady helped me to set up the room, she is so lovely!! I feel very warm to stay there. Definitely would go back to stay when I travel there again.
Report this review
Jidapa M. Couples Thailand, October 16, 2012
not impressive but not bad

traditional japanese style, friendly staff
This hotel was established more than 100 years ago and still keep in traditional japanese sytle. At first time i's in this hotel i felt dark black and old thus i thought it's reqiured renovation but keep in traditional japanese style. At one night i asked for heater, there's no electric heater, just only gas heater with bad smell .... Hower, the owner of this hotel is freindly and good english language skills.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ishiba Ryokan HirosakiIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - ExteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Shared BathroomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - GardenIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.