Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 28 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 9.3
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Kerry P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2015
Great location, great host and great experience
Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, great host Ishiba made us feel like back home. Fantastic Japanese experience would definitely go back again. It's nice to live in the hostoric hotel.
Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, fantastic for Hirosaki snow festival. (If you have a lot suitcases, contact hotel for pickup or take 100¥ bus) Great host Ishiba and family made us feel like back home. We have fantastic days and fantastic Japanese experience, wish we can stay longer. Would definitely go back again. It's really nice to live in the hotel with all the history come with it. Can't ask for more.
Reviewed February 10, 2015

Tang C. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Nice & Comfort
Clean, comfort and the owner is quite helpful.
Great n the owner is very nice n helpful n his English speaking is very good.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Christopher B. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Wow factor 10
Economic, traditional, conveneient location
Excellent stay in a traditional ryoken, extremely friendly helpful & generous owner and staff, close to Hirosaki castle, great recommendation for local restaurant, quiet & peaceful, resonable price, highly recommend.
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Jidapa M. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2012
not impressive but not bad
traditional japanese style, friendly staff
This hotel was established more than 100 years ago and still keep in traditional japanese sytle. At first time i's in this hotel i felt dark black and old thus i thought it's reqiured renovation but keep in traditional japanese style. At one night i asked for heater, there's no electric heater, just only gas heater with bad smell .... Hower, the owner of this hotel is freindly and good english language skills.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

KOO Y. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
was one of my great travel experience.
good location, within 5 mins walks you wl see the Hirosaki Castle (弘前城, Hirosaki-jō)
it was a very Japanese style hotel, which exactly like what i expected. I met the boss, he was super nice and helpful. The lady helped me to set up the room, she is so lovely!! I feel very warm to stay there. Definitely would go back to stay when I travel there again.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Armin S. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2012
"Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Great location
overall, for travelling on a budget (which we are two college students, so definitely on a tight budget) it was a great place to stay, especially if you want the experience of staying at a japanese ryokan (i've looked at the prices for other ryokans which can be hundreds of dollars per night). staying at ishiba ryokan definitely made the trip to hirosaki amazing!
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lewis P. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great Experience!
Very friendly staff and traditional rooms.
This was truly a unique and very enjoyable stay. The staff is very friendly and goes well above and beyond to ensure a memorable visit. Close walking distance to all day and night activities anyone would desire while visiting Hirosaki. Will be staying at this Ryokan next visit for sure!
Reviewed July 26, 2012

MASATOSHI A. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
弘前の桜をさらに思い出深く
弘前の桜と石場旅館さんの組み合わせは最高の思い出。ほかにない雰囲気と必ず、旅館に帰ってきたときに『〇〇はどうでしたか」の質問から始まるコミュニケーション能力には脱帽します。外国語でも必ずお聞きになる姿勢には本当に感心します。応援しています。
Reviewed April 29, 2016

KATSUMI I. from Japan
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
歴史
建物の歴史 立地 風呂
古い旅館がよく管理されていて、応対が親切でした。
Reviewed December 17, 2015

tomohito F. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
石場旅館の評価
接客が丁寧。
Reviewed October 12, 2014