Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ishiba Ryokan

55,Mototera-machi, Mototeramachi, Hirosaki, Japan 036-8355

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.6

based on 24 reviews

15 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.6
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (24)
Sort by:
Karl E. Solo travelers Germany, April 26, 2016
Authentic ryokan experience
6.7
Nice big room, hot bath in the evening and morning, fascinating building. When the lady of the house comes with you to the room and kneels down to prepare a cup of tea you know you arrived at a traditional ryokan. I was quite tired the evening I arrived so I may have missed out on some information and service, I particularly regret that I didn't book breakfast for the morning to make the ryokan experience more rounded, by the time I thought of it, it was too late.
Lindsay B. Groups Philippines, April 21, 2016
The Best Place to Stay in Hirosaki
6.7
We had a wonderful experience in Ishiba Ryokan. The room is very neat and the warm and very attentive nature of our Host made us feel very comfortable. We also loved the welcome drink and the breakfast! Staying in Ishiba Ryokan is one of the best ways to experience a glimpse of Japan's historical and beautiful past while still enjoying the amenities of modern times. I highly recommend this place and we are truly grateful to the host who also generously shared information to make our stay in Hirosaki more enjoyable.
Hoi Y. Couples Hong Kong, January 16, 2016
Very friendly owner

The owner was very friendly and introduce us to places in the city. The whole building is in traditional Japanese style I most enjoyed.
7.3
Hiu K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, November 5, 2015
Japanese traditional feeling

Traditional building, Convenient to Hirosaki City, Good English speaking hotel master
8
Comfortable and tidy room, Good view of red leaves in the garden from my room with private bath.
Remi P. Couples France, October 2, 2015
Vintage traditional ryokan, next to Hirosaki park

location, ryokan, staff
7.7
The manager was wonderful to drive us to a local restaurant run for decades. He also drove us to the train station the following day, advised us on planning our day. The ryokan is old which enhances that vintage feeling, traditional wood everywhere, you can feel you are staying in an historical place. A great experience, recommended.
Mak Y. Families with older children Hong Kong, September 27, 2015
Highly recommend!

Historical, clean and comfortable
10
Highly recommend!It was a highlight of my family trip. The hostel itself is amazing. Full of historical things. You can imagine the old time in Japan. Food were yummy.
Wakeling C. Couples Australia, August 25, 2015
Logos of Aomori's Asymmetrical Delights

Ishiba | Singular Decor | Memories
10
Ishiba Ryokan is precisely the reason why you might stay in accommodation of a kind different to a standard hotel. The accommodation itself is living history of Hirosaki, itself a lively hub of Aomori cultural history. The ryokan is a stroll away from the castle and its gardens, a jaunt away from the city centre, the small bars and lanes. But every ryokan, unlike a hotel, is run by people you will meet face to face, who will accommodate you. This younger generation Ishiba, the present face of the ryokan, offers that rare invitation into a history which as a traveller can only be scratched at otherwise. There are Edo period dolls in the foyer, a part-sculpted, part self-flourishing garden visible from the halls, a authentic tatami rooms. The interior is laid out like a labyrinth. Read the story about the genealogical heritage of the place on the ryokan's website to begin. Visit Aomori if only to visit Ishiba Ryokan. My wife and I will certainly return.
Poontharik P. Groups Thailand, July 19, 2015
great place

location, atmosphere, staff
9
Short stay but very satisfied.
Kerry D. Couples Australia, February 9, 2015
Great location, great host and great experience

Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, great host Ishiba made us feel like back home. Fantastic Japanese experience would definitely go back again. It's nice to live in the hostoric hotel.
10
Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, fantastic for Hirosaki snow festival. (If you have a lot suitcases, contact hotel for pickup or take 100¥ bus) Great host Ishiba and family made us feel like back home. We have fantastic days and fantastic Japanese experience, wish we can stay longer. Would definitely go back again. It's really nice to live in the hotel with all the history come with it. Can't ask for more.
Tang C. Couples Hong Kong, October 29, 2014
Nice & Comfort

Clean, comfort and the owner is quite helpful.
9
Great n the owner is very nice n helpful n his English speaking is very good.
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Ishiba Ryokan HirosakiIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - ExteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Shared BathroomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - GardenIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04