Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ishiba Ryokan

55,Mototera-machi, Hirosaki, Hirosaki, Japan 036-8355 (Show on map)

Book now!

Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Exterior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Shared Bathroom Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Interior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Interior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Interior Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Garden Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room Ishiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room
Area: Hirosaki Number of Rooms: 18

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.6

from 14 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (14)
Sort by:
Wakeling C. Couples Australia, August 25, 2015
Logos of Aomori's Asymmetrical Delights

Ishiba | Singular Decor | Memories
10
Ishiba Ryokan is precisely the reason why you might stay in accommodation of a kind different to a standard hotel. The accommodation itself is living history of Hirosaki, itself a lively hub of Aomori cultural history. The ryokan is a stroll away from the castle and its gardens, a jaunt away from the city centre, the small bars and lanes. But every ryokan, unlike a hotel, is run by people you will meet face to face, who will accommodate you. This younger generation Ishiba, the present face of the ryokan, offers that rare invitation into a history which as a traveller can only be scratched at otherwise. There are Edo period dolls in the foyer, a part-sculpted, part self-flourishing garden visible from the halls, a authentic tatami rooms. The interior is laid out like a labyrinth. Read the story about the genealogical heritage of the place on the ryokan's website to begin. Visit Aomori if only to visit Ishiba Ryokan. My wife and I will certainly return.
Report this review
Poontharik P. Groups Thailand, July 19, 2015
great place

location, atmosphere, staff
9
Short stay but very satisfied.
Report this review
Kerry D. Couples Australia, February 9, 2015
Great location, great host and great experience

Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, great host Ishiba made us feel like back home. Fantastic Japanese experience would definitely go back again. It's nice to live in the hostoric hotel.
10
Great location just next to the Hirosaki park, fantastic for Hirosaki snow festival. (If you have a lot suitcases, contact hotel for pickup or take 100¥ bus) Great host Ishiba and family made us feel like back home. We have fantastic days and fantastic Japanese experience, wish we can stay longer. Would definitely go back again. It's really nice to live in the hotel with all the history come with it. Can't ask for more.
Report this review
Tang C. Couples Hong Kong, October 29, 2014
Nice & Comfort

Clean, comfort and the owner is quite helpful.
9
Great n the owner is very nice n helpful n his English speaking is very good.
Report this review
Christopher B. Couples New Zealand, October 24, 2014
Wow factor 10

Economic, traditional, conveneient location
9.3
Excellent stay in a traditional ryoken, extremely friendly helpful & generous owner and staff, close to Hirosaki castle, great recommendation for local restaurant, quiet & peaceful, resonable price, highly recommend.
Report this review
Koo M. Solo travelers China, February 22, 2013
was one of my great travel experience.

good location, within 5 mins walks you wl see the Hirosaki Castle (弘前城, Hirosaki-jō)
8.3
it was a very Japanese style hotel, which exactly like what i expected. I met the boss, he was super nice and helpful. The lady helped me to set up the room, she is so lovely!! I feel very warm to stay there. Definitely would go back to stay when I travel there again.
Report this review
Jidapa M. Couples Thailand, October 16, 2012
not impressive but not bad

traditional japanese style, friendly staff
6
This hotel was established more than 100 years ago and still keep in traditional japanese sytle. At first time i's in this hotel i felt dark black and old thus i thought it's reqiured renovation but keep in traditional japanese style. At one night i asked for heater, there's no electric heater, just only gas heater with bad smell .... Hower, the owner of this hotel is freindly and good english language skills.
Report this review
Armin J. Groups United Kingdom, August 13, 2012
"Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Great location
10
overall, for travelling on a budget (which we are two college students, so definitely on a tight budget) it was a great place to stay, especially if you want the experience of staying at a japanese ryokan (i've looked at the prices for other ryokans which can be hundreds of dollars per night). staying at ishiba ryokan definitely made the trip to hirosaki amazing!
Report this review
Lewis P. Couples United States of America, July 22, 2012
Great Experience!

Very friendly staff and traditional rooms.
8.7
This was truly a unique and very enjoyable stay. The staff is very friendly and goes well above and beyond to ensure a memorable visit. Close walking distance to all day and night activities anyone would desire while visiting Hirosaki. Will be staying at this Ryokan next visit for sure!
Report this review
Tomohito F. Business travelers Japan, October 5, 2014
石場旅館の評価

接客が丁寧。
7.7
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ishiba Ryokan HirosakiIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - ExteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Shared BathroomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - InteriorIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - GardenIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest RoomIshiba Ryokan Hirosaki - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B02