or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel

147 The Terrace, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand (Show on map)

Book now!

James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Fitness Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Interior James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Sojourn Cafe & Bar James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Meeting Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Food and Beverages James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Bathroom James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Bathroom James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Meeting Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Whitbys Restaurant & Bar James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Restaurant
James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room
Area: Wellington Central Number of Rooms: 268
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
197 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (197)
Sort by:
Kenneth L. Families with young children Australia, December 14, 2014
James cook Dec 14

Location, Standard of service, facilities
8
Short stay, parking is very expensive $27 a night
Kelli M. Couples New Zealand, December 7, 2014
amazing weekend in wellington

club lounge. .great view..fab staff
10
We loved the stay and really could not fault anything! Breakfast buffet best ever!!! Club lounge staff member very good and diligent!!
Ronald K. Couples Australia, November 30, 2014
Good location

Location, price, cleanliness
7
Just a good normal inner city hotel. Cannot be described a "fantastic"
Stefano T. Business travelers Italy, November 26, 2014
Business stay, good location, upgraded to suite

Location, food and value for money
9.3
Roger H. Solo travelers New Zealand, November 22, 2014
Best location in Wellington

Piano in lobby. Nice staff. Location.
9.3
We stayed 2 nights and everything was excellent. Fond the Boulcott St Bistro very near and loved it. For an inner city hotel it was very quiet. Comfy beds and friendly staff.
Michael C. Couples New Zealand, November 22, 2014
visit

locartion, parking, food presention
9.3
very enjoyable
Nicholas R. Families with older children United States of America, November 15, 2014
November 2014

Location, hotel condition, room comfort
7.3
About as I expected - a bit better than average - location is a plus.
Andy C. Couples Singapore, October 26, 2014
Great Location

Location, Cleanliness and Staff
10
Great location and staff
Janet W. Couples United Kingdom, October 1, 2014
James Cook

Location, cleanliness
6.3
OK. Quick check in as staff told us nothing - not even where to go for b'fast, check out time, etc. 2 of us staying but only 1 breakfast included (did I book incorrectly??). Told on 1st morning that b'fast was $25 and there was no continental option, 2nd morning was charged $31 by same person and 3rd morning was told I could have continental for $26 and full was $31 by a different waitress. When checking out I was told I'd been given $1 off one morning to explain the differences. Not great value for money - supermarket fruit juice, poor quality bread for toast, etc. Good view if you get a window seat (although windows are very dirty). Coffee served at tables but otherwise help yourself. Friendly waiter even if he did think the weather was too good to go to Te Papa. Enjoyed sharing his local knowledge with entire dining room. Had a quick lunch - coffee & sandwich at Sojourn - 20 min wait for coffee - pre-packed sandwich - no plate provided. In fairness I was told it would be quicker to go upstairs. So decided not to eat there during our stay - it's in the lobby so not a great location. At almost approx. $680 for 3 nights it was a little pricey for what we got. Had only been here previously for High Tea which was delicious. Not sure I would go back unless my 1st preference was unavailable which is how we ended up here in the first place.
Kenneth L. Families with young children Australia, September 29, 2014
James Cook Sep 14

Room, Restaraunt and Location
8.7
Good family hotel, clean and helpful staff

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel WellingtonJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Fitness RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - InteriorJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Sojourn Cafe & BarJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Meeting RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Food and BeveragesJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - BathroomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - BathroomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Meeting RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Whitbys Restaurant & BarJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - RestaurantJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomJames Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel Wellington - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3A05