Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 684 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.2
Sort by

Scott S. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
Average guesthouse with below average rooms
Staff, staff, staff
The staff at the hotel is overly friendly and are constantly interested in how your trip is going. The location is on the north end of the old city and a little ways away from the tourist parts of Chiang Mai. I recommend renting a bicycle or scooter if staying here. The value for the quality that you get is below average. The bed was not comfortable and the room was very average. I have stayed in over 30 hotels in the Chiang Mai area and I have found a number of better values. That said, the Junior Guesthouse will be a very friendly place to stay and will keep you smiling through the interaction with the staff.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Kathy N. from Vietnam
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
the receptionist is good friend
nice people, honest, friendly
Reviewed December 16, 2013

stephen M. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013
Friendly and relaxed.
Easy-going staff, good location, clean rooms.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

margaret M. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Basic accomodation great price and brilliant staff
Staff tar tar , position
Reviewed December 07, 2013

Kirsty W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2013
The friendliest staff I've ever met in Thailand
friendly staff, comfortable bed, quiet
I had the taxi door opened for me by the staff which I was not expecting. They gave me such a warm and friendly welcome, speaking excellent English. The 2 men were helpful and chatty. They remembered and used my name when I came and went from the room. It would be a little difficult to find for someone not familiar with Chiang Mai. I have stayed in many guest houses and this would be one of the best - not the prettiest, as the room is standard basic amenities, however the bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in in Thailand. I stayed in a room near the check in counter and found it very quiet and the room was dark, so I wasn't woken early by outside noise or light. Good for solo travellers or couples on a budget. Highly recommend.
Reviewed December 06, 2013

Tara F. from Uzbekistan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
More than a Guesthouse, a home away from home!
Staff friendliness and helpfulness, value, and location
Junior's Guesthouse it truly your new home away from home due to the lovely staff there. They say "Welcome home" when they walk in the door, and they mean it. They will do anything possible to make your stay more pleasurable. Tata, Jeff, and Fine are amazing hosts and go above and beyond in every way to make your trip to Chiang Mai a memorable one. I recommend booking all your tours through them due to their inside knowledge and huge discounts. The rooms are simple, clean, and large. I would recommend the AC due to the heat in Chiang Mai. Thanks for a wonderful time Junior's! We have fine memories of our new friends across the world!
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Paul M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
fantastic staff.
value staff brakfast
budget hotel that is family owned. so friendly. Just a lovely feel to this place. found location did notsuit us much. but such good value.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

bai Z. from China
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
pleasant stay
the room was clean and comfortable , the staffs were friendly, the location was great.it just took 5 mins to Sunday market.
the room was clean and comfortable , the staffs were friendly, the location was great.it just took 5 mins to Sunday market. they arranged free airport pick-up and the staffs just made us feel at home once upon our arrival.they were always smile and ready to give us tips about activities and transport etc.... our room was on the floor ground next to the canteen/living room so the sound can be heard clearly in the morning when staffs tiding it up or another guests having breakfast. but it didn't annoy us too much. I will definitely stay here if I go to chiang mai again.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Dan W. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013
attentive family run hotel, excellent service
excellent service, ideal location, WiFi
This was our first time in Thailand and the staff (family) assisted us with all aspects of our stay. The were always ready and willing to help or explain things.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Tara F. from Uzbekistan
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2013
Friendly and helpful staff, great value
Value, helpfulness of staff, good location
Don't go anywhere else. If you are looking for a downhome and personal experience with Thai friends then this is your place! Clean, comfortable, inexpensive, and quiet. Fine, Jeffery, and TaTa were lovely, friendly, and very helpful. They all run this small place together like a family. If you are looking for more of an experience than just lodging, show up here. TaTa spent a lot of time showing us things to do and recommended the best tours where we had the time of our lives. There was no pressure and I would recommend booking any tour through them because they will tell you what is good and what is bad and also most of the tours they discount more than other places. They steered us right on every occasion. Surprisingly, on my husband's birthday, we came back to our room that night and there was a pretty little cake there for him compliments of the staff! That was over the top and so very kind. If you are looking for something fancy, then this isn't it; but who wants fancy when you can have clean and AUTHENTIC! Leaving these new friends was the hardest part about leaving Chiang Mai! I would recommend this guesthouse to couples, singles, backpackers, and anyone who wants a good night's sleep. Great iced coffee there too! I would recommend the AC!
Reviewed November 15, 2013