Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 75 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 4.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.5
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for money 6.6
  • Food/Dining 4.8
Sort by

Natthaporn P.
Thailand
January 08, 2016
i will not return!
this place gave me a bad experience in honk kong. according to my hotel voucher, it is 2-bed mixed dormitory with shared bathroom, and i booked and paid on october 11, 2015 before i reached the hotel for 3 months. in fact they gave me a 4-bed mixed dormitory. i am a woman and they want me to share the room with other 3 guys. the place is very dirty and smelly. lucky me! finally, i could find another place to stay during my new year trip even though i need to pay more. can you guess how much i paid during such a busy time in hong kong?

Kim K.
South Korea
December 20, 2015
cold room
location
cold and scare

Melon C.
Philippines
November 22, 2015
Good to stay for solo travelers
good accommodation and staff are accommodating
My stay is good and safe.

Jose J.
Philippines
November 12, 2015
Value for money!
First, the hotel was clean (room and comfort room)! . Location excellent! Staff very helpful and courteous.
My only complaint about this hostel is that they have no lockers where you can put your things. There are four beds in the room where I stayed so you can never tell.Luckily, I did not lose anything. The worst part of it all is the presence of so many Indian nationals at the lobby of Chungking Mansion soliciting and offering rooms and other amenities to tourists. This, of course, is not Kamal Inns' responsibility. Generally speaking, I got my money's worth.

Yuko H.
Japan
September 30, 2015
good location and facilities
location, equipments and free water

Guia A.
Philippines
August 10, 2015
Kamal inn was not what we saw on the posted photo
Nice staff and accessibility to mtr and bus
They knew we were ladies but agreed to book us with guys on the room. Kamal "inn" has a 2 double deck bed and not a 2 single bed room. Also they do not easily answer phone inquiries and inform us rrgarding our request before our said date of arrival. It was a bit traumatizing and waste of time to rearrange a new room at the day of your vacation. It took 2hours of our precious time where we should have been to somewhere else.

Ohigashi H.
Japan
July 21, 2015
Too Bad but interesting
nothing,anything nothing

Ernani R.
Philippines
March 02, 2015
Uncomfortable
Location
Not so good since the t&b is too small that you cannot seat on the toilet.

Nuchwaree B.
Thailand
February 24, 2015
Kamal Inn - Toronto Motel Group
Good location. Worth the money paid. Clean.

Warren B.
South Africa
February 24, 2015
Fixer-upper
Location is extremely close to MTR. Manager was pleasant and as helpful as he could be. Bedding was washed after 3 days.
I didn't know what to expect coming to Hong Kong, but I was taken aback by the state of the hostel, considering I've stayed in a few. You could do worse, but you can definitely do better on Hong Kong Island. Staff were friendly though, and Chungking Mansion is definitely a 'to do' on the HK itinerary, but I feel I could've found a better deal elsewhere. The room was in no way like the picture I saw. More prison-like interior with all sorts of hardware cluttering up the passages. But the hostel is in the quieter block of the mansion and that's a winner already, considering the queues to the other elevators. All in all the experience was alright, but I'm definitely looking elsewhere in future trips.


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: