Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 1314 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1314 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.6

kasra P.
January 06, 2011
Nice Hotel
Good location
Cleanliness
we arrived to the hotel with wellcome. found the hotel very charming and friendly. specialy the balcony in the room was nice. beautiful swimming pools and pool bar. the breakfast was standard and the resteurant was relaxing. the location of the hotel was fantastic with lots of shops and resteurants in close distance. the beach was in awalking distance.

Andrew S.
United States
January 04, 2011
Good hotel, good location
5 minute walk from the beach, Breakfast included, Great pool
Decor and bathroom needs updating
we had a good stay at the hotel. it is mostly clean and service was good. the rooms are older, the bathrooms could use a little updating. a few things to beware of - if you stay during christmas or new year's eve, you will be forced to pay an exorbitant amount for their galas, which are definitely not worth it. i paid pax for the christmas eve gala. there was lots of food, but none of it good. it did not even include the drinks! not to mention the entertainment was cheesy and sub-par. other than that, it is a decent hotel with a good location. only 5 minute walk to kata beach. nearby many restaurants and shopping.

Martin D.
United Kingdom
December 17, 2010
Lovely Hotel & Great Service
Exceptionally Warm & Welcoming Service . Lovely room & Pools
None
We had a lovely stay at the Kata Palm. Our 2 year old loved the childrens pools and play area and was totally spoilt by the staff who remembered her name and played with her daily. Our room was spacious and clean. Well located for restaurants bars & beach etc. Although a short walk to the beach a mini bus is provided to the beach where you can reserve chairs - towels also provided daily to use at pool & beach. We did spend more time by the pool than the beach as there are strong currents making the sea unsuitable for little ones. Although we loved the hotel and enjoyed our stay we wouldn't stay in Phuket again as we found it way too touristy for us.

Jasdeep S.
Australia
December 14, 2010
Huge , Beautiful and Good Location
location was nice , deluxe pool access = best rooms ! amazing beds , omg , wow .
Breakfast is .. Okay ! Not that good and not that bad !
it was a really beautiful hotel and massive too ! upon entrance , somehow i felt like i was in a really cultural part of thaialnd ! the design and features were amazing . as we got to our deluxe pool access room , my heart melted . it was so beautiful , peaceful and relaxing ! good location and beach was really close . the bathroom was amazing !!!!!! & the rooms were set out perfectly ! great place too stay :)

SIN K.
Singapore
December 09, 2010
My kids love the swimming pool!!!
Swimming pool, huge rooms, nice medium range hotel for family
Its not easy to access to the beach, but it was compensated by free shuttle service to kata beach. The breakfast is average.
Its a nice medium range hotel with great design of the swimming pool. My kids loved it!! Didn't stay at the pool access rooms but from the looks it's wonderful!! Staff are generally friendly and nice. Wonderful environment if you prefer quiet surrondings as compared to those in Patong. Free shuttle service made the access to beach easier but the bus could have been a bigger one to accomodate more people. Food was average but if you don't mind, should be alright since there are not much variety. Overall a great stay for my family.

David K.
Singapore
December 06, 2010
Lovely hotel!
decor; good service; hotel responses to email queries; costs and prices of accommodation were transparent
staff did not speak adequate English; fruits at breakfast buffet line left uncovered and obviously flies were joining guests for breakfast; mosquitoes at breakfast table; spa is very expensive
We booked the hotel over Agoda and this was the first time we did this. It worked and I am grateful. What we like chiefly about the hotel is the decor of the rooms. We chose deluxe pool view but there was not much of a pool view and maybe our room should not have been listed as a premium room - pool view rooms are more expensive. The food at breakfast is not that great but the choices are international and thus we understand our preferences for local food had to be balanced with the presence of guests from many other countries. Flies on the fruits. I told the staff member and at first he did not seem to understand and then he asked me for my room number (?!). I told him it did not matter what my room number was and he should cover up the fruits. The next two mornings, the fruits were still not covered. We stayed three nights and had three breakfasts there. The walls between rooms are thin. Our children made too much noise and there was complaint from next door. Rightly so and we apologise, but young children are sometimes just impossible to control all the time. The bath rooms were nice and we would recommend it. Furthermore towels were aplenty and there were also extra (different colour) towels for guests' use at the beach. Oh, the hotel gave complimentary use of sun chairs at the beach so thank you very much! The walk to the beach is not long at all but if the hotel's motorized transport for guests to the beach could be organized more frequently then it would become a better competitor to the Kata Beach Resort just next door. Kata Palm has no beach front; Kata Beach Resort does. The pool was nice and our young children liked it, given its different sections with different water depth.

Marcel S.
Switzerland
December 03, 2010
Rooms on groundfloor with direct access to pool
Nice rooms
not direct at the beach
The rooms are nice. The ones at the groundfloor with direct access to the pool. Breakfast is ok, not more... Beach is about 5mins walking away. Around the hotel are enough restaurants. Kata Beach is quiet calm, not to compare with Patong... There may be many russians in this hotel...

Andrew D.
United States
December 02, 2010
Lovely boutique hotel
Our room had private access to get in and out of
The pool and pool bar could have been open longer
This is our second time at Kata Palm. We went back as a honey couple. Although our request for an upgrade was'nt fulfilled, it worked out better! We got the standard room we had booked, it had a private access to get in the room and with all the walking we did, it was awesome!

Kieran M.
Ireland
November 29, 2010
Lovely hotel in a great location
Very friendly staff. Rooms very clean and well kept. Good location for sightseeing and attractions.
Taxi drivers from hotel quite pushy. Breakfast not good.
Hotel is well situated if you want to go sightseeing and visit various attractions, such as Big Budda and elephant trekking. Staff were helpful for organising day trips, however, if you booked a taxi from the hotel they tended to get a bit pushy and wanted to stop off at different locations on the way to where you wanted to go. Food in general was of a good standard apart from the breakfast, which didnt have a good selection. Good all round hotel though.

Ozan O.
Turkey
November 25, 2010
Hoş bir otel
Dinlenmek için ideal
Deniz görmüyor ve Kahvaltı zayıf
If you would like to close to shopping areas then choose Patong beach. Tuk tuk and Taxi prices are very high in Phuket compared to Bangkok. Kata beach is better than Karon and Patong.