Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 1314 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1314 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Peter B.
Australia
April 16, 2009
Not so Good
Nice private balcony
Room average. Food very average. Gym not usable. Pool average certainly not for swimmers.
I arrived at the resort around 11:00am. Reception was fine and check in was standard procedure and was ushered into my room but the floor was wet so had to vacate until dry. No big Deal. The room was supposed to be mid class but I did not get that impression. 4 flights of stairs to get to it and it was just adequate. The breakfast buffet I thought was of very poor standard for a resort of this so say quality. Nothing major to say other than I had expected more. No big deal but if I return I cannot say that I would revisit this resort. Having said all that I guess my view is that some resorts work for me and some just do not cut it. This one did not work out for me.

Laura M.
Australia
April 14, 2009
no complaints
nice, clean,
kata itself was a bit seedy and didnt really want to closet myself in the resort like i have in other hotels.
no complaints nice if u have a family. if ur young single travellers there werent really any bars u could stumble home from.

HELEN K.
United Kingdom
April 05, 2009
Kata Palm spa and resort.
Great hotel, pool and service. Stay in a room with direct access to the pool.
Breakfast was ok.
Enjoyed couple of nights stay at the Kata Palm. The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel pool is fantastic and the grounds lovely. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel is close to the beach and restaurants.

Josephine C.
Canada
April 01, 2009
Kata Palm Resort
Location, pool area, friendly staff
Some older rooms required updates
Very friendly staff and were very accommodating, giving us a late checkout (at a nominal charge). Lovely pool area, breakfast was 'OK', a good family hotel that I would recommend and would stay there again. Again, great staff! Too many mosquitos in general, too bad because it spoils the potential for poolside in the evening.

sibagh S.
United Kingdom
March 24, 2009
Kata Palm - Phuket
Decor, pool facilities, room size and bathroom.
Could have more selection for breakfast.
Very nice, would stay there again, good location.

Mervyn M.
New Zealand
March 14, 2009
wonderful
clean, tidy, well maintained, excellent pool, excellent staff, excellent stay
nothing to dislike at all about this place
We booked into the Kata Palm on the 2nd of March and there was a total of 14 of us at once.. We wanted to change all the sleeping arrangements and bedding configurations in some of the rooms.. The langague barrier at the start of this seemed to be a problem in the beginning but after half and hour was all sorted and we were well into our rooms.. We had a poolside room which was fantastic (the only thing was the mozzies liked this spot as well so take plenty of spray... The staff were only to helpful for all of us especially when they found that we were all there for a wedding.. The breakfasts were excellent I say eat as much as poss like we did as this got us through the day until dinner time after a few drinks in the pool.. If you picked the Kata Palm resort as your stay you will not regret it one little bit...

Casey I.
Malaysia
March 11, 2009
Nature at your doorstep.
The staff was friendly and helpfull. I requested a big bed and the staff chose for me the best available room and it was very very comfortable. The internet connection was superb. The view from my superior poolside bedroom on the second floor was very nice. The pool and garden was beautiful. The hotel even provided us with air freshener in the bathroom.
The breakfast wasnt so fantastic and doesnt look interesting. The breakfast area needs some improvement in decoration. Taste is so so . No bathrobe in the room.
I have a lovely experience with this hotel. i checked in for one night int heir superior poolside faced bedroom and it was so comfortable. The room had a big balcony and the view to the pool was fantastic and totally very relaxing for me. The internet connection int he first wing, in my room is very good and fast. The staff were friendly and very helpfull. The location of the hotel is good too. Only thing is the hotel could improve on its breakfast area. The food taste is just average and the decoration and the way the food was displayed was not up to my expectation. The poolside however was very very beautiful.I liked how they make it looked like nature out of your window. I would deffinately check in to this hotel again.

Andrew B.
Australia
March 09, 2009
Absolutely gorgeous resort!!!
Pool access rooms, decor and furnishings, fantastic bathroom ammenities (dual shower heads and stunning bath tub),four poster bed, friendly & helpful staff, awesome pools and proper wet bars, waterfall, great lounge chairs (premier suite), lighting (to create different looks), location, free internet access, able to hire scooter from front lobby and security when parking scooter, good buffet selections with live music.
Only con would be that the second toilet in premier suite didn't smell too good (at all times).
Well where do we start with this truly magnificent resort....We were fortunate enough to score a premier suite thanks to the fantastic deals from Agoda.We spent our second week of our Phuket holiday at this resort and didn't want to leave. The resort lived up to all our expectations and more!! Our suite entitled us to two direct pool accesses, one from our lounge room and the other from the bedroom. As for the furnishings in the room, they were exquisite. From the four poster bed, to the lounge chairs, twin bathrooms which were so well designed. We fell in love with the bath tub and twin shower heads in the main bathroom. (It was just the little touches that blew us away!) We could not fault this hotel in any aspect!! The staff were also very helpful and friendly through the duration of our time. They also allowed us to hire a scooter from front reception at a very reasonable price and had security 24/7 at parking bay of resort.The pool was one of which that ran through the whole resort which entitled some rooms to the 'direct pool access'. This is what we think made the resort! Also a proper wet bar, that do amazing shakes!! There was also another standard pool (with another wet bar) and kids pool with water fountain. Our breakfast was included and found the selection was quite good, they also had buffet dinners at the restaurant out the front which had a very good selection also with live music to enjoy. The position of this resort is very good with only a five minute walk to the beach and very central to other restaurants and entertainment. After talking to fellow travellers we believe that Agoda was definitely the right choice for room rates. If you cannot get a premier suite, we advise to go for a deluxe pool access as they also look fantastic. What we saw of the advertising for this resort is exactly what we got and more!!! All in all this was definitely the best way to end our awesome holiday!!! We will most definitely be back and will be going back.

Duncan B.
United Kingdom
February 28, 2009
Kata Palm
Landscaped pool area. Friendly staff. Large bed.
Breakfast not fantastic.
A lovely, realxing place. Sealed off from the busy Kata beach front, this is a great haven for families and couples alike. Really fabulous pool area and nice, reasonably priced food / drinks. We would recommend this place, and stay again if here. The room was well sized and very clean. The staff were friendly and the only slight dissapointment was the breakfast. Very good though in all.

Helen R.
United Kingdom
February 20, 2009
Massive pool
Massive pool, nice staff, free internet, nice & clean and much more!!!
This is a fantastic hotel. It's in a great location and about 3 mins walk to the beach. Although if you're lazy there is a free shuttle bus. You also get free internet. The staff are lovely and friendly. The breakfast is good. The pool is massive and great fun with lot's of little sections to it. The rooms are nice and big. All in all a good hotel.