arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 1303 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1303 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.6

7.3 anthony W.
Singapore
May 23, 2012
good location
good food buffet
Near beach. Walking distance 10 minutes. Eating seafood cheap. Taxi is expensive. Try renting a car. Supermarket nearby. Buffalo steak house is nearby. Banana pancake is excellent.

10 Kriz C.
United States
May 23, 2012
very nice hotel in Kata beach.
Close to the beach and restaurants.
Very nice and helpfull staff. Room is very large. We booked two rooms for this trip and it was worth money. We had fun and comfortable at Kata beach with hotel's beach chairs that were prepared for us (free of charge) including hotel-beach transportation.

8.3 Matus P.
Slovakia
May 15, 2012
Great hotel but a bit far from the beach
big room, nice staff,
hotel is very nice, with nice pool, but a bit far from the beach. (5 min wakling) they upgraded out room for free, because we had to wait for the room during check-in

9.3 Hugo B.
Switzerland
May 13, 2012
great hotel with extraordinary pool
great pool and big rooms
Kata Palm is a great place to stay. Huge Pool, big and very clean rooms as well as friendly staff. Unfortunately, the beach is not that close (10 min. walk) and there are not that many beach-chairs of the hotel. We enjoyed the great breakfast buffet and had a nice and relaying time at Kata Palm!

6.3 maturos P.
Thailand
May 12, 2012
just a "so so " hotel
Good Rooms
Overall, the hotel is not very satisfactory. Breakfast is "so so", hotel is very calculative in terms of service and money. Daily room cleaning is not very good, never change towels and also coffee and teas never refill.

7.7 Le N.
Vietnam
May 09, 2012
Completely satisfied!!
nice room and pool
I stayed at 3 different hotels during my 7 days trip and this one is the most satisfied one. Huge room, nice bath tub, awesome pool and the breakfast was amazing...I ate like double than usual...

3 Julian W.
Australia
May 07, 2012
Overpriced, terrible service, thoroughly worn out.
Location
We paid for a "deluxe pool access" room. This "deluxe" room is actually a damp, smelly concrete bunker with a rock hard bed, very limited natural light and dim, poorly placed lighting with absurdly located on/off switches. Breakfast was beyond atrocious, with a bizarre repeat-loop of oriental string muzak to accompany. Have never seen such a poor breakfast buffet in Asia at any hotel costing more than $25 per night. And then there was the service! For example, I ring up the front desk (the phones, by the way, do not tell you what to dial to reach the front desk). Me: "The WiFi is not working". Them: "Ahhh nooooo, WiFi not working today!" Me: "OK... when might it be fixed?" Them: "Ooooooh, don't know!" Checkout involved me standing at the front desk for 25 minutes whilst they ignored me. My wife waited at the room for 20 minutes for the (only!) porter to come and help with bags. One porter during checkout time at a hotel of this size! Got charged twice for minibar items because the cleaner forgot to replenish them one day. He/she also forgot to supply towels! The hotel is very worn out and tired. It would be acceptable (just) at around half the price. But don't fall for the cheaper rooms, which are even tinier and more bunker like. The final kicker was the taxi mafia who are provided with a sales post inside the lobby, where they can advertise overpriced taxi trips and then extort higher prices by saying you have too much baggage to fit into a normal car - which is clearly bunk given that we took the same luggage in regular taxis in several other cities & countries.

6.7 Andreas S.
Germany
May 04, 2012
Nice hotel with spacious rooms far from the beach
Large rooms, Nice tropical garden setting
The hotel is located some hundred meters from the beach, another large hotel compound is between the hotel and the beach. You can reach to the beach in about 15 minutes by foot. Contratry to other people's reviews, I think that the hotel is not that quiet - all rooms have balconies facing the inner courtyard, but both noisy guests at the hotel and a noisy karaoke bar at the front road were annoying. However, in the rooms the noise level was acceptably low. The hotel offers 30 free seats at the beach every day. Vouchers for these will be handed out every morning at 8.30 AM, so be prepared to queue. The standard rooms are quite large, enough for one or two persons. They are equipped with all amenities you would expect: cable TV, balcony, and a mini bar with surprisingly low prices for a tourist hotel. Breakfast is nice, buffet style and changes slightly every daily. Staff's English level is low, hoever, they have always been polite and friendly and solved most problems immediately. The negative things: The wiFi signal was weak in the room and they limit the connection speed to 256kbps. House keeping was sub-standard, every other day they have "forgotten" to clean some parts of the room or to replace the drinks. Taken all into account I would stay there again, but I admit that for this price, there are better options out there.

10 Emily P.
Australia
April 27, 2012
Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff
Very cheap accommodation for five star treatment
this hotel was absolutely beautiful. the pool area was very tropical and realaxing with four pools to choose from. the rooms were stunning and very peaceful. the buffet breakfast was fantastic and the service was excellent. we highly recommend this resort to everyone staying in kata beach.

7 Zaid A.
South Africa
April 22, 2012
Beautiful hotel with great tropical setting
Swimming pool with nice tropical feel
Our stay for first 2 nights were great until we tried to extend our stay. Hotel management made an excuse that they were fully booked with superior suites. Although we were able to book this on Agoda. This spoilt our stay slightly, as management delayed this until 12:00 the next day. Eventually they apologised and made up for it by upgrading us to the deluxe suites. These rooms are much more comfy with much more space. Overall I loved this hotel and the location to the beach is a 5 minute walk, or u can be dropped off by shuttle every hour until 15:00. I will Definately book here again, managment either at the hotel or the updates on agoda need to be synchronized.