arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 1312 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1312 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Carla W.
New Zealand
May 25, 2011
fabulous resort - will be back
Excellent Pool and Swim up Bars
there was nothing that we could fault about the kata palm resort. location - perfect! breakfast - amazing! staff - incredibly helpful!

RACHEL W.
Australia
May 20, 2011
Great Pools, spend the extra for deluxe room!
Pools, location
great overall. superior room suits the thrifty couple but too small for the plus 1. we upgraded to a deluxe room for extra room the baby. lovely rooms, great pools, great variety of guests.

Robert M.
United Kingdom
May 11, 2011
Saddening.
Central location
The hotel is based on the kata / karon main strip, and could not be faulted for location, however the decor was faded. The pools, one of the main reasons for booking closed at 7PM every evening.... sad as I was looking forward to lounging there in the evenings. Breakfast was rather poor for the money.. or any money for that matter, even the fruits were unripe and generally tasteless. The spa and therapies at this resort were exorbitant, much cheaper were all the surrounding shops, resturants and massage places.

Kuskana K.
Thailand
May 09, 2011
Good hotel, to be recommended
Located in a nice place not far from the beach
Very hospitality to stay here, most of the hotel staffs are very friendly.

Dinesh K.
United Kingdom
May 08, 2011
good location & big rooms
polite service-huge rooms-tinted windows helps your privacy
It is quite Nice and cosy hotel with huge rooms with old fashioned furnitur but still comfortable.There is free shuttle service to beach though beach is only 5 minutes walk.There were lot of restaurants and shops nearbye.there is also free internet in the lobby.We also managed to get taxi to Patong at reasonable rate.

Mingli C.
Singapore
May 08, 2011
Friendly staff but poor crisis management
Friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms, good location near to many amenities
The staff were extremely friendly and spoke relatively good english. I liked the way that they offered you a seat at the lobby while they got the documents ready and they actually bothered to walk over to you with the documents to facilitate your check in. The decorations were more of the traditional style and were quite nice and I was extremely satisfied with the room. The resort is also reasonably located from the beautiful Kata beach, just a short 10 min walk away and had many restaurants near it so finding food was never an issue. What blemished the stay was the blackout that my friends and I encountered during our 2nd night at the hotel. Both our adjoining rooms had no power for the entire night till the next day. After waiting for approximately 2 hours and walking back and forth to the front desk and back to our rooms, we finally got them to open another 2 rooms for us to stay for the night as we had an early morning the next day with our day trip to phi phi islands. I was extremely disappointed with their lack of initiative in handling this as the staff on duty didn't offer us alternative rooms until we requested and that was already 1am in the morning after our long wait. What made the whole experience worse was that they didn't offer any compensation upfront and we had to confront the manager to request and negotiate for some form of compensation for the poor night that we had. Eventually they agreed to give us some minimal discount of our spa package but it was negligible as compared to the poor night's rest that we had. All in all, the stay would have been much more enjoyable if not for the blackout, for indeed the staff are friendly and helpful and spoke relatively good english. The spa was nice too. However, there are quite alot of mosquitos in the compound at night so do stay indoors. I'm divided over whether I would stay there again if I ever visit Phuket again.

Marianela G.
Uruguay
May 08, 2011
Good location, noisy hotel, no cozy.
Good location, near the beach. Clean room. Good breakfast. Nice staff.
My husband and I stayed at Kata Palm Resort for the end of our holidays in Thailand. First we visit Bangkok and Chang Mai and maybe that´s why staying in Kata Palm was disappointing. First of all the hotel is massive, which makes it everything but cozy. Second, is full of families with kids playing around the pool, so when you are paying more money to have a room with a "pool view" you are actually paying more money to have more noise every morning. The decoration is too dark and old fashion, which is a shame as the rooms are quite big and comfortable. On the other hand the breakfast was quite good, the service staff very helpul and the room spacious and very clean. If you like resorts and you are a family, the place is ok. If you are a couple, looking for relax and intimacy this is definitely not the place for you.

Olga F.
Russia
May 04, 2011
unfriendly personnel
location
there were only 2 exceptions of one the taxi stand guy and another one from the pool bar. poor breakfasts with limited options

Thompson J.
Canada
April 25, 2011
Beautiful Thai style rooms
Easy access to pool and central to Kata town, beautiful room
Good destination hotel for Kata Town. Beach access blocked to a large extent by ClubMed so you don't feel like you are at the beach.

Andrew M.
Australia
April 23, 2011
Pool Access Rooms - Excellent
Pool Access Rooms, Nice quiet location
2 Adults and 2 Teenagers had 2 pool access rooms. Rooms came with a huge day bed in addition to the bedding in the room. Balcony with 2 sunbeds, 3 steps into the pool, also had a swim up bar - one in each pool. Service and food were fantastic and prices were very cheap for a hotel. Breakfasts were hot and fresh. Rooms were a very good price and included breakfast. Beds were hard but in any hotel in Asia that is not uncommon.