Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 1314 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1314 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

Cindy L. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2009
Review of Kata Palm Resort, Kata Beach, Phuket
- The rooms are big, clean & comfortable - Breakfast was good - wide variety & nice setting - Waterfall in pool makes overall layout nice - Eateries located outside of hotel, convenient
- Check in counter lady is impatient & loud - pond outside of rooms may be breedig mosquitos - hotel is too far from the beach, 10 mins walk - not convenient for old folks and those who need walking aid as it is quite a slope to the hotel entrance
A relatively decent place for a family stay but downside is that the beach is a good 10mins walk away. Not very much to do at night, especially with for young children. Hotel should perhaps provide free shuttle to Patong or other nearby towns so that guests can have alternative activities. Good for honeymoon as resort is very quiet.
Reviewed June 09, 2009

Apichaya K. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2009
KATA PALM BEACH
1. Very nice pool i love it. 2. They have thai food inside and i get 10 percent discount !! And delicious also 3. The hotel and room and pool everytings so clean 4. Nice reception 5. Free internet cafe 30 minutes at front 6. They have tranfer bus to city or patong beach free 7. I got the 1st floor room i can walk out from our balcony to the pool . And they have pool towel for 2 adult service in the room 8. I love this hotel
Far from the beach
Reviewed June 08, 2009

Sok L. from Brazil
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in June 2009
Kata Palm Resort
The pool is nice and hotel staff are very friendly
Location is a bit far to get out and about. The area is rather quiet. But if you just want a quiet and relaxing place to relax... this is the place for you.
Reviewed June 07, 2009

Deepak B. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2009
Kata Palm Resort - Near to beach...nothing more
Near to Beach....Neat swimming pools...Near to taxi stand.
A little far away from pier and rest of the attractions in phuket...
Kata Palm Resort is good for long stays, and relaxing on the beach. However, if you plan to take the arranged tours & trips around phuket, it is a long way away from the pier...Besides you lose time on travel. The hotel itself is neat. However, the rooms do not have a view of the beach. Food is just manageable, not great. The staff are a little too intrusive & pushy to cross sell their tours.
Reviewed June 06, 2009

Kevin L. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2009
Kata Palm- Thai-feel hotel
Free internet in lobby or room; spacious room with comortable bed; free breakfast; helpful and polite staff
The place is bit old and definitely need some renovation, esp the bathtub;
Kata Palm Resort is a pretty nice place to stay with lots Thai decorations all around the hotel. We stayed there for 3 nites and found it comfortable. There are many restaurants and shops around the hotel so you don't have to worry about what to eat or what to buy. Just a short walk to the beach so you can grab the hotel's beach towel and enjoy the sunshine in the Kata Beach anytime you want. Great value for the money I would say!
Reviewed June 04, 2009

alan G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in May 2009
Nice hotel with free wireless internet in room!
Lovely place for quite holiday not far from the beach, only 5 min walk with sun-beds provided by hotel.
Hotel is nice and clean but next to it shopping places are full of sales people trying too ooo hard to sale their stuff, simple NO is not enough for them.
BOOKING WAS QUICK AND EASY, WE LOVE IT. Hotel is really good for price they ask - rooms are big, sunny, clean, service is friendly and always trying to help. big pool with bar and place to eat, but chef ... is not soo good. we had 3 times meal and it's too dry and not so good as what you can get next door for much less money and it will be very delicious. So see yourself. But have to admit - breakfast is good.
Reviewed June 02, 2009

Veronika K. from Russia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in April 2009
Unexpected disappointment
Kata Palm Resort hotel has a good garden and a large swimming pool. It was clean in the room.
Far from the beach, cheap and uncomfortable furniture, old towels, chlorinated water in the bathroom tap and in the swimming pool, TV did not work.
We have been in the hotel just one night and fortunatelly left it quickly. After check-in I went to the swimming pool, which is qiute interesting and long. Then I got to my room to have a shower after swimming, and, to my surprise, the water was more chlorinated than in the pool, so my skin became stung. Everything there shouted loud that we arrived in the cheap hotel. There were price tags everywhere in the room for lost towels, broken glass and etc. There is a silly rule that you can't leave your towel near the swimming pool for longer than 30 mins (otherwise staff will take it). There are so many things we did not like there, so I would rate Kata Palm Resort as a 3 star hotel. The hotel is located very far from the beach. I would recommend people to find some better place to stay, especially if they travel with kids.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Maureen L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2009
a new experience at Kata Beach and Kata Palms Reso
Huge room, double day bed in room, Thai style decor and furnishings which were interesting, huge swimming pool with cool water due to one side being permanently shaded,great staff, good breakfast
live entertainment in the restaurant too loud, unreliable internet at time
We are frequent travellers to Thailand, but not to Phuket. We choose our accommodation from the net, and we found that the descriptions and photos were very accurate. For the 1st few days, the internet and wireless connections were down which is important to us as we conduct business on the net. When it all came up, we were able to use the wireless system in our room. We are serious swimmers for exercise, and the pool is a horseshoe with each arm a huge 90 metres. Best pool we have ever used! Our room was a deluxe, and the difference to a superior (we were upgraded) is the daybed. We are lazy, and big readers so just love daybeds. The linen was 5* hotel quality, crisp and white as we like it and the pillows were fat and feather. Breakfast was a treat, we do not eat Anglo, and the Asian offerings were well prepared and replenished to the baine marie in small quantities, frequently. For health reasons, this is entirely appropriate. The hotel is well situated to the beach, a mere stroll, they allow you to take the pool towels to the beach. The policies round the pool are fair and equitable re the sun lounges and the gardens and surrounds are well kept and very clean. The food in the restaurant was quite good although we prefer to eat out, and last but not the least, the staff! Every staff person tried their very best to assist us. They were friendly, respectful and went about their work quietly. Our room lady was a gem. They did make the difference in making this hotel a memorable stay, and one to be repeated. It is notable when staff are happy and these seemed to be.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

satit S. from Thailand
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in May 2009
hattrick at kata palm resort
swimming pools is the best service is cool atmosphere around the resort make you feel relaxed
i try to find one and it would be a bit long walk to the sea. thats all
this was the third time (and count on...) for my holiday at this resort. you can be doubted what and why it attracted me so much as that!? my answer is simple because it is worthy every baht (any kind of currench you pay)for the things you can get here. On the day checking out, i ask my gf if she would like to come here again next time (4th) and she said if it is the best for me so why not ?
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Monika M. from Czech Republic
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2009
Oriental Tropical Garden Paradise
Perfect Service, Pool in the grown up tropical Garden,big room, a lot of restaurants and shops near by
little bit further from the beach ( 10 min )
we will come again
Reviewed May 21, 2009